Horror logo

Blue Moonlight Part Sixteen: The Final Battle!

Will the future become bright?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 17 min read
1
Blue Moonlight Part Sixteen: The Final Battle!
Photo by amirali mirhashemian on Unsplash

My eyes fluttered open, bright moonlight blinding me. Covering up my eyes, Midnight launched herself on top of me. Her tail flicked with excitement, Jean standing back with Figaro by his side. Neither one looked comfortable with each other yet, her cat eyes glittered with pure joy. Her red robes covered the ground, her ears twitching happily. A rough tongue licked the side of my face, her pet cat making me want to gag. Sitting up, the off feeling began to bubble in my stomach once again Rubbing the back of my neck, I needed a doctor soon. Normally this sensation disappeared, Midnight picking up on my distress. Cocking her head, Jean offered me his hand. Accepting it, Midnight flipped back onto her cat. Placing me on his back, the whole group was ready to trek ahead. A couple of days passed, her castle coming up soon. The air got heavier, her castle waiting in the distance. The rock grew bigger in my stomach, Jean looking back at me with a worried glance. Today was the day we took her down and freed everyone in the land. A cold hand tapped my shoulder, Sir. Deathwish and an army of reapers waiting behind him.

“We are ready to battle, your majesty.” He promised sincerely, my gaze falling back on the rest of my friends. “In fact all of us are. Are you ready?” The sound of her army marching towards us, the urge to toss up any blood in my stomach rising fast. Hopping off of his back, all of them had their weapons drawn. Banshees wailed in the distance, the genies not far behind.

“Your wish is our command.” Indigo mused playfully, Mary nodding in agreement. Her face looked radiant, the haunting look of rotting skin now smooth as porcelain. Taking my hand, pristine lace floated around her. Spinning her around, she bowed in my direction. Scarlet burned my cheeks, her pleasant smile doing nothing to quell my nerves.

“Take your main group of friends to the gate. The reapers, genies and banshees have your back.” She urged sweetly, Jean pulling out his deck of cards. Captain Avery pulled out his gun, Avery turning into a beautiful wolf. Elania held her head up high, her dress beautiful as her. Shadows leaned on her shoulder, the two of them looking amazing next to each other. Everyone hopped on Midnight’s cat, our weapons all sitting in our palms. The guards watched in wonder, her pet leaping over them all.

“Don’t kill them, just knock them out!” I ordered sharply, the banshee’s fog coming in from the east. “Thanks!” All of them groaned to themselves, a look of you just took out all of the fun greeting me. Rolling my eyes, battle cries erupting underneath me. The black stone bridge crumbled the moment we landed in front of the castle. The black iron gate slammed down, a blast of air making all of our hair fly back. My wedding dress still weighed heavily on me, Elania crying out as I ripped the skirt off. Tucking it into the cat’s collar, she breathed a sigh of relief. A tender blush rose to my cheeks, my bloomers showing. Metal clanked, more of her soldiers coming out.

“We have this.” Elania promised us, shoving us and our familiars ahead. Wrapping her whip around her hand, shadows towered over them. Sniffing the air, these were dead soldiers much unlike the ones fighting the banshees. Cupping her shoulder, a sly grin danced across my face. My next words would please her.

“These are already dead, so have fun.” I whispered in her ear, pleasure shivering up her spine. “You can kill.” Evil laughter erupted from her lips, shadows holding them in place. The crack of her whip filled the air, the good captain and his daughter staying behind to help. A quiet eeriness washed over us, the four of us glancing around constantly. Figaro held his blade to his chest, Midnight and him passing sweet smiles. Chuckling to myself, red flames danced on my scythe. His cards spun in his palms, both of us holding each other's hands for just a moment. Rotting corpses rounded the corner, strange gargles tumbling from their lips. Charging up the stairs, the sick noise of my blade cutting into them made me feel worse. Struggling to hold back the blood threatening to fly up my throat, my body began to tremble. Black sludge covered my hands, my free hand holding my stomach. My vision blurred, a purple haze floating over the corpses’ heads. Cards were flying in my direction, our familiars fighting relentlessly. Spinning my scythe above my head, blood dripped from my nose.

