Horror logo

A Story About The Skeleton

Discovering the skeleton story

By Nagmus SaqibPublished 4 months ago 4 min read

There was a whole skeleton hanging on the wall of the room next to the room where we three childhood friends used to sleep. His bones rattled in the night air. During the day, we had to shake that bone. We then studied Meghnadvadh with Pandit Mahashay and osteology with a student from Campbell School. It was the desire of our guardian to make us proficient in all knowledge. How far his intention has succeeded is needless to reveal to those who know us and better to conceal from those who do not.

A long time has passed since then. In the meantime, where the skeleton has moved from that room and the skeleton from our head, it is not known by searching.

After a while, one night I had to sleep in that room due to some other reason. Not sleeping due to habit. The big bells on the church clock rang almost to and fro. At that time, the oil lamp that was burning in the corner of the room took about five minutes to eat. Earlier, two accidents happened in our house. So taking this light easily reminded me of death. It seemed that in the two hours of the night, a lamp flame merged into eternal darkness, just as it is with nature, and the small flames of human beings were suddenly extinguished and forgotten, sometimes during the day and sometimes during the night.

I gradually remembered that skeleton. While imagining about his life, suddenly it seemed that a conscious substance was touching the wall of the room in the dark and moving around my mosquito net. The sound of its frequent breathing was heard. As if he were looking for something, he couldn't find it and circled the room at a faster pace. I must have realized that the imagination of my recently sleepless, warm brain and the blood rushing through my head sounded like fast words. But I still started to pretend. In order to forcefully break this unnecessary fear, I said, "Someone!" Footsteps came to a halt near my mosquito, and I heard a reply, “Me. I'm looking for where that skeleton of mine went."

I thought there was nothing to be afraid of about my imaginary creation. I gripped the side pillow tightly and said in a very simple tone, like a familiar one, "You have done quite a job this afternoon and night. So, you need that skeleton now?"

In the darkness, the answer came from very close to the mosquito: “Say what? My chest bone was in it. My 26-year-old youth that had grown up around him—doesn't he want to take a look?”

I immediately said, “Yes, that is correct. So, you go looking for it. I try to get some sleep.”

He said, “You are alone? But sit a little. Let's talk a little. 35 years ago, I also used to sit near people and talk with them. For these 35 years, I have only been humming in the crematorium air. Today I will sit near you and talk like a human being once again."

I felt who sat near my mosquito net. Looking at Nirupa, I said with quite a bit of enthusiasm, “That's good. so that the mind becomes quite cheerful and tells a story.”

He said, "If you want to hear the funniest thing, tell me about my life."

The church clock chimed two times.

“When I was human and young, I used to fear a man like Yama. He is my husband, and I used to feel the same way he feels when catching a fish with a fishing rod. In other words, it is as if a completely unknown creature is pulling me from my sweet, deep birth pool with a sword—there is no escape from its hands. After two months of marriage, my husband died, and my relatives mourned me a lot. My father-in-law saw many signs and said to his mother-in-law, "She is the girl who is called poison in the scriptures." I remember that clearly. How do you feel?”

I said, “Fine. The beginning of the story is quite interesting.”

“But listen. I returned to my father's house happily. Gradually, age came home. People tried to hide it from me, but I knew very well that beauty like mine is nowhere to be found. What do you think?”

“Very possible. But I have never seen you.”

"Don't see. why. My skeleton. Hee hee hee! I'm kidding. How can I prove to you that between those two empty eye sockets there were two large black eyes, and the soft smile that was smeared on the colored lips is nothing compared to the fierce smile of the now exposed teeth? And on those long, dry bones, so much beauty, so much beauty, so hard, tender, soft perfection of youth Bloom'd every day, to tell you it makes you laugh and rage? Even the great doctors of that time did not believe that orthopedics could be learned from my body. I know a doctor called me a concubine for a special friend of his. It means that all the people in the world were models of anatomy and physiology; only I was like a beautiful flower. Is there a skeleton in the shell?

footage

About the Creator

Nagmus Saqib

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Test4 months ago

    I could feel the atmosphere in my bones.🤣🤣🤣

Nagmus SaqibWritten by Nagmus Saqib

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.