Horror logo

Blue Moonlight Part Fourteen: A Banshee of a Time

Will she scream before she loses her mind?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like
Blue Moonlight Part Fourteen: A Banshee of a Time
Photo by Steinar Engeland on Unsplash

Emily's chest rose up and down, Johnny’s death taking its toll on me. He was a dick and irritating, but he sacrificed himself to save all of us. Elania probably took it the hardest, her fight with Emily proved that. Walking over to Elania, I sat down across from her. Resting my hands on my knees, my suit was filthy. Fixing my hair, Shadows was sleeping behind her. His body still looked broken, his wounds still healing. Shame dimmed her eyes, her lips pressing into a thin line.

“I am sorry that I hurt her. We seem to be doing that a lot.” She exclaimed calmly, twisting her hair into a side bun. “She has been nothing but kind to us. When do you plan on marrying her?” A soft blush rose to my cheeks, Emily stirring in her sleep.

“How about today?” I sincerely suggested looking around. “She would probably just prefer a small ceremony anyways. Maybe we can pull it together in a few hours.” Sir Deathwish popped up behind me, a sly grin on his face. His cold hand touched Elania’s shoulder, her fist smashing into his pale face.

“I can enlist a couple of people to help out.” He groaned irritably, rubbing his nose. “I will get things to set up a ceremony space, and Midnight will go hunt us a large animal to eat along with some vegetables. Get on your cat and go.” Rolling her eyes, Midnight bounded off. Elania stood to her feet, offering me her hand.

“Keep her busy.” She ordered sharply, pulling out one of her old dresses. “I will make her an amazing dress. I am an excellent designer, I made this outfit after all. Keep it a surprise, and we will pay her back for her kindness. There is a cave not far from here, a gnome lives there. He has the rings, and he should just hand them over. I was going to give them as a gift to you. As you know, look out for danger. Bring her back in a couple of hours, ‘kay.” Mouthing the words thank you, Emily jerking awake. Avery and her father followed Sir Deathwish, confusion twisting her face. Elania’s clothes were always amazing, even as a child she would sew all day long. It pissed my mother and father off to no end. I thought she could be the best designer in the world, but hey that was just me.

“I have a day planned for you, my queen.” I mused playfully, offering her my gloved hand. “Would you like to come?” Smiling warmly, she took it. Hopping on my back, suspicion burned in her eyes. Her lips brushed the nape of my neck, goosebumps popping up. Her slender hand slid down my shirt, her cold skin making me blush. Judging by the way she was trying to smooth me over, it was information that was desired. Stay strong and don't give in, I told myself.

“What are you guys hiding?” She interrogated slyly, her dark stare frightening me. “You are already acting shady. You can tell me.” Her scarlet hair fell around her face, a nervous grin dimming mine. She was scary when she wanted to be, her tail twitching irritably. This mixture of trying to be charming but cute was frightening me, her fingers playing with my hair. Damn, she was really being short with me today.

“What part of surprise do you not get?” I snapped anxiously, a devious smile threatening my very mental state. “Just be patient, for your king?” Chuckling to herself, she covered her mouth. Shooting me her real smile, she gave up trying to figure it out or did she? Squinting my eyes in doubt, something felt off about this effort.

“Would you like me to call you my king?” She queried genuinely, nibbling on my ear. “I can call you that if you wish. I just never came up with a nickname for you. I guess it makes sense, although I am not sure what I am going to rule. Is it down here or up there? Can you set me down, my king? How does that sound?” Smoothing out her black lace dress, she played with the hem of her knee length dress. Spinning around, she bounced around the field in front of the cave. What was going on with her today, her emotions were all over the place. A pointy red hat peeked out of the shadows, the gnome motioning me over. Shit! Why did this have to feel shady? Turning back to her, she was too busy picking medicinal herbs. Tall flowers tickled my legs as I walked towards the wide mouth of the brown cave, the gnome passing me a small black box. Relief washed over me as my fingers gripped the box like my life depended on it, the black velvet feeling soft against my skin.

“Here is your favor, Jean.” He whispered, watching her pick a few more herbs. “They are just as Elania designed, her eye is most magical. Have a good day.” The short man with the white beard waved, his brown cotton shirt fluttering in the breeze. A dark cloud rumbled above us, our bad luck biting us in our ass. Emily looked up at the sky, her ears flattening. Something was wrong, her tail swinging back and forth. Her scythe slid into her eager palms, my cards spanning across my palm. A bolt of lightning struck near where she was standing, silver phantoms emerging from the trees. Silver cloaks swayed in the breeze, raindrops pounding against the top of our heads. They opened their mouths to scream, her ripping the bottom of her dress. Tossing me two scraps of fabric, she shoved hers into her ears. Following suit, a shrill scream pushed past the buffers in our ears. Blood dripped from her ears, flames devouring her blade. Horror widened my eyes, this was a migration of banshees. The only option was to run, my hand grabbing her wrists. She barely protested, the branches scratching our faces. The spirits chased after her, her mouth moving silently. Slamming the tip into the ground, a sea of red flames spread out, the banshees stepping back. A wall of flames protected us, the banshees banging away. Cold sweat dripped down my brow, the rain killing her flames. Grumbling under her breath, Emily groaned to herself.

