Horror logo

A Minor Man

Who is he?

By Don Anderson IIPublished 6 years ago 16 min read
Like

He's sitting in a booth at a diner. He's wearing a black t-shirt with blue jeans and a pair of black Converse. The waitress approaches him with a pot of coffee and asks, "More coffee for you, darlin'?" The man nods and smiles. He nudges his cup to her. She pours some coffee for him. The man says, "Thank you, beautiful," as he winks at her while she leaves his booth.

He takes a sip of coffee and pulls out a pack of Marlboro cigarettes from his pocket with some matches. He puts a cigarette to his lips and strikes his match but before it can touch his cigarette, a cook in the kitchen stops him.

"Hey, pal, no smoking in here," said the cook.

The man smiles, blows out his match, and puts his cigarette away before taking another sip of his coffee. A car pulls up to the diner, a black 1969 Ford Mustang GT. A man gets out of the car. He walks into the diner and goes to the man in the booth.

"Took you long enough, mate," said the man in the booth.

He has an American accent but his British accent comes out sometimes since he spent a lot of time in London growing up and speaks in British slang sometimes.

"Oh, I'm sorry, Max. Remind me to pick up your cigarettes next time you decide to stay out late... again," said the man. He's American, his voice is deep and rough, presumably in his late 40s.

"Relax, mate, I have a pack already," said Max as he grabs a napkin and a pen from his pocket. He puts a $20 bill on the table.

"You found a waitress again, have you?" asked the man.

"Yeah and she's a dear, Simon," said Max as he finishes writing.

He finishes his coffee before leaving with Simon. The waitress goes to get the cash after the guys leave and she sees his message, "Check your pocket, love. Hope to see you again sometime" with a wink face. She checks her pocket on her apron and pulls out a $5 bill.

"No way. He didn't even move his hands!" exclaimed the waitress.

Max asks Simon as they get in the car, "So what news hit while I was drinking coffee?"

"Apparently, a girl in town knows who you are and what you can do," said Simon.

"Really? You got a name?" Asked Max.

Simon drives and says, "Karen Adler."

Karen wakes up in bed. She sleeps naked. Her long, scarlet hair is a mess and she runs her fingers through her hair downward repeatedly before it looks presentable; she puts on a bra and tank top with a pair of shorts. She goes to her dresser and looks at drawings of a man she did who looks just like Max.

Karen asks herself as she looks at the drawings, "Who are you? Why are you in my head so much?"

She grabs a strawberry Pop Tart and turns on her TV—the news is on and they talk about a man who's been doing unbelievable things where he goes like when he stopped an apparent "hallucinogen" drug that was airborne and it was causing people to see monsters and when he apparently stopped the possession of a woman who tried to kill her baby, they show a sketch of the man and it looks like Max but it looks nothing like Karen's drawing. A knock on the door startles her so she answers the door and it's her best friend, Jake.

Jake walks in and says, "Hey, beautiful, you ready to go?"

Karen, still intrigued by the news of Max, says, "Uhhh... Yeah... Hey, did you hear about this guy on the news?"

"Yeah, he was at the diner that my friend works at this morning and he left a tip with a waitress without moving his hands," said Jake.

Karen goes to her dresser to get a shirt and she grabs a drawing of Max; she shows it to Jake as she's putting her t-shirt on.

"Is this the guy?" asked Jake.

"Yeah. He's been in my head for a whole year and I just draw him," said Karen.

"Damn, I didn't know you can draw," said Jake.

"I didn't, either. It's like I was there with him," said Karen.

"We'll talk more about this later but right now, we gotta go. We're running late," said Jake.

She grabs her jacket and puts on her Van's and says, "Go ahead, Jake, I'll meet you outside."

Jake goes outside. Karen grabs her keys but she looks at the drawings one more time.

She grabs a drawing while she's leaving and says, "Ugh! Something tells me I won't regret this."