“Flames of the fox, allow me to return these poor souls back to rest.” I coughed, blood covering my hand. Slamming the bottom of my scythe on the white marble floor, red flames spread like the sea. Unnatural screeches echoed in the empty halls, blood pouring from my eyes. Red flames devoured their rotten skin, all of them decaying into a flurry of black rose petals. Collapsing to my knees, every time I used my magic it hurt me twice as bad. The fucking bitch had a curse on the castle, my fingers grasping at the smooth floor. Struggling to my feet, a wall of ice separated me from my friends. They banged on the other side of the thick ice, nothing letting them through. A chill shivered up my spine, Lady Iceheart sauntering down the stairs. Her white fur robes dragged behind her, her white hair twisted into a detailed bun. A blue scythe spun in her palm, ice crawling up her arm. The diamonds on her white gloves shimmered under the ice, her dress replaced with silver armor. My eyes twitched, my ears and tail darkening to an inky black without my control. A cry of pain exploded from my lips, inky blackness devouring my eyes. Collapsing to my knees, a flash of black robes knocked me out of the way. Sir. Deathwish lay on the floor, his white bone scythe sliding to my feet. Tears welled up in my eyes, the ice spell killing him slowly. Crawling over to me, he pressed his scythe into my palm. Ice devoured his body, his form fading in and out.

“Don’t go!” I pleaded desperately, trying to smash the ice. “You are one of the coolest dudes ever.” Shooting me a weak smile, he reached for my trembling hands. Shaking his head, his black hair was splayed around his head.

“I have been alive for a long time and I have never had a leader such as you. You united monsters that would never be together in my lifetime. I am Death myself, and I am ready to die.” He wheezed, the ice beginning to freeze his lungs. “Reapers go to a special Heaven after serving this crazy world. I need you to lead my reapers into a prosperous future. Take my scythe and gain the power of death. Please live for the child in your womb. I love y-” A broken wail erupted from my lips, his body disappearing for the last time. Childlike wonder brightened my eyes, the two scythes welding into one scythe. Teardrops crashed to the floor, my finger wrapping around the red bone scythe. The power of death surged through me, screams of pain exploding from my lips. My body was fusing with his, only one of my eyes turning back to red. Red stripes appeared on my black ears, blood pouring from the corner of my now black lips. Struggling to my feet, red and black flames danced up my arms. The reapers called out my name, all of them bowing to me outside. Sobs wracked my body, a snarl curling on my lips.

“How precious!” She mused playfully, gripping her icy blue scythe tighter. “You are with child, and the master of death now. How eventful. It isn’t everyday you see the king of the reapers pass on his scythe.” My lips parted to speak, the ice barrier shattering. The Joker version of Benjamin smashed through, all of our companions watching on the other side. Even the familiars hung back. Something was different about this Joker version of him, he was in total control. His mismatched eyes gazed lovingly over at me, his cards now twice the size of him.

“I can’t have you harming my wife.” He growled through gritted teeth, his eyes falling on my scythe. “Also I would like revenge for my brother’s death.” Flicking his wrist, black energy swirled off of him as a card cut her porcelain cheek. Cocking her head in his direction, my boots pounded towards her body. Swinging her scythe towards me, Jean flicked another card in her direction. Leaping on top of it, I flipped behind her. Slamming my blade into her chest, horror widened my eyes as evil laughter erupted from her lips. Her porcelain skin bubbled, Jean knocking me out of the way. My vision blurred, Jean lying unconscious next to me. Blood poured from the back of his head, a blood icicle dripping with his blood. Struggling to my feet, her bones cracked and morphed into a silver dragon. A roar erupted from her snout, ice covering my friends. Biting into my lips, it was just her and me. They would only unfreeze if I killed her, black gloved hands touching my shoulders. Lady Firestone stood behind me in her scarlet robes, my father standing next to her. His scarlet suit hugged his slender body, his messy black hair made me smile to myself. Wishing I could ask him a million questions, there wasn't any time.

“You are ready for the final stage of your journey. We will give you all of your power, but you have to be the living Lady of the Firestone.” She chirped cheerfully, pressing a red stone in the shape of a fox into my scythe. “Awaken your full potential.” A warmth washed over me, the two of their spirits floating into the stone in my scythe. Spinning it in my palm, my tip smashed into Midnight’s ice block. Figaro busted out of his, Jean struggling to his feet. Standing by our sides, we launched ourselves at the bitch of a woman. Figaro and Midnight led the way blocking her claws for us. Jean launched himself off of her, flicking his cards left and right. Distracting, my scythe spun above my head, the flames gathering into a ball. All of these promotions were starting to get on my fucking nerves, the pressure beginning to get to me.

