Horror logo

Briefcase

A short horror story

By Jose SanchezPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
5
Briefcase
Photo by SQ He on Unsplash

Ol’ I walk through the same park every day on my way to my favorite coffee shop. But lately something's different. Nothing major, but a man I’ve never seen before in a suit has been sitting at the same park bench for 3 days straight now. It's none of my business but for some reason… I’m drawn to him. One day I even changed my route back home from work and sure enough, 8:30 pm and he was still there. What is it about the unknown that charms us? I had to know why he never left. When did he eat? How did he make money? Eventually I caved. I didn't even know what I was going to say. My body moved before I was capable of comprehending what I was doing. I just sat next to him. It had to have been less than 3 seconds before I spoke.

“… Howdy!”

He stared blankly forward as he said “Hello,’

“So uhh… you new around here? I haven’t seen you here before. And I know everybody. Funkly, born and raised.”

“Me too. I suppose I left for Michigan for business school. But I’ve also lived here all my life as well.” His eyes never shifted. He kept lookin’ straight ahead.

“Really? What’s your name?”

“Oliver Trout”

“Oh! You’re a Trout? How’s ol’ Wyatt?”

“I wouldn’t know. I don’t know Wyatt.”

Something was off. But I didn't feel unsafe. I just felt… uncomfortable.

“So listen… I walk by here every day and I noticed…”

“I know.”

“Umm… you know?”

“Yes. I know you walk by here every day. On your way to Aunt Abigail’s Coffee Shop.”

“Yea…”

“You’ve looked back at me sitting here approximately 4 times in the past 3 days. You even came by unexpectedly after work.”

“Are you stalking me?”

“I could ask you the same question. I sit here and mind my business and it seems as though you’ve taken an interest in why I’m here.”

“Well…”

“You see, everything I’ve ever needed is in this briefcase. It holds all the answers, all the nutrients, even all the love I’ve ever needed.”

“HA. No way. That thing?”

“You can’t believe what you see all the time. If you really don’t believe me, why don’t you sit here and open it?”

“I’m not playing whatever pervy game you’re playin man. I’m done here.”

“Wait. Before you go…”

He opened the briefcase, took out a piece of paper and a pen and wrote something down and offered it to me. It read. 11, 59, 26, 68, 22, and 35.

“Go buy yourself the winning lottery ticket. You deserve happiness. It won't win much, but it’ll be better than nothing. Here’s the money also.”

He reached back into the briefcase and took out $10.

“That should cover the multiplier to win you $100. Go on. Take it”

“Well… I was raised better than to say no to free money. But what happens when your ticket doesn’t win?”

“I don’t even need to respond. It will win. Trust me.”

Reluctantly, I did as he said. “What have I got to lose?” I finally convinced myself.

A few days passed and that man was still just sitting there. We hadn’t spoken. He hadn’t so much as looked in my direction even. Finally game day was here. They announced the winning lotto numbers.

“This week's winners are… 11, 59, 26, 68, 42 and… 37!!!”

“Well I’ll be damned. That’s $100. Just like he said.”

I cashed in the ticket and went to go see him. He was still just sitting at the park bench. This time with a Taco Bell bag next to him and a burrito in his hands. I offered him the winnings.

“Take it. I’ll have no part of your scam. I don’t know how you knew the numbers but I’m out a cheater. You can have your filthy money.”

He just laughed. “Keep it. If I was a ‘cheater,’ I obviously wouldn’t need it. That being said, I told you. What I need I get from the briefcase. I wouldn’t need to cheat because if I wanted money I’d just take it out of the briefcase like you saw when I handed you the $10 for the ticket.”

“Huh. I’ll believe it when I see it.” I offered him the money again.

“I already told you. Keep it. In fact. You’re going to need it. Be at the corner of 10th street and Balsam avenue at 7 tonight. I’ve got a surprise for you there. I think you’ll be happy. Oh and wear something nice”

“Why should I go there? You gonna murder me? You gonna have me jumped?”

“Did I steer you wrong last time? Why would I have you murdered? I just want you to be happy.”

Against my better judgment I went, but not without a gun.

I showed up at 7 and no one was there. A few moments passed by and as I was leaving I bumped into the most beautiful gal I had never seen.

“Oh howdy. I’m so sorry. I didn't mean to get in your way,”

She had a voice like an angel. “Oh darlin, it's no trouble at all. Perhaps you could even help a lady like me find a place to get some dinner? I’m sort of just passin’ through and I’m famished.”

I took Layla down to Pam’s Bar and Grill. She ordered the Philly Cheese Steak and a Voodoo Ranger. I kept it simple. Cheese burger, onion rings, and a Shock Top with an orange slice. We hit it off hard. It was like she had known me my whole life. After dinner I asked where she was staying so I could drop her off. She just said “your house,”

The next morning she had left a sheet of paper saying “Sorry. I had an early mornin’ and I had to take off. Don’t be a stranger xoxoxo (337)698-1020.” I was in shock. I cleaned up and went straight to see Oliver. I arrived just as he was sitting down today.

“How did you do that? How did you make that happen?”

“Well as little as I like repeating myself, it was the briefcase.”

“It can’t be! She was perfect! A southern belle with taste like mine and an earnest heart. There’s no way that came from that briefcase! Who are you?!”

“Listen. I’m running out of ways to prove it to you. What would seal the deal? What do you need that would make you say ‘yes. I believe you Oliver?’”

“Nothing. Nothing on earth. I don’t know who you are or what you’re up to but I’m not falling for this anymore.”

I sped home. I wanted to never think of him again. I wanted to just move on. Figure out a way to get in contact with Layla and move on with my life. Then… It happened. I ran a stop sign because I was in such a rush to get away. I was lucky they were real nice people in a real beat up van but my little Toyota wasn’t gonna run after this. I needed a car. I had to be able to drive to work. In a panic I caved.

“Oliver.”

“How’s it going my friend?”

“Well I don’t know how you did it but you win. I need a car. I need one by the end of the day today. I work tomorrow and there ain’t a way for me to get there without my little shit box.”

“Well. Take a seat.”

Oliver stood up and handed me the briefcase.

“You have to follow my instructions very carefully. If you want it to work from now on, the first time you have to follow the special little trick. Just like I had to and the owner of the briefcase before me.”

“Alright. Let’s hear it.”

“First you must wait until you can’t see me anymore to open the briefcase. If I’m still within your line of sight the briefcase will only respond to me.”

“That’s oddly specific.”

“Next, you must think about wanting the thing more than anything else in the world at that moment in time. In your case it would be a car. Third, be specific. You need to make sure the briefcase doesn’t get you a car that’s going to have outlandish insurance rates you won't be able to sustain. I mean once the briefcase is yours it’ll barely matter but you understand what I mean. As they say, be careful what you wish for.”

“Simple enough.”

“Lastly, once you’re happy. Find yourself a park bench. Sit and wait for someone as I did, and give them the happiness that I have given you.”

I waited for him to be past the horizon. I opened the briefcase. I immediately got what I wanted but…The unspeakable horror I witnessed… I left Funkly. I picked up and drove until I couldn’t recognize my surroundings. I stopped in a rinky dink little town and found a nice little park bench to eat my Taco Bell at. The words that Oliver left me with resonate to this day. “As they say, be careful what you wish for.”

fiction
5

About the Creator

Jose Sanchez

Howdy! I’ve been writing for about 9 years now. Everything from plays to graphic novels to short stories to haiku’s about hating retail. Thanks for the support! Feel free to follow me on social media. Enjoy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lawrence Edward Hinchee2 years ago

    Great piece of writing here. Thanks for sharing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.