Horror logo

Blue Moonlight Part Fifteen: A Wedding and a Secret

Who the Hell is this?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 12 min read
Like
Blue Moonlight Part Fifteen: A Wedding and a Secret
Photo by Mariah Hewines on Unsplash

Emily:

Elania dragged me into a makeshift hut, dunking me in a tub of water. Scrubbing me aggressively she ripped off my tattered outfit. Aggressively brushing my hair, my ears flattened with irritation. My tail tucking in between my legs, Jean was getting dragged in another direction. Rolling my eyes, my teeth gritted together. My fang busted through my bottom lip, Elania gingerly wiping the blood off of my bottom lip. Helping me out, she dried me off after washing my hair. Sitting me down on a stump, she twisted my hair into a complicated braid. Sliding a black silk gown over my head, she tightened the embroidered corset. Sliding on my boots, her slender hand painted my lips. Placing a crown of red roses on top of my head, a question gnawed at me. Why was she not saying anything? Why was my stomach doing a million flips?

“What is all this fuss about!” I demanded hotly, feeling irked from earlier today. “Why am I dressed for a ball?” Saying nothing, my ears and tails flamed up a bit. Grabbing my shoulders, Midnight popped up behind me, rough tongue licking my face. Slamming her on the ground in front of me, she grinned wickedly up at me. Her green eyes glistened with adventure, laughter erupting from her lips. Her red robes were splayed around her, her tail flicking around. What the hell was wrong with me today? Normally, I was much kinder than this. Chewing on my hangnail, the two of us just stared at each other.

“What crawled up your ass today?” She groaned sitting up, playing with the bell around her neck. “Don’t I look adorable?” Winking in my direction, my heel slammed into her chest. My eyebrows twitched with slight annoyance, my whole body feeling off. Saying nothing, I let her go. Nausea wracked my stomach, Elania grabbing my sleeve. Spinning me around in front of a mirror, my breath hitched at the sight of me. An embroidered corset hugged my torso, a sea of black silk spilling onto the black forest floor. My painted lips distracted me, her tying a blindfold around my eyes. Guiding me through the woods, I could feel Elania beaming with pride behind me. Her grin must have spread cheek from cheek.

“We are here.” She chirped cheerfully, ripping off my blindfold. My jaw dropped, Elania stopping me from running in the other direction. “We all planned this together.” Jean stood at the end of the aisle in his black pinstripe suit, tears welling up in his eyes. Placing a bouquet of wildflowers in my hands, pushing me forward. Marching forward, cold sweat dripped off of my brow. My friends stood on either side of me, Sir Deathwish standing at a makeshift podium. Standing across from Jean, his hands wrapped around mine. Rage seethed in my eyes, his face falling. This was too much, the urge to run rising inside of me. A kiss on my forehead stopped me, guilt eating at me. Taking a deep breath, a bunch of emotions coursed through me.

“Fine, I’ll marry you.” I snapped bitterly, my ears flattening. “I just wish that it wasn’t a surprise. Can you just give me a minute?” Walking away, my dress spread out around me as I sat down on the ground. Playing with the silk, Midnight crouched down next to me. Ringing her bell, she pawed at my face. Resting my head on my palms, my nose scrunched up. Climbing on top of my head, she swung her feet around.

“I won’t leave you alone unless you listen to me.” She purred happily, her tail whacking my face. “I just want to check where your head's at.” Sighing sadly, I gave in to her assault on me. Sitting her down on my lap, my arm pressed up against her chest. Tears flooded from my eyes, my mind flashing back to Luna. Midnight was just like her, my heart missing my only friend.

“I am aware that you lost a friend that day, but he really wants to marry you.” She expressed quietly, playing with my flame ears. “Jean planned this whole day for you to feel a bit better.” Looking away in shame, my lips pressed together. My ears flattened with sadness, my tail drooping in between my legs.

“Okay.” I agreed, flashing her a warm smile. “Please take me back now.” Pulling me back to the ceremony, my arms wrapped around his neck. Adjusting his spiderweb tie, he fixed my crown. Taking his hands we turned to Sir. Deathwish adjusting his dust cropper jacket. Clearing his throat he began.

