Horror logo

Blood Pond

One Dreadful Summer

By LavajeenaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
(I do not own the rights for this photo)

It was the summer before senior year of highschool; the last one before highschool was officially over. The summer that all of our wildest nightmares came true…

It all started at our favorite water hole; where we went every summer to hangout and go on adventures. We would always venture through the woods and end the day by dipping into the warm, serene water as all the dirt and muck from the day lifted off our bodies and we eased into a state of relaxation. This year, we invited our new friend- Bobby - to join us. He had never been into the woods before because he grew up in a “protective” household. He was new to the school, in fact he transferred right before finals.

One Saturday morning, we all met at what we called “Mount rock” (which is just a tall slender rock we found one day hiking). We all had backpacks, essentials and tents with us ready for a week of camping.

Once John and Rosa got there, we decided to head towards the water hole to set up camp. “Bobby said he would be running late and he would be here by sunset, so I don’t see why we should wait.” Explained John. John was Rosa’s boyfriend, they’ve been dating since freshman year—I didn’t really like him, but, what do I know about boyfriends? I’d never had one. “It’s a beautiful day isn’t it?” Asked Rosa. Rosa had been my best friend since kindergarten, we have always done everything together. She’s like my sister. “Yes, it’s quite beautiful; which makes for better adventures.” Answered John. “I agree!” I exclaimed. We all giggled as we finished settling in and ate dinner. After we ate, we all changed into swimming attire and jumped into the watering hole while we waited for Bobby. Something felt different this time—it felt eerie.

Nightfall came around and Bobby was nowhere to be found. “Should we call him?” Asked Rosa. “We don’t get cell reception out here, remember?” Sighed John. “Oh yeah! Sorry, I forgot. Well, should we still wait for him? It’s past sunset already.” “No, if we don’t start hiking now, it’ll get too late.” John said annoyed. We all shrugged, changed, grabbed our bags and set off into the deep woods.

An hour or two into hiking we stumbled upon a small pond we had never seen before.

The moon reflected off its still water.

Without much observation, I threw off my bag and jeans and exclaimed; “the last one into the water is a loser!” And sprinted for the pond before anyone could say anything. As soon as I emerged from the water I noticed they both had a horrified look on their face. “What? What’s wrong?” I asked. “COME OUT OF THE WATER-NOW-TORI!” Rosa yelled shakily. “Why? The water feels gr—..” I stopped mid-sentence as I looked at my hands… the water was blood red. How had I missed this? Why didn’t I pay better attention? “Wh-what is this?” I gulped. “They call it blood pond.” Bobby said mischievously. Everyone jumped. “Bobby! When did you get here?” John asked timidly. “I’ve been here. Didn’t y’all hear the branches cracking behind you?” “Well, yes…” I said proudly, “but, I thought it was an animal or something…” “No, it was me.” Smirked Bobby. “What’s so funny?” Rosa gulped.

Before anyone could say anything else, Bobby grabbed John’s arm and yanked him into the water, holding his head under. Horrified, I ran into the water screaming—crying— “what are you doing?!” “Oh, he’s weak anyways.” Chuckled Bobby as he held John’s struggling body under the water. “What does that mean?!” I panicked as I tried to yank on Bobby’s arms. He knocked me back- hard- and as I went to get back up, he said; “This water is red because it’s where my family comes every year to sacrifice people to this pond. I don’t really know why we do it, but I know it’s fun…” Bobby chuckled.

As Bobby was talking, four people in robes holding candles slowly walked out of the clearing chanting something. Rosa tried to run away but they caught her, tied her up and sat her at the edge of the water. My struggles to save John were null; he was still and lifeless now; I couldn’t save him. Seconds later, I was tied up and sat next to Rosa. All I could do was close my eyes, pray and say my goodbyes.

Not even a moment later, I heard bodies thud against the pebbles. My eyes sprung open and to my amazement, three men in diving gear stride out of the water. “Are you two okay?” Asked one of the men. “Y-yes, I think so.” I stuttered. “They’re in shock, let’s get them out of here! Bag the bodies!…”

The voice echoed in my head as it faded out. The next thing I knew I was in the hospital getting looked at. Then-this, I was here in this office; waiting to tell you my story about what happened on that dreadful summer day.

The End.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Lavajeena

Anywhere from Love advice to Short Stories to Traumatic stories and how to deal with it..

I have a pretty large life story, and someday - you’ll hear all about it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.