Horror logo

9 / 11

Trade center woker's prepective of 9 /11

By huzaifPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

It was a typical Tuesday morning at the World Trade Center. I remember it like it was yesterday. The air was crisp and cool, the sun was shining bright, and the hustle and bustle of the city was in full swing. As a financial advisor, I was used to the always-moving environment, but I could sense an odd energy in the air that day.

I had just arrived at the office on the 94th floor of the North Tower when I heard the sound of an explosion. At first, I assumed it was just a construction malfunction, but then the building started to shake. Everyone in the office panicked and started running towards the stairs.

I followed the crowd and made my way down the stairs, which was quite a journey, especially considering I worked on the 94th floor. The noise was deafening, with sounds of people screaming, glass shattering, and the building shaking under our feet.

Despite our fear, everyone seemed to be in a frenzy of determination, moving as quickly as possible without trampling one another. Everyone's face I saw looked unsure, terrified, but ultimately focused on getting out to safety.

The darkness of the stairwell seemed endless, but after what felt like hours, we finally emerged into a lobby filled with smoke and ash. It was hard to recognize the space; a scene of chaos engulfed the area that was once a bustling area of commerce. People were lying on the ground in shock, trying to find their bearings amidst the smoke and rubble.

The sight of a plane had crashed into one of the towers made it feel like the world had stopped. I couldn’t believe what I saw; the moment was surreal, almost like a scene out of a movie.

As the gravity of the situation began to unfold, I realized it was not an accident but a premeditated attack that changed everything forever. It still feels like a nightmare that I haven't woken up from.

The scale of the destruction was beyond comprehension; the escalating amount of death, injury, and destruction was staggering. The reality sunk in as we watched the buildings collapse in front of our eyes.

My mind tried to process the magnitude of this tragedy, the loss of life, the sacrifice of so many first responders, and the loss of my colleagues who remained in the building. I thought of the people left behind and the pieces of their lives that had been altered forever.

The next few days were an endless blur of chaos and catastrophe. Even after the events of September 11th, I made the choice to return to work. I could never forget the connections I had made with my colleagues, and there was so much work to be done.

Rebuilding meant not only physically rebuilding the ruins, but also rebuilding our emotions and sense of security. The building that I once worked in was no longer just a workplace with a simple purpose. It had become a symbol of a nation and people's freedom, resilience, and unity.

To this day, I can't forget the friends and colleagues I loss, the terror, and uncertainty of those days. I also can't forget the determination, selflessness, and compassion that filled those weeks and months that followed.

Those events shaped everything that we value in our country; our love and support for one another, our determination to stand strong and united. I will never forget that day, and I will never forget the lessons we learned from that tragic moment.

Now, years later, New York City has come back to life, people are working in the towers again, and we are moving forward, stronger and more dedicated than ever before. It took a while, but I’m slowly beginning to remember the towers for what they were, the place where I built my career, friendships and laughed, learned and cried with my colleagues.

While the memories of that day will always linger in our minds, we can take comfort in the fact that the people we lost that day will never be forgotten.

September 11th reminds us that, despite the tragedies and hardships we face, we are capable of healing, growing, and coming together as a nation. It's a day for remembering those that have been lost, cherishing the present, and looking forward to a brighter future.

tv reviewsupernaturalfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.