“We gather here today to unite our Emily and Johnny as husband and wife or king and queen.” He announced proudly, glancing around at our friends. The Smittys’ were both wearing black tuxedos, her blue hair standing out even more. Shadow wore a scarlet suit, his outfit matching Elania’s scarlet rockabilly dress. Black spiderweb gloves covered her whole arms, her hair twisted into an intricate updo. Leaning onto his shoulder, she shot me a thumbs up. Turning my attention back to Jean, he was messing with his hair. While the decorations were simple, they matched my personality.

“Since nobody objects, you two have to say your vows.” He squeaked out cautiously, a snarl curling on my lips. “You get to go first, Emily.” Clearing my throat, cold sweat dripped off of my brow. My breathing grew shorter, my chest aching. Surprise widened my eyes, his arms clutching me close to his chest. Nibbling on my ear, his words comforted me.

“You have this, Em.” He whispered sweetly in my ear, his lips pressing against mine sweetly. “Just say what’s on your mind, and tonight will be magical.” Scarlet burned my cheek, his hand sliding down to the small of my back. Hearing him say Em made me purr, my confidence growing a bit.

“You are the jack of my heart.” I declared proudly, him still clutching me close to him. “You bit your way into my life, sipping at just the right time. You woke up my heart when you woke me up. Your ability to make me feel better when I am sad is your true power. You really are the whole deck. I love you Jean, and vow to be your wife and queen.” Pulling back, he grabbed the box from Sir. Deathwish. Taking out a black band with a ruby heart in the center sat in his shaking palms, his shaking fingers sliding it onto my ring finger. Sir. Deathwish turned to Jean, his eyes falling on him. Jean cleared his throat, him scratching the back of his head. Laughing nervously, his gloved hand traced my cheeks. Shadows gave him a get going look, Elania rolling her eyes.

“Emily, I have always wanted to be by your side from the day we met.” Jean wept softly, somehow being loud enough for everyone to hear. “You are the magic in my life, and my queen. You are my queen of hearts, always a faithful card. Together we are the king and queen of the deck, forever the rulers of the vampire world. I still remember the day you bounced into my home, your eyes twinkling with joy. The three of us would run around the tunnels, and I still remember the day it was just us. We hid behind a rock, you leapt into my arms for the first time. My heart claimed you as mine then. So, I vow to be your husband, king and protector.” His vow was a million times better than mine, shame dimming my eyes. My ears flattened again for the millionth time today, Deathwish pressing a black box into my hand. Opening it, a simple black band shined back at me. His glove was off, my shaking hand sliding it onto his ring finger. Red flames swirled around the band, a new scarlet glove forming over his hand. Examining the glove in the light, it was the thickest leather on Earth. His black fingernails shimmered in the blue moonlight, Deathwish saying something. The words never made it to my ears, Jean swinging me down, his lips pressing into mine sensually. My heart fluttered with joy, him spinning me around. My friends cheered loudly, Midnight flipping around in the air. Her cat waited in the shadows, her purrs shaking the ground. Running down the aisle, he pulled me into a hollow tree. Pressing his body against mine, his lips brushed the nape of my neck. Sinking his fangs into my neck, a small gasp tumbled from my lips. My blood slid down his throat, goosebumps popping up on his skin as my fangs sank into his neck. The sweetness of his blood coated my throat, the two of us gazing lovingly at each other. His touch was so gentle, my heart beating out of my chest. Wiping each other's lips, we both sucked on our fingers. A dark energy loomed behind us, Elania peeling him off of me. She dragged him away, my hands reaching for him.

“You scoundrel!” She chastised him angrily, a crooked grin danced across my lips. “You have people to entertain, and you sneak off with her. Did you forget the etiquette that was literally shoved down our throat? Are you okay, dear?” Taking him back from his sister, my arms wrapped around his slender waist.

