Horror logo

Blue Moonlight Part Thirteen: The Flutter of Two Blue Butterflies

The butterfly is the symbol of a lost loved one.

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
Blue Moonlight Part Thirteen: The Flutter of Two Blue Butterflies
Photo by Karina Vorozheeva on Unsplash

A heavy sadness hung over us, the pain of our loss fresh on our minds. Elania hadn’t spoken for a while, Shadow not able to get to her. Telling everyone to stop, confusion flashed in all of their eyes. Tension built in the air, Elania charging at me. Her arms wrapped around my neck, her boot slamming into my stomach. My air pipe crunched underneath her strengthening grip, Jean stepped forward. She tossed him into a tree, her eyes completely black. The black trees decayed around her, cold sweat dripping off of my brow. Terror widened my eyes, gurgles of dying oxygen bubbled up my throat. Her claws ripped open my chest, her fingers wrapping around my black heart.

“Stop what you are doing right now!” Sir Deathwish ordered sharply, her powers fading. “I will take your powers away until you listen to me.” Ignoring him, her fangs brushed my neck. The sound of my skin popping sent chills up my spine, an invisible force holding Jean back. The wet sound of her drinking my blood nauseated my stomach. Blood threatened to come up my throat, my chest sealing shut. Dropping my body, she stepped back before running further into the woods. My throat ached dully, her bite mark throbbing. Struggling to my feet, the ground crunched underneath me as I chased after her. Jean called out for me to stop, an invisible force still holding him down. A deep roar shook the forest floor, four heavy clawed paws popping up into my view. A lump formed in my throat, a red haired cat demon sat on top of a black cat. Her petite form leapt in front of me, her fluffy tail twitching irritably. Green cat eyes glared into mine, her cat yowling in my damn ear.

“I need to get my friend.” I snapped bitterly, losing her scent. “Great, you made me lose her scent. Who the hell are you anyway?” My arms crossed across my black leather rockabilly dress, her red robes swaying in the breeze.

“I am Midnight, the last cat demon in this realm. A blood sucker like you destroyed my entire village. I condemn you to death because of your crimes.” A snarl curled on my lips, my scythe dropping into my eager clammy palms. Red flames devoured the blade, a black curved blade slid into her left hand. A single green cat eye bore into my soul from the center of her handle, a battle cry exploded from her lips. The petite girl charged at me, my blade blocking hers easily. Trying again, she kept failing. Tears welled up in her eyes, my mood not ready for this at all.

“You can’t strike with decent strikes if your main intention is revenge.” I informed her calmly, a dark sneer darkening her face. “Is the person who did this to you Lady Iceheart?” Her ears flattened at the mention of her name, her tail tucking between her legs. Her sword fell to her side limply, tears of agony flooding from his eyes. Collapsing to her knees, she buried her face into her palms. Embracing her gently, she sobbed into my shoulder.

“I just want revenge for my people.” She blurted out, her fists pounding into my back. “I just want to see my mother and father again.” She rocked back and forth in my arms, Elania’s death magic running my way. Leaping to my feet, my scythe still sat in my palms.

“Run back towards a vampire named Jean, and you can come with us.” I ordered sharply, shoving her back onto her cat. “You need to get out of here now.” Her lips parted in protest, her cat understanding. Shrill yells directed at the cat echoed in the woods as they ran back in the direction I came from. Elania charging at me with a black whip in her hands, the black leather snapping in my direction. Three trees fell behind me, Shadow popping up next to me. His shadow creatures protected me from her next attack, the unbridled rage curling off of her all black form.

“You need to run.” He growled through gritted teeth, my head shaking. “She will hurt you worse than me.” Clenching my fists, blood dripped onto the ground. Tears welled up in my eyes, this was all my fault. Shaking my head, my fingers wrapped around my scythe. The ground decayed underneath me, air rushing around us as we crashed into a different type of world. Empty souls meandered around us, black circles spun where their eyes should be. Fright paralyzed the both of us, her all black form sauntering towards us.