Objects fly around the room. Max has his hands on a little Japanese girl. He's trying to get rid of whatever it is that's been keeping this girl as a prisoner of her own body. It's putting up a fight. The girl even bites his arm. He yanks his arm back and shakes the pain off. He notices she's shouting something in a language that Max has heard before.

"Oh, no, you don't, lamb. I may taste good but you're not my age," said Max.

He shouts something in the same language as her. She stops moving and looks at him in familiarity. An evil smile wipes across her face.

"Hi. It's Max Williams, love. I'm sure you remember me," said Max.

She speaks in the language but Max knows what she's saying. "You can't hide on Earth forever. If one of us doesn't find you, Master will."

"Yeah. I'll be waiting for you," said Max.

He shouts a prayer in Latin and black smoke exits her mouth; the girl is normal again. Her parents rush in the room, the girl is crying, and her parents comfort her when Max gets off of her. Simon comes in; he gives him his cigarettes and matches. The dad of the little girl goes to Max, shakes his hand as he bows to him as well.

"Thank you, thank you so much, thank you so much, Max," said the dad.

"Don't mention it, mate. As long as your little girl is safe," said Max as he puts a cigarette to his lips but before the dad can say anything, "Don't worry. I'll take this outside."

The dad smiles and goes back to the girl. Max and Simon go outside. "So how'd it go?" asked Simon.

"I'm enjoying a fag after I saved a little girl from another minion. What do you think?" said Max as he lights it and takes a puff.

"So why a Japanese girl?" asked Simon.

"I don't know. Good question though but they take any body for a spin as long as I'm nearby," said Max. He knows this question is going to keep him awake at night.

"I thought Japanese girls scared you," said Simon.

"They do. You just didn't tell me what I was dealing with," said Max.

"I forgot," said Simon as he laughs it off.

Max flicks his cigarette at Simon but he knows Simon loves giving him a hard time. Before they leave, Max goes inside and places a protection spell on the house by lighting an old rag and chanting in Latin. After he finishes, he carves two crossed spears on the front door, both inside and outside.

"Don't worry about paying, mate. Your little girl will be fine and that's payment enough for me," said Max.

"Thank you so much, I'm just happy she's back," replied the dad.

"The number is on the back," said Max as he hands him a card.

"It says 'Master of Black Magic'," replied the dad.

"I'm working on getting new ones," said Max.

Max and Simon go to the car. Simon takes Max's pack of cigarettes and says as he takes a cigarette, "For the one you flicked at me."

They get in the car as Simon lights his cigarette. He starts the car and drives off while Max rests his arm on the door. He's deep in thought. Simon can clearly see what's bugging him so he tries to start a conversation with him.

"Alright, you're usually never this quiet. You always have random thoughts to talk about," said Simon.

Max knows he's right but the little girl he saved reminded him of his sister. He takes Simon's cigarette and smokes it. His mind is at ease a little now.

"I'm thinking about my sister, Simon—her birthday would've been tomorrow if she was still here," said Max.

Simon knew Max's sister years ago when Max was a child and he forgot about her birthday. He says, "Oh, shit, man. She would've been the same age as the girl you saved, would she?"

Max takes another puff and says, "Yeah and all she wanted was for all of this to end." He remembers what his sister wanted from him. "She specifically wanted me to get away from it all but Dad got me in somehow after Mom died."

Simon asks him, "So what do you think will happen when all of this is over?"

"Well, either Dad gets me or I die slowly before he gets me. Either way, he'll definitely get me," replied Max as he takes one more puff and passes it back to Simon.

"What do you plan on doing in the meantime?" Simon asks.

"Keep doing what I've been doing. Impress a few waitresses while I clean up some of Dad's mess," said Max.

Karen and Jake walk out of a coffee shop. Karen is eating apple slices while Jake is drinking a hot chocolate with apple slices.

"There's no way that those two go well together," said Karen.

"Hey, don't get mad at me because you don't know anything amazing," replied Jake.