“We can’t win against th-” I began, a group of genies hovering behind us. Dragging me behind a tree, she leaned up against me. Glancing around nervously, battle cries erupted behind the tree. The rainbow sea of genies charged at the banshees, the gnome popping up in front of us.

“They have been doing this day and night.” He whined pathetically, rubbing his forehead. “My people can’t sleep. Can you fix it?” Tugging at his shirt, he adjusted his hat. Nodding to him, she stepped out in between the dueling sides. Stunned by her presence, they stopped fighting. No one said anything for a few moments, the silence was deafening. Waiting with bated breath, my gnome friend sat on my shoulder. Did he know that his heels were digging into my back, further damaging my suit?

“Why are we fighting here everyday and night?” She queried irritably, her lips pressing into a thin line. “What is so important that you two must be hating on each other?” A blue genie shoved his way through, hovering over her. His bald head was soaking wet from the rain, his green eyes glowering in her direction. Patiently, she let him yell in her face. Wiping the spit off of her face, a lump formed in her throat.

“Those floating hags over there keep wailing in our territory, and taking our souls.” He uttered in disbelief, rolling his eyes. “How can we get our fix if they keep taking it all?” Crossing her arms across her chest, a sea of white fabric floated behind her. Turning around, she held the lead banshee’s mouth shut. Cocking her brow, her eyes met hers.

“You better not scream!” She threatened sternly, letting go of her lips. “Now it is your turn to explain your issue. Calmly, might I add.” Sighing deeply, she looked over at her. Her milky eyes bore into hers, her gray skin sickening me slightly. Emily wasn’t fazed, just staring back at her while gripping her scythe tighter.

“That bloody bastard over there decided to dump me a week ago after centuries together, so I invaded his territory.” She declared stubbornly in a cute Irish accent, her stringy hair floating all around her. “If he takes me back, I will stop it all. He can go back to taking his bloody souls.” Emily looked deep in thought, her boots digging into the dirt. Turning back to the genie, an unimpressed look darkened her face.

“Why did you dump her?” She interrogated tiredly, taking a deep breath. “Was it at least a valid reason?” Grabbing him by his vest, his face was inches from hers. Peering into his eyes, her eyes flashed red.

“I broke up with her because she is too clingy.” He blurted out, freaked out by her just staring at him oddly. “She just cries all of the time. I never want to be with her again.” Turning his back, the banshee got into his face. The rain grew heavier, her lips opening to scream.

“I am going to shut this down before this happens.” She interrupted desperately, leaping in between the two of them. “You are acting like children. She is a banshee, and banshees cry all of the time. No offense! How are you any better, idiot? You just take the souls from people who are desperate for you to help them out. You prey on the innocent souls that are vulnerable, hardly an honest calling. Your fix is a bit pathetic. What are your names anyway?” The two of them got closer to her, their faces softening. Shoving her out of the way, the banshee smashed her lips into the genie. The rain stopped falling, her friends fading into the distance. He snapped his fingers, it was now just the five of us.

“I am Mary Ballast, the lost lady of the moor and he is Indigo.” She chirped cheerfully, Emily’s eyebrow was twitching. Clenching her fists, her cheeks burned red with fury. Shaking her head, hot words sat on the tip of her tongue.

“I am so over it!” She screamed into the sky, pointing at the two of them. “I was supposed to have a nice day off, and you dickheads decided to ruin it. Look at me, I look like a drowned cat. She cries because she is a banshee, and you need to deal with that. So go and live in another territory, so you can leave the gnomes alone! Did I make myself clear?” Nodding, Indigo snapped his fingers. A blue smoke swirled around them, and then they were gone. Taking a couple of deep breaths, the gnome who gave the rings slammed into her body. Flashing him a warm smile, he kissed her hand. Jealousy flashed in my eyes, a loving gaze meeting mine.

“Thank you so much, my lady.” He babbled happily, whistling. A bunch of pointy hats came into view, her fingers rubbing the bridge of her nose. Popping out from behind the tree, a couple of hours passed. Shock widened her eyes as I put her on my back. Sprinting through the trees, Elania pissed thoughts poisoning my head. She was going to kill me, an irate Emily on my back. Please work, I prayed to myself. Hopefully, Emily will agree to marry me.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brittany Mitchell (Author)2 years ago

    I would like to point out that this is in Jean's view. My apologies.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.