“Fire from Hell, Flames of the Fox allow me to destroy the queen of ice.” I barked venomously, the tip of my scythe sinking into her back. “Devour all that is evil.” Sliding down her back, ice particles shot into my face. Black blood rained over me, her blue tissue flashing in my vision. Sharp pain shot through my body, her spiked tail smashing into my chest. Shock widened my eyes, Jean losing all control of his powers, his scarlet glove slowly falling off. Iceheart shook her head knowing what was next, Midnight slicing her tail off. Dodging her grab for me, my body slammed into Jean. Shoving me off, he was completely gone. He didn’t know the news yet, a gust of wind swirling from his hand. Blood pooled from my wound, my chest aching dully.

“Tunnel of eternal darkness, devour the evil that stands in front of me, and free us all from her reign.” He chanted confidently, his wind pulling me into the attack’s range. It was too late, the two of us getting sucked into his hand. The darkness bathed my world, Lady Iceheart lay bleeding out a couple of feet from me.

“Take her heart, and you will be free.” My mother’s gentle voice whispered in my ears, Sir. Deathwish’s hand cupping mine. Turning around, his warm embrace melted my heart. Iceheart struggled to her feet, Deathwish gripping his hands around her throat. His coat danced in the breeze, him winking his eyes. Wishing this moment would never end, his sad smile told me that this was how death worked.

“Go on!” He urged warmly, tossing me my scythe. “Chop off her head and it will all be over.” Raising my scythe, blood squirted all over my face as it sliced through her neck. A scene played out in the distance, Deathwish dragging me over to it. My breath hitched, the six year old version of Iceheart was holding the spirit of Iceheart. Tears welled up in my eyes, my heart shattering into a million little pieces. Her blue lace dress fluttered in the breeze, her spirit turning back towards me.

“Thank you.” She thanked me graciously, taking my hand. “You helped me out of my curse.” Gone was the evil in her eyes, a kind gaze meeting mine. Tears flooded from her eyes, my fingers wiping her tears away. A crooked grin danced across her lips, her slender hand pressing a crystal snowflake into my palm.

“What is this?” I queried softly, playing with the crystal. Folding my hands over the crystal, her younger self skipped up to her. Tears streamed down my cheeks, kneeling down to her younger self. Kissing the top of my hand, rose burned my cheeks. Her tiny hands played with striped ears and tails, a light chuckle tumbling from my lips.

“I wasn’t always bad, but bad parents plagued my life. My parents and their parents were always evil.” She explained calmly, wrapping her hands around mine. “I can’t thank you enough for breaking the curse that plagued us for centuries. It is nice to have my old heart back. We have to go now.” Snapping her fingers, Jean slammed into my trembling body. The castle began to crumble, everyone sprinting out of the building. My vision blurred slightly, Jean tossing me over his shoulder. The crystal snowflake crashed to the ground, Midnight scooping it up for me. Snatching the two of us, she tossed us onto her cat. The castle was seconds from crumbling, all of us getting out just in time. Snow drifted aimlessly, the castle now a pile of rubble. Leaping off of the cat, my nimble fingers reattached the skirt to the corset. Chants of my name stunned me, everyone, bowing in my direction. Tears mixed with the blood pouring from my eyes, Midnight passing me the crystal. A line of red fire lit the path, my scythe glowing. Slamming the tip into the line of fire, childlike wonder brightened all of our eyes. Black rose petals danced in the air, a scarlet castle growing from the ground. The ground quaked violently, the final tower swirling into the sky. The walls were made of a crystal, the towers looking like flames in the red sky. Everyone gasped in wonder, Midnight and my friends sprinting into the castle. The soldiers all sat up rubbing the back of their necks, all of them cowered underneath me. Smiling warmly, I offered the one nearest me my hand. Accepting it cautiously, my throat clearing.

“I am Queen Emily of this land, and I vow to rule with fairness. Tomorrow we can all meet and make the treaties we need to create. I am tired, so I will be taking my leave now.” They all bowed in my direction again before heading home, a weak smile dimming my face. The crystal glowed in my palm, Jean spinning me around. The crystal danced in the air, the crystal sinking into his palm. Cautiously peeling off his new glove, nothing happened. Spinning me around again, his hand fell to my flat stomach.