"There's nothing amazing about a cup of hot chocolate and some apple slices," said Karen as she sips her hot chocolate. She feels a headache coming so she massages her temple.

"You okay? You need some aspirin?" Asked Jake.

"No, I'm fine. I just need to relax," replied Karen.

"Use the couch when we go back to work. I doubt the boss is going to say anything," said Jake.

Karen and Jake get in the car, it's Jake's car. He drives a red 1969 Ford Mustang. Karen sits in the passenger seat and takes one more sip before sleeping. Jake drives back to work—they work at a place that's like a daycare and it's near a church. By the time they make it back to work, the headache is a little more intense for Karen so she goes to the relaxing room and lays down on the couch. She grabs a pencil with a few sheets of blank printer paper. Her headache makes her draw something and it looks like it's Max again.

Karen asks herself again but she's irritated now, "Ugh! There you are again. Why can't I get you out of my head?!"

"Hey, I got you some water and some asp--" said Jake as he walks it but he noticed Karen drawing. He puts the water and aspirin down. He goes to Karen.

"Karen, what're you doing?" asked Jake.

"I don't know. My headache wouldn't stop bugging me," replied Karen.

"So you draw?" asked Jake.

"I guess so," replied Karen.

Jake grabs her hand to stop her from drawing and says, "Well, you gotta stop, Karen. I'm already worried about you."

"Wait, I think I notice what I'm drawing," said Karen.

She notices there's a bar nearby where she drew Max, "The Tavern." She looks at Jake and an idea forms in her head. She has an unsure look but this might be the only way for her to get Max out of her head. Jake already has his answer.

"No way, Karen," said Jake.

"We gotta go, Jake. I gotta see who this guy is," says Karen.

"You don't know him. All you know is that he does magic and you draw him. He might be a serial killer or something," said Jake.

"That's a risk I'm going to have to take, then. He might have answers for my headaches or something," said Karen.

"But what if he doesn't?" asked Jake.

"I'll figure it out," replied Karen.

"Fine but I'll see what you're doing," said Jake.

It's nighttime. Max is still wearing the same thing but he has a black jacket on that's halfway zipped up to his chest. He's walking to an alley near The Tavern. He takes out a rag from his pocket in his jeans and Simon's lighter. He wraps the rag around his hand, places the lighter under the rag, and puts his hands in his pockets in his jacket. He walks into the alley—not too far behind him, Karen shows up. Max stops in the alley, a group of people come out of the bar. One of them notices Max, he's wearing a fedora and he applauds while he laughs a little.

"Well, well, well... if it isn't Max Williams. To what do I owe the pleasure?" asked the man as Max turns around.

"I was just passing through, needed to take a walk after a rough day I had," replied Max.

Karen comes closer but still manages to keep her distance by hiding behind an old car. The people surround Max while the man walks to him. He's holding a smile when he approaches Max.

"You had a rough day, huh? I find that hard to believe. The spectacular Max Williams having a bad day," said the man.

"Well, everyone including the amazing father of mine can have a bad day and he had a lot more than I did," said Max.

"So do you have what I need?" asked the man.

"Yeah, it's in the bar. You just can't see it," replied Max. He prepares the lighter in his pocket. "Did you look where your favorite drink is?" asked Max.

"Bullshit. You don't even know what my favorite drink is," replied the man.

"Oh, really? You want to play that game with me? I may not have been here in the last four years but I still remember your favorite drink," said Max.

"I don't have time for your games! Where is my Balor's eye?" asked the man.

"It's in the bar. I already told you," replied Max.

The man signals the guys to move in on Max. Max smiles and lights his hand on fire. He gives fire to his other hand and spreads his arms. Everyone backs away.

"You want the Balor's eye? You're asking for a world of trouble. I told you that it's in the bar," said Max.

Karen covers her mouth. She can't believe what she's witnessing. It's really the guy from her drawings.

