Horror logo

Better Halloween Days

Baby Groot and Rocket

By Andrea JardinePublished 4 years ago 8 min read
4
Rocket and Baby Groot

My favourite costume was from the year 2014. It seems like a lifetime ago and a completely different world to what we’re experiencing now. One of the most contentious presidential races in history is playing out before our eyes and we’re living through a pandemic that has killed over a million people worldwide. It feels like science fiction or the scary dystopian novel you’re forced to read in high school English class, such as The Handmaid's Tale, 1984, or Brave New World. All three books I highly recommend reading by the way.

Six years ago, I never would have predicted this is how we’d start our own Twenties decade. When you think of the ‘20s, you think of a booming economy and roaring parties with mobsters peddling illegal booze and flapper girls (which I dressed up as when I was 20 years old) dancing to The Charleston.

The aptly named “Roaring Twenties” was full of exuberant life with a fervent celebration of freedom after a devastating world war. Women took a stand by cutting their hair, hiking up their hemlines, and exploring their sexuality. The great jazz era was born. It was a new beginning and an awakening to living loud and proud.

The Deploring 2020s

Our first year into this new decade has been anything but boisterous. The economy is failing, women are still fighting for equality, and Black, Indigenous, and People of Colour are literally fighting for their lives.

At the end of 2019, I was excited about what our version of the Roaring '20s could be. Certainly twelve years after the 2008 recession, this would be a time of prosperity and growth, not death and destruction.

When I started hearing about coronavirus, I never imagined that it would have this big of an impact globally. I didn’t think quarantine would become a regularly used word or that eight months in, Halloween would be canceled – or at least the version of Halloween that I know and love: Desperate for one of my parents to get home from work and eating dinner faster than humanly possible to try and be the first kid out on the street to collect as much candy before it got dark out. The only acceptable amount of candy was my pillowcase filled to the brim that I could never possibly eat in a lifetime – although I tried. And then in high school and my adult years, venturing out to packed parties or clubs and desperately hoping to win the best costume contest where I could feel like I had accomplished something important that year. (I never did win). Even a huge snowstorm couldn’t prevent this Canadian kid from packing on all of her winter gear, including a puffy parka, snow pants, boots, and a toque, virtually hiding my entire costume, and stomping throughout my neighbourhood to bang on strangers doors and demand delicious candy.

This year the streets will be far quieter and parties will be virtual. A sad but necessary, and albeit, tiny sacrifice to try and curb spreading the virus further and protecting the most vulnerable in our society.

My Epic Idea of 2014

Leading up to Halloween in 2014, I deliberated on a bunch of different costume ideas, such as Beetlejuice and Lydia or Catwoman and Batman. I knew I wanted a couple's costume but not a typical one and preferably something I could make since I was tired of buying the cheaply made yet outrageously priced costumes that anyone could just show up in.

I had seen Guardians of the Galaxy in theatres during that summer and was completely enamoured by Baby Groot at the end of the film. The idea for the costume didn’t come to me initially but I started thinking about superheroes and who my then-boyfriend and I could be. Guardians popped into my head and I puzzled over dressing up as Gamora and my boyfriend as Peter Quill / Star-Lord. My ex-boyfriend animatedly voted for Star-Lord but the idea of having to paint myself green for Gamora really turned me off. I also worried that I’d choose some sort of paint that didn’t wash off easily and I’d have to go around looking like the Wicked Witch of the West for a week. Then it hit me. Baby Groot and Rocket. My ex wasn’t as enthusiastic about this one but my dogged determination and giddy excitement won him over. They’re not your typical couple but are clearly a pair who care deeply about each other. I would make it work.

Who in the Heck are Baby Groot and Rocket and What is Guardians of the Galaxy?

For those of you who don’t know who these characters are, they’re from a Marvel comic of the same name and have had two feature films, Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 1 and Volume 2, as well as appearing in Avengers: Infinity War and Endgame. The movies star Chris Pratt as Star-Lord, Zoe Saldana as Gamora, and the voices of Bradley Cooper as Rocket and Vin Diesel as Groot.

