Horror logo

Above The Tides

Making a broadcast for others to hear is a gamble. But it's one that Leigh has to make.

By Raphael FontenellePublished about a month ago 3 min read
Above The Tides
Photo by Cole Patrick on Unsplash

Leigh Englehardt: If there's anyone out there, I need your help. My supplies are running low. And my weapons are too dull to protect me anymore.

Leigh Englehardt: They're getting closer to my hiding spot. Some seem to have gotten my scent. I'm scared to speak any louder.

Leigh Englehardt: Please, anyone. Anyone please come and get me. Before they try to break down my door-

There are several loud knocks on the bedroom door. Just that and nothing else. It goes on for at least two minutes. But we don't hear any footsteps. Or even a word. Not even from Leigh. All there is, is silence. Along with Leigh's barely stifled breathing as she sits in her chair. This goes on for a few minutes. Then we hear loud footsteps moving away from the door.

Leigh Englehardt:*was worried that whatever that was would come back so she whispers* If there's anyone out there, anyone at all. Please come rescue me.

Leigh Englehardt:*still whispering and choking back tears* I don't want to be killed like this...please come help me.

Leigh Englehardt:*sobbing very quietly* Please...I believe there's still some good in the world...that humanity isn't just out for themselves.

Leigh Englehardt: Prove me right. I'm hiding in a bedroom in a house on Maine street. It's 4397. The room is in the back of the house. I've covered the windows with wooden boards.

Leigh Englehardt: I've shoved a big dresser against the door. If anyone shows up, knock six times in a row. Then shout your name.

Leigh takes a shuddery breath. Then goes completely quiet for a moment. As if listening for something. There weren't any footsteps coming closer or any other noises. She breathed a sigh of audiable relief.

Leigh Englehardt: They seem to go out only at night. During the day, they hide somewhere in town. I've only got a few hours to get food and other supplies.

Leigh Englehardt: I'll be leaving out for two hours.

Leigh Englehardt: If you're in Belfast, I'll be scavenging the old Walgreens. I promise I'll share whatever I can find. Just, just please come.

________________________________

Leigh Englehardt:*panting a little as she had to run a huge part of the way there* I had to go another route back. They were clogging up the main road that I normally take.

Leigh Englehardt: Which took me longer to get back than I anticipated. For a moment, I thought they were going to get me.

Leigh Englehardt: I think I heard a few of them a couple blocks away. But I'm not entirely sure...

Leigh Englehardt: To be safe, I shoved my bed and desk against the door.

Leigh Englehardt: My run was pretty good. Got some supplies to last a few more days.

Leigh Englehardt: Let me repeat that, a few more days. Not enough for a week or longer, but a few days. I still need help out here. They've tried to break into my hiding place for days now. There's no way I can fend them off if they finally manage to.

There are sounds of footsteps outside the room once more. Coupled with strange moaning noises that are unintelligible. Sounding loud outside the bedroom door. For a long moment, they're all we can hear. It would seem that whatever it was would either be there for a while. Or possibly break into the room. And as we listen, the moans dwindle. But there's no footsteps to indicate that they're leaving. Then, after a long agonizing moment, the footsteps are finally moving away from the bedroom door.

Leigh Englehardt:*once she's sure the things are far enough away, whispers* There's no way I can live like this forever. If there's anyone who can come get me, please.

Leigh Englehardt: I'll pull my own weight, I promise. I'm good with a bow and arrow. So far, I've managed to down at least thirty-nine of these rotting monsters with arrows I've made. Please, please, come help me.

Leigh Englehardt:*takes a shuddery breath* I'm going to make myself something to eat. Then lay down for a couple of hours. Again, I'm on Maine street, back of the house in a bedroom. The house's number is 4397.

Leigh Englehardt: Please come and get me...please...

monsterfiction

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Sweileh 888about a month ago

    Interesting and delicious content. Keep posting more

Raphael FontenelleWritten by Raphael Fontenelle

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.