"Now if I were you, I'd go inside and get that goddamn eye so I can destroy it," says Max.

"How? You don't even know where it is," said the man.

Max looks at him in disappointment. He tosses fire at the man's feet but the man moves his feet. "Are you out of your mind, kid?!" exclaimed the man.

"Yeah, I am. Now we're all going inside since you want the eye so bad," said Max. He goes in the bar with everyone. Karen comes out of her hiding spot.

"Whoa... Max Williams, huh? How did you manage to creep in my head?" asked Karen.

She waits for him to come out. About 45 minutes later, Jake pulls up in his car nearby. He gets out of his car and runs to Karen.

"Karen, what're you doing out here?!" asked Jake.

"Getting answers, Jake. He's not a killer, at least not from what I've been seeing," replied Karen.

"He's probably showing what you want to see," said Jake.

Karen is tired of waiting but she doesn't want to leave because this may be the only time she might get close to him and the headaches might stop if he has answers. She knows Jake is looking out for her but she knows that she can't leave without knowing about her headaches. The man comes out of the bar and notices Karen and Jake.

"Hey, what're you guys doing here?" asked the man.

"We were just leaving, man," replied Jake.

"Where's that guy who had his hands on fire?" asked Karen.

"Why? Are you a narc or something?" replied the man.

"No, but I just want to—" says Karen before the man cuts her off.

"Then, who cares where he is. You don't got any business or not getting drinks, get outta here," said the man.

"It's fine, man. We're gone," said Jake as he grabs Karen's hand.

They leave. Jake stays with Karen at her place. Karen lays down on her bed. Jake sits by her. She lets out an exasperated sigh. Jake is trying to think of something to say.

"Thanks for helping me, Jake, but what the hell were you thinking?" asked Karen.

"I was thinking I didn't want you to die or get raped or even get stuck in some shit that you can't get out of," said Jake.

Karen sits up and takes her shirt off since she's going to bed but she wants to finish her conversation with Jake first.

"Jake, I don't know where these headaches come from and these aren't normal. You've seen them. I need you to understand that I might get answers from this guy," said Karen.

Jake hesitates for a minute to think, he says, "Okay, so maybe he isn't a killer or anything but what if he has someone? What if he's the kind of guy that knows how to do set ups?"

"Do you have any other ideas?" Asked Karen.

Jake tries to answer but even he knows the answer to that question. He puts his hands on his head in stress and taps his head a little. Karen goes to him and stops him from doing that by holding his arms to his sides.

"Ugh! Fine, but I'm going with you," says Jake.

"Okay," said Karen as she smiles.

"I just don't want anything to happen to you, Karen. You're my best friend and I'll be damned before some guy you saw tries to take you away," said Jake.

He gives her a hug. They both go to sleep. Jake sleeps on the floor while Karen sleeps on the bed. The next morning, they're at the coffee shop before they go to work. Karen stays in the shop after Jake gets his order.

"Hey, Karen, I'll be in the car," said Jake.

"Okay, I'll be out in a sec," said Karen.

When she gets her hot chocolate, she goes outside to go to the car but ends up bumping into a guy wearing a red shirt with a black pair of jeans and a pair of black and white Converse.

"Oh, I'm sorry, man," says Karen.

"Don't worry about it, Karen," said the man.

She looks at him and it's Max. Jake sees this and he gets out of the car in a flash to help Karen.

As he rushes to Karen's aid, he says, "Don't you touch her, man."

"Oh, relax, hotshot. I'm not going to hurt your friend. I knew you were there last night, Karen," said Max.

"What do you want, man?" asked Jake.

"Nothing, really. I just want to figure out why Karen followed me last night before we go our separate ways," replied Max. Karen looks at Max in astonishment with a hint of fear.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Don Anderson II

Movies, memoirs, music lover, graduate of community college, and university

Quiet writer but I'm sure my stories from years ago are still of interest

Tips are welcomed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.