“You could have saved him.” She screamed in agony, red drops of blood pouring from her eyes. “He was going to be my brother again, and you let him die. How do you like the underworld?” Looking around, an inky blackness crept up our arms. Shadow stepped in front of me, her whip cracking next to her.

“You don’t think that she isn’t broken by what happened!” He retorted bitterly, a black shadow blade sitting in his palm. “I won’t let you kill her over your grief. You should know that death can be hard for all people, Miss Reaper of Midnight. You used to end loved ones that were dying in your past. So let her go.” Tilting her head slowly, a row of fangs greeted us. Shivering with fright, my fingers gripped Shadow’s shirt. Charging at her, the two of them were black blurs in the flashing red lights. Wonder widened my eyes, Shadows crashing to my feet. All of his bones were broken, Elania marching towards me.

“Please don’t hurt me.” I pleaded desperately, knowing that I couldn’t beat her. “I am so sorry.” Cowering down, her whip was raised. The black leather crashed to the ground next to me, my foot kicking it far away. Collapsing into my arms, her black form faded back to normal. Her long silky black cascaded down her back, her black robes destroyed. Snapping her fingers, we were sitting back on the black forest floor. Shadow’s bones were fusing back together, her red eyes looking away in shame.

“I am so sorry, my queen.” She apologized, sobbing into my shoulder, the inky blackness fading away. “I am just so lost without my brother, and I harbored rage towards you.” Smiling warmly, my arms held her tighter. My scythe faded away, two blue butterflies fluttering past us. Reaching out, the two of them landing on my fingers. Showing her the two of them, she sat back. The story my grandmother always told me flashed in my head.

“Did you know that if you see a butterfly shortly after the recent death of a loved one, then they are saying hi?” I explained softly, passing her one. “I lost my best friend that day, too. Let me tell you the tale of butterflies. A long time ago the creator of the world wanted a single creature to carry a soul down every now and then when their loved ones needed to see them. The first option was sparrow, a wise and hard working bird. The next one was the little mouse, determined but rejected. The final choice was a butterfly, the final form of a caterpillar. Looking at all three, he chose the butterfly because it was quiet but a symbol that most people loved. Ever since then people always thought that the butterfly was their loved ones saying hi.” A sad smile brightened her face, the butterfly landing on top of her head.

“I see.” She mused gently, watching the two butterflies flutter away. “I never looked at death quite that way. You certainly have a strange view on life. It is so refreshing.” Wiping the tears from her eyes, she wiped mine away. My heart melted, her sweet but rare smile stunning me.

“I am glad that I could help you out.” I said happily, a crooked grin dancing across my face. “You can talk to Shadow or me if you need to talk. There is no need to let the darkness fester in you. Promise me you will do that next time, so you don’t have to go into your dark form.” Nodding her head, Shadow scooped her up. Surprise widened her eyes, her head resting on his chest.

“You must have broken her.” Shadow teased lightly, shooting me a thumbs up. “She isn’t usually this loving.” Leaves rustled in front of us, Jean slamming his body into mine. Clutching me close to his chest, his tears soaked the top of my head. Slapping the back of my head, a stern glare met my surprised eyes.

“Don’t you ever run off like that again.” He demanded desperately, his face reddening at the sight of Elania and Shadows. “Don’t act like you wouldn’t do the same thing!” Pressing my lips against his hungrily, he melted into my arms. The bushes shook again, Midnight staring down at us from the top of her cat’s head. Waving down at me, I suddenly felt like everyone’s therapist.

“So are we going to get ourselves a nasty vampire or what?” She suggested playfully, patting the top of her cat’s head. “Well let’s go!” Grumbling under my breath, Jean placed me on his back.

“Well, my queen, are you ready to go?” He asked politely, his crooked grin melting my heart. Shaking my head, he kissed the top of my hand. Walking back to the path, a couple of blue butterflies fluttered away in front of us. Elania shot me a sympathetic smile, her dainty hand touching her heart.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.