Horror logo

A Thrilling Journey through my Fear!

A walkthrough of how I overcame fear

By Sailey ShawPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1

Most of us are scared of something. Whether it’s a fear of heights, the dark, or spiders, it’s something that holds us back in life. But what happens when we decide to face our fears head on? That’s exactly what I did. I faced my fear of scary movies, and it changed my life. It was a thrilling journey, and I'm here to share my story with you.

In this blog post, I'm going to take you on my journey of overcoming fear. I'll talk about what motivated me to face my fear and how it impacted my life. I'll also discuss the power of horror films and provide tips for overcoming fear. So, let’s get started!

My Story of Overcoming Fear

I’ve been scared of scary movies since I was a kid. I remember being so scared after watching a horror film that I couldn’t sleep at night. I was so scared that I even refused to go to sleepovers where scary movies were playing.

As I got older, I realized that my fear of scary movies was hindering my social life. I was missing out on a lot of fun experiences because I was too scared to watch them. I finally decided that it was time to face my fear and push myself out of my comfort zone.

The Impact of Scary Movies

Before I decided to face my fear, I decided to do some research on scary movies. I learned that horror films have been around since the 1930s, when Universal Pictures released “Dracula” and “Frankenstein”. Since then, horror films have become a popular genre, with dozens of films being released every year.

I also learned that horror films have a powerful impact on viewers. They can evoke a range of emotions, from fear and anxiety to excitement and adrenaline. This is why horror films can be so thrilling and why they have become so popular.

How I Faced My Fear

Now that I knew more about scary movies, I decided to take the plunge and watch one. I started small, watching a PG-13 horror film. I was nervous, but I kept watching. Surprisingly, I wasn’t as scared as I thought I would be. I actually enjoyed the experience.

Encouraged by my success, I decided to move on to more intense horror films. I watched a few R-rated horror films and, to my surprise, I was still able to handle them. I even found myself looking forward to watching them.

The Benefits of Overcoming Fear

Facing my fear of scary movies had a profound effect on my life. Not only did I become less scared of watching horror films, but I also became less scared of other things in life. I realized that if I could face my fear of horror films, I could face any fear.

This newfound confidence also had a positive effect on my social life. I was no longer scared to go to sleepovers and watch scary movies with my friends. I even began to invite them to watch horror films with me. It was a great way to bond with my friends and have fun.

The Power of Horror Films

When I started watching horror films, I realized that they weren’t all about scaring people. I noticed that horror films often have underlying themes about human nature and the darker side of life. They can be thought-provoking and can even be used to explore difficult topics.

I also noticed that horror films can be a great escape from reality. They can take us to a place where anything is possible. It’s a thrilling ride that can leave us feeling scared and exhilarated at the same time.

My Experience With Horror Movies

I’ve come a long way since my first horror film. I’ve watched dozens of horror films and even hosted my own horror movie nights. I’ve found that horror films are an excellent way to bond with friends and family. They can also be a great way to confront our fears and learn more about ourselves.

I’ve also become more open-minded and less judgmental. I’ve come to understand that everyone is scared of something and that it’s perfectly normal. I’ve also become more patient and understanding of other people’s fears.

The Thrill of Horror Films

The thing I love most about horror films is the thrill. There’s something exciting about watching a horror film and not knowing what’s going to happen next. It’s an adrenaline-fueled ride that can leave you feeling scared and exhilarated at the same time.

I’ve also come to appreciate the artistry of horror films. I’ve come to understand that horror films are more than just blood and gore. They often have complex storylines and characters that can be relatable and even inspiring.

Tips for Overcoming Fear

If you’re scared of something, I encourage you to face your fear head on. Here are a few tips that have helped me:

  • Set a goal. Identify a specific fear that you want to overcome and set a goal for yourself. This can help you stay motivated and focused.
  • Take small steps. Start small and gradually increase the intensity. This will help you build confidence and stay in control.
  • Ask for help. Talk to friends and family about your fear. They can provide support and encouragement.
  • Keep an open mind. Don’t be too hard on yourself. Remember that everyone is scared of something and it’s perfectly normal.

Facing my fear of scary movies was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. It changed my life in ways I never imagined and gave me a newfound appreciation for horror films. I’ve also become more confident and open-minded. So, if you’re scared of something, I encourage you to face your fear head on. It may seem scary at first, but it can be incredibly rewarding. You may even find yourself looking forward to the thrill.

supernaturalpsychologicalhow to
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.