Horror logo

Blue Moonlight Part Eight: The Joker Meets The Fox

Who let the Joker out?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Blue Moonlight Part Eight: The Joker Meets The Fox
Photo by Kym MacKinnon on Unsplash

Jean stirred next to me, his chest rising up and down. A loud knock snapped me out of my creepy trance of watching him sleep peacefully next to me. Looking out my window, a wide smile spread across my face, it was my werewolf friend Luna Detoile. Her short brown hair hung around her defined cheekbones. Emerald eyes shimmered excitedly up at me, her green and black plaid dress warming my soul. Tossing on a giant black band shirt, I slid down the antique railing to the front door.

“Luna!” I shouted, wrapping my arms around her shoulders. “I missed you so much. I was just about to do the midnight howl for you.” Chuckling to herself, she hugged me tighter. You see, I knew she was a werewolf because she told me a long time ago at school and even showed me her beautiful reddish brown wolf form. She spun me around, a groggy Jean coming down the stairs in a pair of work out shorts and a tight black t-shirt. Damn he looked sexy like that too, his hair was twisted with morning snarls.

“Is this your boyfriend, or something?” She mused curiously, rubbing her chin. “What happened to Johnny?” Awkward silence hung between us, my eyes falling on the bruises all over my body. Sighing to myself, her fingers traced every scar that was tattooed on my skin. Pressing her lips together, urgency burned in her eyes.

“Some lady calling herself Iceheart is attacking our village, and I didn’t know who to turn to.” She blurted out, tears of fear streaming down her cheeks. “She killed my father and we have the women and children outside of your house. Can you shelter them for now?” Nodding my head, I ran upstairs. Scanning my closet, I pulled on a pair of worn boots and a scarlet summer dress. This time I will come prepared, I told myself. Free who is still alive and get them out of there. My mind was forming a plan as a white gloved hand touched my shoulder.

“You ready to go, my queen?” He inquired gently, pulling me closely to him. “The gang is waiting for us. Do you want to cut us there?” Joy fluttered in my heart as Sir Deathwish even showed up, his crooked smile telling me that he was doing a little bit better. Shadow waved at me to hurry up, his shadow creatures in tow. Captain Smitty stood next to Avery who was chatting away with Luna.

“What is the name of your village?” I queried oddly, grasping my scythe tightly “I have to have a destination.” Cupping her hand, she whispered the destination in my ear. Slicing the air, a fissure in time opened up.

“Take us to Oppenheim, New York.” I barked firmly, watching the scenery change to green farmland. “Come along everyone. “ Crossing into the upstate New York town, a frozen yet burning village taunted me. Whistling rang out around us, a woman in a royal blue baseball uniform that hugged her petite body and baseball cap sauntered towards us. A giant bat with barbed wire twisted around bounced against her palm, a cocky grin dawned on her painted lips. Black silky hair cascaded down her back, a pair of mismatched eyes meeting mine. Red glowed from her right eye while an ocean blue eye glittered on her left. She was a half demon, half vampire, close to my own strength. Judging by the scene behind her she had both fire and ice powers within her. Jean placed his hand on my shoulder, his eyes telling me that we can do this together. Johnny appeared behind her, wrapping his arms around her waist.

“What do you think of my new girl?” He questioned, admiring her up and down. “Much more obedient than the two of you.” Rolling my eyes, I raised my scythe to the fighting position. A guttural growl rumbled in Jean’s throat, his endless deck of cards in his hands.

“I think you are trying to date someone similar to me.” I teased with a sly grin, Jean nudging my shoulder. “Does she know how you really are? Manipulative, rude and most importantly evil.” His girl lunged for me, Johnny ordering her to stop.

“Listen, we didn’t do this.” He explained humbly, bowing his head in shame. “Lady Iceheart did. Let’s just say that they owed us some serious money, or cubs. Where are they?” Cocking my brow, Jean twitched irritably next to me. His perfect hair was getting a little messy, and out of place. His left hand quaked violently, his eyes going inky black. I had never seen him like this before, a chill running up my spine. A black diamond formed over his eyes, Johnny grinning ear to ear next to his new mystery girl.

“Now you get to meet the Joker.” He warned with a little bit too much glee in his voice. “I have been waiting to fight with him for a while.” Surprise mixed with fright shook my body, Jean was nowhere near me. Unfortunately, Johnny’s new girlfriend was inches from me. Her bat swung down at me, Luna and Avery gathering the survivors. Dodging it just in time, my legs thrust me in the air. Air rushed around me, Captain Smitty fighting a couple of minions on the ground level as Sir Deathwish was slicing down ice and fire creatures left and right. Elania was fighting a couple of vampires, a hot breath alarming me. Cold sweat dripped down my brow as I realized that I needed to focus a bit better.

“Hi, sweety.” A sickly sweet voice jeered behind me, the barbs on her bat growing larger. “I am Barbie, here to serve you with a strikeout because you know, three strikes and you are out.” Excruciating pain jolted my shoulders, the bat narrowly hitting my shoulder. Blood exploded everywhere as she ripped it out of my shoulder. Tears welled up in my eyes, choosing to ignore the pain. Raising my scythe, sparks snowed around us as our blades clanged against each other. Frustration boiled in me, our blows being equal in match. Horror widened my eyes, her hands ripping off her red locket. Desperately, my trembling fingers tried to rip off my bracelet only for it to refuse. Curse the finickiness of magic jewelry, inky blackness taking over her eyes. Her cleats slammed into my chest, the spikes growing larger. Ribs cracked, bones snapped as my body slammed into the ground. She was too strong, hell she was stronger than Lady Iceheart. Shit, I cursed to myself. My body was too crushed to move, a scream of agony exploding from my lips. Silent tears streamed down my cheekbones, the world blurring above me. Jean leapt down from nowhere, cards cutting both of us up. Was it just me or did they get sharper?

“Stop it!” I pleaded unable to defend myself from his barrage of cards. “I am going to get killed. Someone help me!” Sir Deathwish scooped me up, the shards of my bones rubbing together. Blood dripped into my eyes, the acidic mess burning my eyeballs. Blood poured from the corner of my lips, Johnny calling for her to retreat. Jean floated down to my twisted and broken body, an evil look in his eyes. He raised his deck of cards, stopping just in time to stop them from hitting me.

“I am so sorry.” He sobbed, burying his hands in his palms. “I hurt you.” Only having a few seconds before sweet darkness embraced me, I whispered the words take us all home. Using my scythe, everyone crossed into the living room of our headquarters. Family members cried out in happiness as everyone embraced each other. A bloodied Jean fell to his knees next to me, the shadow of death looming over me. Exhaustion or was it death hung heavily on my eyelids, darkness wrapping me in her arms.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.