Horror logo

Arachnophobia

In a world overcome by a spider-spread disease, a group of four friends strive to cure the world, working through conflicting feelings and views as they progress through the job.

By Haley SandovalPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Arachnophobia
Photo by Arrigo Lupori on Unsplash

“Hey, that looks like a good place to stay for the night,” Alix says, panting and pointing at an apartment complex. I look the outside over.

“Let’s check it out first,” I say, opening a door and looking around. I tilt my head to the side to let them know it’s clear. The follow me in.

“I’ll take first watch,” I say, putting my bag in one of the rooms.

“No, I will. You had first and last watch for the past three days, you need more than a few hours of sleep to keep going,” Sebastian says to me.

“But!”

“Ah, no buts. I am, and you can’t do anything about it!”

“I’m the oldest though!”

“By a month. That doesn’t count.”

“I’m the leader!”

“No, we all decide what happens.”

“Oh, but when you can’t decided then I’m the leader?!”

“Exactly,” he says, nodding. I groan.

“Fine, whatever,” I say, going back to the room I picked. I lay on the bed face down and groan.

“What am I going to do?! I really shouldn’t like him this much! It’s bad for my concentration! I always knew my love life was going to be hard!”

“Complaining about your crush on Sebby again,” Cole asks me. I glare up at him.

“Yes, and you should be quite, I don’t want him to know!”

“Don’t want who to know what,” Alix asks, coming in.

“She doesn’t want to let Sebby know about her crush on him.”

She squeals, “I knew it!!! Why didn’t you tell me?!”

“Because I didn’t plan on telling anyone.”

“It seems you told Cole.”

“No, he read my diary.”

“You had a diary?!”

“Yes, yes I did,” I say slowly.

“What happened to it?”

“He burned it,” I say, pointing an accusing finger at Cole.

“Hey, it’s not nice to point fingers,” Cole says. I raise an eyebrow.

“Did you or did you not use my diary as a bonfire starter?” He looks around sheepishly.

“Maybe?”

“Cole,” Alix says, warningly.

“Ok, yes! I did it alright!”

“Anyways, i still want to know why you didn’t tell me about it!”

“Because it was my diary! I wrote down private thoughts,” I say.

“And I’m your best friend-slash-sister! You’re supposed to tell me all your juicy thoughts!” I give her a deadpan look.

“Do you really want to hear all my naughty, naughty fantasies starring Sebastian Woods,” i ask, ignoring the looks they send my way at the beginning of talking.

“You have naughty fantasies starring myself,” Sebastian asks from behind me. I blush darkly and turn to him.

“No,” I squeak, “Why would you think that?” He smirks at me.

“A-huh, and I don’t have a crush on you,” he says, sarcastically.

“You don’t,” I ask slightly crushed...who am I kidding I’m very crushed.

“I was being sarcastic.”

“So...does that mean..??”

“Yes, i have a crush on you.” My eyes widen.

“You’re lying.”

“Nope, he doesn’t lie,” Cole says, grinning. I narrow my eyes at Cole.

“You knew, didn’t you?”

“Maybe...ok yes I did!”

“And why didn’t you tell me?”

“Because I made him promise not too,” Sebastian interrupts.

“Just like you made me promise to not tell him,” Cole says.

“You still could have told me, you Assbutt!”

“Sticks and stones may break my bone but chains and whips excite me,” Cole sings.

“Looks like you’ve got your hands full,” I say to Alix.

“Yeah, I think I do too,” Alix says, watching Cole dance around the room while singing. I giggle, and she glares at me.

“I heard Sebastian likes when his partner is submissive in bed, and he also likes when they’re bound,” Alix says casually. I choke on air and start coughing.

“H-how do you know that?!”

“He told me.”

“How does he know that?!”

“I don’t know,” she says with a shrug. I groan.

“So you’re saying that he would like when I’m submissive, and when I ask him to tie me up and have his wicked way with me?”

“From what I’ve heard, yes, very much so,” she says. I groan again.

“That isn’t fair! Nothing is fair though, so I should've expected this,” I mumble, shaking my head.

“You do know I’m standing right here right,” Sebastian asks from behind me. I jump.

“Alix, I should kill you right now.” She giggles.

“You’re welcome,” she says, skipping over to Cole. I turn and face him, running a hand through my brown hair, staring into his dark blue eyes as he flips his black hair out of his face, a blush filling his normally pale cheeks.

“So, you heard my two main kinks huh,” I ask, looking away from him.

“Uh, yeah...And you heard mine.”

“Yup! So, i wonder if those two are gonna plot a way to get us together,” I say, changing the subject slightly, nodding towards Alix and Cole. He chuckles.

“It wouldn’t surprise me, to be honest,” Sebastian says.

“Yeah, those two scheme to much for everyone’s good,” I say with a giggle.

“Wanna save them the trouble,” Sebastian asks me, staring straight into my hazel eyes. My mouth drops open slightly.

“W-what,” I ask, greatly confused. He chuckles and pecks my nose.

“You’re adorable.” I blush, close my mouth, scrunch my nose, and try to look at it. He chuckles again. I pout. He stares at my lips, and I blush, about to open my mouth to say something, when he leans in and kisses me. I gasp, and he slips his tongue into my mouth, exploring the wet cavern. I pull away and narrow my eyes at him.

“What. Was. That,” I say, deathly quiet. His eyes widen, and he gulps, realizing he made a mistake.

“A kiss,” he says, slowly, almost questioningly.

“Without my consent?” He nods, very, very slowly.

“Why,” I asks.

“Because...I wanted to kiss you?”

“Not good enough…”

“And I figured it would speed our relationship along?”

“What relationship?”

“The one I’m asking you to start with me?”

“So, you’re asking me to be your girlfriend, correct?”

“Yes…” I grin.

“Okay then!” He stares at me.

“That’s it?”

“Yup!”

“But, you just,” he says, waving his hands around.

“Just what,” I ask with a cute head tilt. He stares at me.

“Never mind,” he mumbles. I giggle then glare at him.

“What,” he asks.

“You’re supposed to be watching for Aracnias.” His eyes widen.

“Oh crap,” he exclaims, running back to where we all decided to set up the watch area. I grin.

‘I am the leader it seems,’ I think to myself with a slight giggle, before climbing into bed and falling asleep.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Haley Sandoval

I’m a young writer who’s hoping to hit it big one day, as I’ve enjoyed writing since my 6th grade when my English teacher had us write our first short story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.