Horror logo

A Bad Experience At The Jellico Cemetery

"We don't belong there until it's our rightful time."

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Back on October 15, 2019, my girlfriend thought it would be a good idea to take me to the Jellico Cemetery to see the graves of my great grandparents. I was never able to meet them in life and had always wanted to feel a connection to them.

It was a week before my birthday, as one of my presents she had planned this trip for me. I am also really into the supernatural, so I was really excited visiting being as I had heard rumors about the cemetery being haunted. I live just outside of Knoxville and even this far away I have heard people talk about the Jellico Cemetery. Supposedly it's not only haunted, but if you come across the old grave of a certain solider, it's cursed.

We left that Saturday at about 5:00p.m. I live about an hour and a half away, we had planned on leaving much earlier but things kept coming up and delaying us. When we arrived, we parked across from the cemetery at the car wash, then walked across (there is nowhere to park other than there, at least not that we could find.)

As we got closer to the gate, it started to feel really odd. It was about 42 degrees that evening and it started raining, so we hurried it up and took as many pictures as we could. My girlfriend was also video recording on her phone. (at the time I didn't know that she was making a video for me).

While we were there, we noticed a really bizarre feeling of being watched, and I kept getting the feeling something was breathing down my neck. I even turned around to see who was behind me several times and the hair would literally stand up on my neck. I had never felt so creeped out before. We decided to leave after being there about 20 minutes. The experience just wasn't feeling right. I had this overwhelming feeling that something bad was going to happen. I had never had that feeling before.

Once we got to the car, I replayed all of our footage. I almost literally had a heart attack at what I heard. I heard a voice whisper "get out". At one point in the video I said to my girlfriend, "take a picture of me next to this stone." Then you hear, almost in a taunting manner, "yessss". The really freaky stuff started happening after we got home.

That night, (now keep in mind, I am extremely healthy, and I never get sick.) I felt perfect that day and out of nowhere that night, I got a bad cough and sore throat. I had coughed so much that my chest felt like it was on fire. It hurt to talk or even to breathe. There is no way possible that I could get that sick so fast, for being outside, dressed as warm as I was, (2 shirts, a hoodie and a jacket) for 20 only minutes.

Anyway, the next morning, when my girlfriend came over, I was worse. I had a fever of about 102, I was so sick that I could barely move. I took her advice and went to the UT Hospital in Knoxville. Other than the obvious, they couldn't find anything wrong with me. My blood work was all clear. After my fever broke I was sent home and told to get plenty of rest.

We got a few interesting pictures on camera. The best one seemed to be a full body apparition of a woman wearing a long, flowing dress standing right beside of a grave. This wasn't smoke or fog, if it wasn't a ghost then I don't know what else it could be.

After that ordeal, things only got worse. About a month after that, we moved into an apartment together and after only two months, we were in a bad car accident. Our car was totaled and my girlfriend had a broken rib and received 18 stitches.

A month after that, she lost her job for no reason, followed by me losing mine. No matter how many interviews we went on, we could not find a job! That whole year was bad luck. We got sick all the time with fevers, aches and cramps and vomiting. Eventually our doctor suggest that we have our apartment tested for carbon monoxide. We hired a professional to check everything, he found nothing, no leaks, no fumes, nothing. We went ahead and invested in a carbon monoxide detector anyway. It never made a sound. We lost our place after barely a year when our landlord suddenly informed everyone that he was moving out of state and was shutting down the building.

We had to move in with my parents, and it was months before we found work again. I know that is might sound ridiculous, but things got so bad that we went to visit a Psychic Advisor. She told me that I had a spirit attached to me and that it was making me ill and draining all of my energy. She also said that the spirit was moving back and forth between me and my girlfriend. Was this the explanation for our unexplained illnesses? The doctors wasn't able to find any plausible reasons. She suggested that we go see a priest to remove the spirit attachment. She didn't charge us for our session and wished us the best of luck. As we left she was lighting sage to clean our evil spirit and to purify her office. This was somewhat embarrassing but she was so certain that we was carrying around something negative.

A week later we was sitting with a priest and explaining our visit to the graveyard and what the psychic had warned us about. From everything that we told him, he agreed that it was very possible that we had picked up a spirit attachment from the cemetery. Although he didn't believe in psychics he admitted that he had helped several people who had the same problem after visiting graveyards and cemeteries. "It's a place for the dead to rest in peace" he said "the living have no business there until it's their rightful time."

After our visit with the priest things began to change for the better. Our illnesses vanished and our bad luck went with it. We both found amazing jobs and have not been sick with even a sniffle since.

I really believe the cemetery had something to with it. I will never go back there again. My friends want to, but I tell them they are nuts. There is something more to that place then people think. I never believed in curses, or anything like that, until this happened.

To all of you ghost hunters out there, I would highly recommend you never go there. That place is haunted, it's better to just leave those spirits in peace. They obviously don't want people there. As the priest said, "we don't belong there until it's our rightful time."

Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.