Horror logo

'Bird Box' Netflix Movie Review: Never Lose Sight of Survival!!

My Thoughts on the Netflix Movie 'Bird Box'

By Michael ReynosoPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like
Bird Box

Welcome Netflix fans!!

I hope you all are having a marvelous day in this new year!!

Today, I’m reviewing the brand new Netflix movie Bird Box. You guys know that in my reviews, I like to write about the good and the bad, but I’m also going to share my thoughts on this movie and give a score at the end.

So without further ado, let’s get right into the Bird Box movie review!

The Good

Sandra Bullock

A woman and two of her children are blindfolded and they make their way through a post-apocalyptic place along a river. I guess that basically sums up the movie.

A lot of this film takes place in the past.

This movie does a lot of shifting back and forth between the present and the past. Even though these back and forth changes between scenes can be a bit confusing, the film was great.

Overall, I can say that Bird Box has some pretty solid performances, especially Sandra Bullock. I always think Bullock is great in whatever she does. Even if the movie is terrible, I loved her passion and commitment in this movie. Bullock’s character in this film appeared to be a type of mother who would prepare her kids for survival.

She's so straightforward with them, and she has to be in this type of situation. Bullock is also firm and tells her kids, “Listen. You have to do what I tell you to do. I am your mother!”

That’s exactly what happened in this film.

I didn’t mind seeing the kids in this movie.

I thought the two child actors were actually really good.

They weren’t annoying.

The kids didn’t get in the way, except for that girl who didn’t listen to her mother and got out of the boat when she was told not to.

Overall, the kids did an amazing job of doing exactly what the director told them to do. There is a lot of potential for director Susanne Bier in the future. She did a marvelous job of handling these characters, bringing the script and source material to life. Also, this movie is based off of a book, which I had never seen or read it before.

Nonetheless, I was excited for this movie—based on the concept alone.

Sandra Bullock did an outstanding job.

Some of the shots and cinematography weren't bad either.

One shot in particular comes to mind: This shot here of Bullock and her kids rowing down on a river. The shot is overhead and the dark shadow is following them in the boat.

I thought this shot was very beautiful.

This movie has a very eerie aspect to it. A post-apocalyptic type of aspect, if you will.

That’s a lot of good stuff.

"A Quiet Place"

Now, there are three films that a lot of people have compared Bird Box to:

  1. A Quiet Place,
  2. The Mist, and
  3. The Happening.

Out of those three films, I loved A Quiet Place. It’s going to be interesting to see how this turns out because people will say, "Bird Box copied A Quiet Place," and visa-versa. When watching Bird Box, it felt like A Quiet Place.

Even the source material is similar.

It’s just odd how that played out.

For me, the major comparison is The Happening. If you guys haven’t seen that movie, it is absolutely not worth watching. I hated every moment of it. However, there was something in that film that was very intriguing. The suicide aspect of The Happening was carried over into Bird Box with people killing themselves.

In my opinion, that suicide aspect was handled very well in Bird Box, especially compared to The Happening.

Bird Box brought high stakes. This film brings a level of intensity.

But the main reason why Bird Box is better is the dialogue in itself. I liked the script overall.

I thought the movie was fun. It’s something that we have seen before, but it’s done in a new and inventive way.

For a Netflix movie, this movie was a solid watch.

The Bad

The only major issue I had with Bird Box is how they set up at the beginning—in who is going to die survive and who is not. That’s going to get under a lot of people’s skin, but they still made it so predictable on what was going to happen. By the time we got to the high stakes, the stakes weren’t really there.

We knew what was going to happen.

When new characters came in, I knew if that character was either good or bad. Though I liked the actors and actresses behind those characters. Also, I thought the dialogue was really good at times, but there were times where I was like, “As long as each character played their role.”

At the end of the day, I don’t think Bird Box was impactful as it intended to be. I was left with many questions unanswered. There were certain characters who I didn’t like. Nonetheless, there was definitely a happy ending for the characters.

If you guys are okay with that then I do think you will enjoy this film.

I got a great deal of enjoyment out of it, but let's just say that this movie wasn’t quite a fulfilling experience. However, if you’re bored and want to watch something on Netflix, that’s exactly what this movie is for.

This is why I’m going to give Bird Box an 8 out of 10 rating.

I do think this film is worth watching, especially if you like Sandra Bullock and John Malkovich, who also does well in the movie.

Never lose sight of survival.

Be on the lookout for more movie reviews coming your way!

Happy New Year!

I hope you guys enjoyed reading this post!

Thank you all for reading!

If you enjoyed reading this post, you might like: The 'Us' Official Trailer Review: We Are Our Own Worst Enemy

Like what you read, send me a gift and share my work on social media to help contribute to my next adventure!

Any support is greatly appreciated! ^_^

Social Media:

Twitter: @RealMikesReview

Facebook Page: I Am Anime

LinkedIn Profile: Michael Reynoso

YouTube: Viral Wisdom 4 Men

Check out my store by clicking the link here.

Until next time, my friends! ^_^

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Michael Reynoso

The Slam Dunk Effect is a place where I write about trailer and movie reviews, along with entertainment where readers come to read.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.