“We just wanted a quick bite.” I chirped cheerfully, Elania checking me over. “Honestly, they are just love bites. Let’s go to the reception.” Jean placed me on his back, his crooked grin made my heart skip a beat. His ring glinted in the blue moonlight, his eyes falling on my ring. Kissing it gently, his lips danced up my arm. A tender blush rose to my cheeks, my head resting against his back. Following Elania, my breath hitched at the sight of large wildflower bouquets lined a long table. A couple of small birds sat on a small table, surrounded by a couple of platters of roasted vegetables. The gnomes came out, playing some type of swing music. Jean took my hand, spinning me around. The people that could eat were filling their plates, my skirt spun around. Tossing me up in the air, his arms catching me. Midnight ripped me from his arms, her spinning me around. God damn, her energy was so intense. Laughing to myself, Jean shot her a death glare before stealing me back.

“How about we get out of here?” He offered irritably, sadness hiding under his eyes. “I want to spend the rest of the night alone with my bride. Good night everyone.” Leaping into the air, Elania shook her fists as she yelled out a steady stream of curse words. A devious grin darkened his face as he openly defied her, him landing gracefully in a field of blue roses. My breath hitched, my finger touching a single rose. The blue darkened to a sea of black roses, him laying me down on top of the hill. Black petals flew around us, his hands pinning me down. His hair hung like a curtain around his face, his lips kissing mine hungrily. The ground shook beneath us, hot air rushing around us as we crashed into an empty black space. Black petals danced around us, the ground sealing up over us. Dread set into my stomach, a rattling sound sending chills up my spine.

“Where the fuck is this?” I questioned out loud, Jean pulling out his deck of cards. My scythe slid into my eager palms, red flames devouring my blade. Hissing echoed all around us, a bright light blinding us. My heart sank into my stomach, several mirrors surrounded us. Black shadows darted through each mirror, the temptation to smash each mirror raging inside of me. Jean held my arm back, his lips pressing into a thin line. Guilt dimmed his eyes, his head bowing in shame.

“I may have ditched him in this realm.” He admitted with a nervous grin, his card deck flipping around in his hand. “We may have gotten into a little scuffle, and he is probably extremely pissed off.” Cocking my brow, a snarl curled on my lips. My fingers gripped my staff tighter, him stepping back cautiously.

“Just what were you fighting about?” I interrogated intensely, ten seconds from whacking him in the back of his head. The mirror in front of us hissed, a serious amount of fog bathing our feet. A guy with black dog ears and a fluffy tail sauntered in, his red hair dancing in a hot breeze. His red hair hung over his golden eyes, a large red sword with the eye of a dog hanging over his shoulders. A dingy black suit covered his slender body, a cruel grin on his face.

“I am Figaro Somas, his familiar who he fucking ditched in this black hellhole.” He growled through gritted teeth, Midnight crashing down in front of us. The two of them stared at each other. The two of us watched cautiously, the two of them circling each other. Midnight pointed to herself, a wide grin on her face.

“She is my master, so I am one of her familiars.” She announced proudly, cutting her palm. “Just give us a moment. Cut your palm already.” Sighing to myself, honestly wondering what she was fucking playing at. Running my palm along the curve of my scythe, she pressed her palm to mine.

“I, Midnight, vow to serve my mistress Emily.” She vowed happily, winking back at me. “Do you accept me mistress?” Figaro charged at us, Jean waving his hand. An invisible force held him back, a lump forming in my throat. Everyone looked at me, a second anxiety attack seconds away. My chest ached, knowing her freedom will be lost. Grabbing at my chest, this could ruin her life. Everyone deserved freedom, not a contract of unpaid servitude.

“I accept.” I uttered fearfully, gripping the silk of my skirt. Red flames danced around my arm, a red fox mark curling on top of her hand. Wincing in pain, her arms dropped to her side. Tilting her head back at me, she spun her blade around. Was she already for battle? Sighing to myself, this whole situation was driving me nuts. My mind racing through everything that happened today, his nights of his gentle touch making my heart race. He was my husband and king, pride swelling while guilt was eating at me. Now he was stuck with me, my chest aching as my breathing grew sharper. Stumbling backwards, a migraine began throb.

“Your call, Mistress.” She babbled excitedly, her fangs hanging her lips. “I can fight for you anytime you need me.” The world spun, my vision blurring. Collapsing to my knees, something was incredibly off. Voices faded in and out, three faces all looking down at me as darkness enveloped me.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.