Horror logo

Flight of the Blue Jay Part Eight: A Benedict Arnold

Will the traitor be sniffed out?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Flight of the Blue Jay Part Eight: A Benedict Arnold
Photo by Patrice Bouchard on Unsplash

Officer Declan sat at a metal table, his hands and legs chained to the ground. His gray hair was wild around his face, dark circles under his eyes. No one had permission to speak to him, but I didn’t care. Adjusting my suit jacket, a sharp glare met my eyes.

“Tell me why you joined them.” I ordered, sitting across from him. “I will make it all easier if you just talk to me. You broke your brother’s heart, so at least give me this.” He rolled his eyes, a sly grin darkening his face. Menace glistened in his gray eyes, my mind instantly regretting the request. He licked his lips, his head tilting to the right.

“Why would I do such a thing!” He teased coldly, winking in my direction. “He always takes what is mine.” Sighing deeply, my hand scratched the back of my head. Flipping through a black folder, the page stopped at the person marked with a blue jay.

“Did you do this?” I demanded, sliding the photo to him. “You were the top officer on the case.” The metal of the chair scraped as he leaned back and crossed his arms the best he could. His eyebrow cocked, his eyes twinkling with a childlike cleverness. His lips parted to speak, Agent X bursting in. Fury boiled in my veins, her fist slamming into my jaw.

“We ordered you not to speak to the prisoner!” She shouted, her eyebrow twitching. “I will need to ask you to leave.” Dull throbbing pain radiates through my jaw as I attempt to rub the pain out of it. Struggling to stand to my feet, her irritated gaze met mine.

“I don’t have to listen to you.” I growled through gritted teeth. “You guys are hiding something from us, and I don’t like it. In fact I can’t stand you at all.” A sneer curled on her lips, her gloved hand wrapping around my throat. The leather creaked as her hand squeezed tighter. Screaming for air, my foot connected to her firm stomach. Alarm widened my eyes, cold sweat dripping off of my brow. She must have been a robot or something.

“I will have Sammy for myself.” She gloated, tossing me to the other side of the room. “He deserves better than you.” Struggling to stand, I leaned against the nearest wall. Her chest rose up and down erratically, her face burning scarlet with blind fury. Acute pain shot up my leg, her foot slamming into my healing knee. Cracks rang out around me, a scream of pain exploding from my lips. Collapsing to the ground, fresh agony blinded the electrocuting shock of my knee as she slammed her fist into my stomach. The beginnings of internal bleeding began, the acidic taste of copper poisoning my taste buds.

“Is this because you can’t have Agent Y, or are you really Benedict Arnold?” I wheezed, blocking her next punch. “Spill the truth, you psychopath.” She licked her lips, stripping off her uniform to reveal a shimmery red sequin dress. Fear paralyzed my body, her hand gripping my tie. Her face was inches from mine, actual sweat shining on her face.

“It really is a shame that you will be dead by the time someone finds out.” She growled in my ear, her rotten broccoli breath nauseating me. “I have been working with them for y-” A metal chair smashed against the back of her head, Officer Declan huffing behind her. Dust flew around us, her body crashing next to me. Salty tears of shock and confusion streamed from my eyes, his hand was being held out to me. Slapping it away, I looked away sheepishly.

“I never killed a single person.” He grumbled, crossing his arms. “This agency sent me in here to find the traitor, or traitors. I promise.” Disbelief dimmed my eyes, my lips pressing together into a thin line. His body language said he was lying, but most decent psychopaths could lie beautifully. Agent Mastermind ran in, rushing to my side. His one cloudy eye looked me over, only to turn to Officer Declan.

“Thank you for sniffing out the traitor.” He exclaimed, shooting him a smile. “You are pretty tough aren’t you. How did you know that she was a traitor?” Coughing up blood, he sat me up against the wall.

“She showed no emotion when she punched me in the face.” I explained calmly, watching Agent X stir. “The day she picked us up at the hotel, she had the proper facial expressions and couldn’t bring that to her eyes. Sorry for busting my knee again.” Chuckling to himself, the door busted open. A frightened Sammy looked over at me, tears of relief flooding from his eyes. Shoving our boss to the side, he wrapped his arms around me.

“I thought I lost you.” He blubbered, his hands gripping my arms tightly. “Please be more careful in the future. Can you guys fix her?” The world started to blur around me, voices not being heard. Lips moved, but no words could be heard. My father appeared next to me, his long brown hair hanging over his eyes.

“Don’t leave now, child.” He comforted me, his woodsy smell wafting up my nose. “It is okay to sleep though. Have a nice nap.” His lips kissed my forehead, sweet slumber winning.

Blackness spread out like an endless ocean on all sides of me, the distinct feeling of hopelessness creeping up inside of me. Why couldn’t my ex-husband have killed me that night? All these new things were driving me insane, my mind just wanting to fold into a million little pieces.

“Little Blue Jay!” My ex-husband called out, stepping out of the darkness. “You look like hell my dear. If you just took your meds as I told you to do, we wouldn’t be here. I bet you didn’t know that I used to be a hero, and his adopted brother was not a criminal. You were wrong for the first time in your life. You should quit. We all know how fragile you are.” Covering my ears, he sauntered towards me in an orange jumpsuit with numbers. Tears welled up in my eyes, my hands covering my ears. His hands took my hands off of my ears, his hand striking my cheek.

“Go away!” I screamed, trying to cover my ears again. “You are in a cell in a high security hospital.” His eyes met mine, only for him to disappear. Nothing was around me, nothing. That was until all of the victims started to lumber towards me, rancid pus oozing from their wounds. Cold sweat clung to my skin, goosebumps popping up.

“You are so stupid that you can’t save us.” They taunted, dead peeling hands touching my skin. Pus dripped onto my skin, the girl I tried to save shaking my shoulder. A scream wanted to come out, but rough stitching left my lips sealed shut. My hands ripping at the stitches, nothing working.

“Wake up!” She whispered in my ear, her decaying skin tracing my cheek. “You need to find my killer.”

A head slammed into mine, my body snapping awake. Bright lights blinded me, Sammy rubbing his forehead. Chuckles tumbled from my dry throat, strong hands holding me down.

“Relax, my dear.” Sammy commented gently, placing a pillow under my head. “They fixed your knee by the way. I guess they wanted to test it out on broken bones. Seriously, check it out.” Tilting my head in confusion, relief washed over me as my knee bent properly. A wide grin danced across my face, my hands feeling it all over.

“This is amazing. It has literally never felt this great.” I mused, Sammy laying down next to me. “I love you.” He played with my hair, wrapping his hand around mine. These are the moments I lived for. His lips pressed against mine sweetly, my heart melting into a puddle.

“We have a real mission tomorrow.” He babbled cheerfully, pulling me onto his chest. “The real adventure begins tomorrow.” Saying nothing, he hummed a little song. He was my home, and I couldn’t wait to figure everything out while being on a riveting adventure. For now however, I will rest on his chest and listen to his beating heart. The rhythm is putting me back to sleep, hopefully this time I will have a great dream. Blue jay calls echoed in ears as the blur of blue wings was the last thing I saw.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.