“Why is it that I sense a child in you?” He teased tearfully, my own grief hitting me at once. “Are you pregnant, my queen?” Nodding my head, my body collapsed into his arms. My muscles couldn’t move, him playing with my ears. Shame dimmed my eyes, him lifting my chin up with his finger. Scarlet burned my cheeks, my heart fluttering like the first day I met him.

“Your ears are beautiful, and I love your tail. Your eyes are beautiful, and you are just as beautiful as the day we met.” He promised warmly, kissing my lips sensually. “You will make the best queen of us all.” Chuckling to myself, all of my responsibilities hitting me at once. I was in charge of death, and all of the monsters in the land. A dejected Caroline stumbled up to us, tears flowing from her blue eyes. Guilt dimmed my eyes, her arms embracing us tightly.

“Before you apologize, you did what you could. I kind of knew you couldn’t save my sister.” She sobbed quietly, smoothing out her blue robes. “Don’t worry about it. I consider you like a sister. Please allow me to be in your court. I would love to take care of you.” Nodding my head, our friends called for us to come in. Placing me on his back, we both walked in with tired smiles on our faces.

Five years later:

Johnny ran around the black rose garden with Milly, the child of Figaro and Midnight. Elania waved at us, Shadow carrying their child Navaya. Johnny’s black hair danced in the breeze, his mismatched eyes twinkling at the sight of Navaya. His black and red striped ears flattened while his tail flicked with excitement. Milly bounced up and down, her fingers tugging on Johnny’s black suit. Her red ears twitched at the sound of Johnny protesting her touching his suit, her tail swinging playfully. Her red lace dress matched her long curly red hair, her cat eyes glittering with joy. Navaya leapt out of Shadow’s arms, her black frilly gown the best outfit of them all. Her long black hair was pulled into a simple side braid, her red eyes gazing around. Jean wrapped his arms around my waist, his lips brushing the nape of my neck.

“Is this everything you dreamed about?” He asked sweetly, kissing the top of my head. “What did you want to tell me?” Turning back towards him, his black striped suit reminded me of the moment we reunited for the first time. His black hair hung around his mismatched eyes, one eye was red while the other one was black. Tracing my cheek, my real smile made his heart beat faster. My black silk gown hugged my small bump, wondering how he didn’t know already. The black silk spread over the steps, my black crown sitting on my intricate bun. A lump formed in my throat, the statue of Sir. Deathwish staring right at me. Black marble emulated his handsomeness, his coat looking just like fabric. The black marble reminded me of his hair, his eyes gazing warmly at us all. Was it my imagination or did he just wink at me?

“I am pregnant!” I blurted out, looking away sheepishly. Jean cocked his brow, a crooked grin dancing across his face. His bare hands cupped mine, laughter erupted from his lips. Covering his eyes with his hands, he cocked his head. Cupping my face, his lips kissed mine feverishly. Spinning me around, his hand slid down to my stomach. A tender blush rose to my cheeks, his reaction relaxing my muscles.

“I love you, Emily.” He announced proudly, kissing my flat stomach. “I am so excited again. I told you before that I want lots of kids with you. So this is great news.” Clutching me to his chest, his hand slid to the small of my back. Midnight popped up behind me, her cat eyes boring into mine.

“Let’s name her Luna if it is a girl.” She suggested jovially, pulling me from his arms. “Let’s go have some fun.” Laughing to myself, Jean chased after us. Watching him play with the kids, a familiar hand touched my shoulder. Johnny’s spirit floated behind me, Luna leaning on his shoulder. Ever since I became the master of death, I could see ghosts everywhere.

“He is adorable.” Johnny chirped cheerfully, Luna playing with my ears. “Your ears and tail look epic, dude. I just came to check up on you. You seemed kind of down lately.” Turning back towards them, my hands crossed. Tears welled up in my eyes, the urge to cry growing stronger.

“I was just missing you guys.” I admitted sheepishly, both of them embracing me. “I lost a couple of friends, and I feel guilty about it. He should know his uncle, and aunt.” Luna smacked the back of my head, their bodies fading in and out.

“Just live the life you deserve.” Luna commented sarcastically, shoving me forward. “Name that little girl after me, ‘kay.” Smiling to myself, they faded away before I could talk to them. Jean gazed over at me, his crooked grin telling me that everything was going to be okay.

supernatural
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.