Horror logo

A Short Review of 'Midsommar' (2019, Ari Aster)

One of the most unique, original and intense films of 2019. Absolutely incredible.

By Craig YorkPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Before we go into details, I should highlight, if you go to see this film, do not expect a truly scary horror film, because this isn't that. It is a highly intense, disturbing, psychological thriller and drama, with significant elements of humour and heavy connotations of folk horror, displaying a truly, strangely beautiful pagan nightmare. At the same time, it acts as a highly emotional and feminist story of an emotionally fragile and depressed woman having to deal with a bitter family loss and escape the clutches of an emotionally abusive relationship, fueled by the misogynistic and culturally insensitive opinions of some of the other characters.

As you can probably tell from the opening of this review, I loved Midsommar. I, in fact, adored it. I found it to be a highly complex film with a high range and mix of emotional weaponry. I was shocked, I laughed, I cringed, I cried, I felt disturbed, and I even, surprisingly, at significant points, felt genuine happiness, which then was engulfed by dreaded horror. This film made me feel a huge multitude of emotions. As soon as I came out of the cinema, every second of my brains bio-electronic functions was preoccupied with processing and analysing this truly unique experience. It was like taking drugs, without the health risk!

The film is eerily similar to The Wicker Man (1973, Robin Hardy). In both, theres is a creepy and disturbing atmosphere, but also, in its method of applying a light, there is an almost optimistic inviting aesthetic to lull the audience into a false sense of security and disguise the true nightmare within. This method was very well applied and was complimented even further by the films cinematography, which I found to be visually beautiful and perfectly complimented the films atmosphere.

For those who have read my review of Ari Aster's first film, Hereditary (2018, Ari Aster), you'll know that I was personally disappointed with it. I very much enjoyed the first half but found the finale was spoilt for me due the drastic change in the film's tone. With Midsommar, I found nothing like that. The films tone was kept consistent throughout, and the story fully came round to a truly satisfying conclusion, even with the added elements of humour.

Now believe it or not, the humour element genuinely made me laugh and lulled me into a false sense of security, because straight after I would be shocked and disturbed by the nightmarish sights I saw. It became a heavy apprehensive mix of genuinely amused laughter and nervous laughter. I could not predict which would come next. The humour perfectly blended into the story and horror elements, not in the least bit ruining the viewing experience I had. If anything, it has made the film even more unique and filled with emotional complexity, which in itself is a heavy theme present within the story.

This was further emphasised through the well done acting and the writing behind the characters. You feel deep sympathy for the main character and the situation she is in, and this is further emphasised through the cult members who support her, who even go as far as to grieve with her, unlike her emotionally manipulative boyfriend and his two other friends. They act in a very huge degree of insensitiveness and reactionism towards the commune's traditions and culture, even before the horrific element becomes apparent, very similar to Edward Woodward's character in The Wicker Man, adding even greater to the ironic and poetic story.

The brilliant performances of these very real characters, coupled with the well-crafted writing and stunning visual style, creates a truly unique, fantasy-like nightmare. That acts as both a perfect homage to folk horror and a commentary on the significant and complex issues of one's own emotions. I am seriously glad that I saw it; it is definitely one of the best films of recent years I have seen. It is film that left me both happy and fulfilled but also disturbed and horrified at its climax.

I cannot think of many other films that have left me in that state of mind.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Craig York

A film nut job who one day got bored and decided to write some film reviews.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.