The Guardians are essentially a ragtag group of human and alien species forced to work together after Peter Quill steals a highly sought-after orb. Baby Groot is not a prominent feature of the film and SPOILER ALERT only appears in the end after Groot, a tree-like humanoid, sacrifices himself to save his friends. Groot’s bounty hunting partner and best friend, Rocket, is a genetically engineered foul-mouthed gun-toting Raccoon. The two are essentially inseparable so it was horrifying to see Groot die but luckily Rocket is able to regrow Groot by planting a small piece of his blown-up body. Groot is best known for only using the words “I am Groot” to communicate with people.

The end of the film reveals a glimmer of hope as Groot’s sapling has now grown into Baby Groot and their hilarious and endearing bromance can continue on.

How-to Create Your Own Stunning Version of Baby Groot and Rocket

I know. It’s hard to believe I created such a masterpiece by only spending a whopping $10 at the local dollar store. But I’m prepared to generously reveal how I accomplished such a task.

To create the planter:

  • 1 adult hula hoop for the top
  • 1 kids’ hula hoop for the bottom
  • Cardboard painted black with a hole cut in the middle to serve as the dirt topping
  • 1 cheap white tablecloth fabric for the body of the planter, which was wrapped and taped around the hula hoops
  • Brown ribbon to hold the planter in place over your shoulders

To create the trunk:

  • A brown long-sleeved shirt
  • Crumpled up brown packing paper taped around you
  • Green plastic plant stems and leaves taped to the packing paper

To bring the whole look together:

  • Green plastic plant stems and a flower for your hair

Please note: Baby Groot does not have a flower in his tree hair but I added it as my own little female version.

Rocket was mostly a Toys “R” Us pre-packaged costume, which included a mask, shirt, and fur gloves. My ex-boyfriend bought the fur-like fabric from a fabric store for the bottom half and his mom sewed them into fur legs. He also bought a toy gun and spray-painted it black.

And that is how you can create your own DIY version of Baby Groot and Rocket. As a bonus, this couple's costume is perfect during COVID times since the hula hoop planter effectively keeps you 6 feet away from people and Rocket’s costume comes with its own mask.

Three Main Things We Can Learn from Guardians of the Galaxy

1. Work Together

Even though the Guardians are different species, genders, and ages, they chose to work together to defeat evil.

We can all be our own superheroes during these unprecedented times. The world is not a safe place to be right now but we can tap into our superpower abilities to heal and adapt to our current environment. This is what we were designed to do.

2. Build Meaningful Bonds

Even though the Guardians outright disliked each other at times, they learned how to love and support one other and could always be relied upon to show up when needed most.

Friendships and social connections are extremely important during difficult times. It's incredibly easy to isolate yourself from others and that feeling of loneliness can be debilitating. This is our opportunity to reach out, lift each other up, and be kind. Let’s laugh and cry together.

3. Dance Like Nobody’s Watching

Peter Quill and Baby Groot are especially good at this and have the talent to dance even at the most inopportune times.

Music is healing and the act of movement can be healing. Music can pierce directly into your soul and release a lot of pain or anger or happiness or whatever other emotion you’re keeping inside of you. Dancing is also non-discriminatory. You can dance any way you’d like. Shake those hips or pump those fists. It doesn’t matter. Do what feels good. Dance alone. Dance with a partner. Dance with your dog. Just dance.

Everybody has been affected by COVID-19 in one way or another. Most of it is negative and exhausting and life-altering. We will never be the same but continue to crave normalcy and some sense that everything is going to be okay. The hope is that once this pandemic is over (and possibly the U.S. presidential election), we will emerge victorious and prosper in the remaining Twenties.

Until then, and when all else fails, summon Baby Groot and dance your ass off even when the world crumbles around you.

halloween
4

About the Creator

Andrea Jardine

IG: @andreajardinecreates

Currently in Toronto, Canada developing my writing skills and growing an audience. Any tip or pledge given to help me pursue this endeavour is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.