Horror logo

Antique Mirror

A Haunted mirror

By Fardy LeePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Antique Mirror
Photo by Jilbert Ebrahimi on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. I gasped, staring at the image before me. It was like looking at a stranger, and yet, it was undeniably me. The same brown hair, the same hazel eyes, the same pale skin. But there was something off about the reflection. Something that made my heart race and my skin crawl.

The eyes were darker, almost black, and the expression was twisted into a malevolent smirk. I stepped closer to the mirror, reaching out to touch the glass. But as my fingers brushed the surface, I felt a jolt of electricity run through my body, and I stumbled back, gasping.

That was when I realized that the mirror was haunted.

I tried to ignore it at first, telling myself that it was just my imagination. But the longer I looked into the mirror, the more I began to see. Shadows moved behind me in the reflection, flickering in and out of view. The background changed, showing a distorted version of my own room, filled with twisted and broken objects.

And then there were the whispers. Soft, insidious whispers that I could barely make out, but that chilled me to the bone. I couldn't tell what they were saying, but they seemed to be coming from inside the mirror itself.

I started to avoid the mirror, but it was like a magnet, pulling me back in every time. I couldn't resist the urge to look, to see what new horrors it would reveal.

And then, one day, it showed me something that changed everything.

In the reflection, I saw a woman. She was beautiful, with long black hair and piercing green eyes. She looked just like me, but different, somehow. More confident, more powerful. And she was holding a book, bound in black leather, with strange symbols etched into the cover.

As I watched, the woman began to read from the book, her voice soft and melodic. And then, something strange began to happen. The background of the reflection began to bleed into my own room. Shadows coalesced into tangible forms, twisted and misshapen creatures that slithered and writhed on the ground.

I tried to turn away, to run, but I was frozen in place. The creatures were getting closer, their foul stench filling the room. And then, just when I thought it was over, the woman spoke again.

"Join me," she said, her voice filled with a dark, seductive power. "Together, we can rule this world and the one beyond."

And then, just like that, she was gone. The creatures disappeared, the shadows receded, and the reflection returned to its normal state. But I knew that something had changed. Something had been set in motion that couldn't be undone.

Over the next few days, I started to see changes in the world around me. At first, it was just little things. Objects in my room would move when I wasn't looking, strange noises would echo through the halls. But as time went on, the changes became more pronounced.

The sky outside was always overcast, even on the sunniest of days. The people I passed on the street looked at me with fear and suspicion, as if they knew something I didn't. And at night, I could hear voices whispering to me in the darkness, telling me things I couldn't understand.

I knew that the mirror was the cause of all of this. But I didn't know how to stop it. Every time I tried to confront it, it would show me something new, something even more terrifying than before.

And then, one night, I saw her again. The woman from the reflection. She was standing behind me, Just Like before.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.