Horror logo

3 Creepy binge-worthy Films

Binge on my choice of a film with a creepy doll, a cursed book, and masked intruder

By Deej S.Published 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Picture by Awesome Jelly

2018 did not disappoint me with its horror movies. Movies like Winchester, Annihilation, Insidious, and The Quiet Place are not lacking in the jumping department and give quite a thrill for those with strong imaginations. I am most excited about the upcoming films like the Halloween reboot and The Nun ( I have yet to mosey over to my local cinema). As of lately, I have been binging on Netflix to find its hidden gems, and I, of course, landed right into Halloween heaven. I made my way from the genres of horror and thriller and have seen some creepy AF movies that will make any Scary Movie Buff proud to watch.

The Boy

Lauren Cohan as Greta Evans in The Boy

An American (Lauren Cohen of AMC's The Walking Dead) leaves her life of familiarity and becomes a nanny for the Heelshire family in England. Upon arrival, she learns her caregiving job is for a freakish doll. Finding it to be a complete joke, she disregards the rules of its mother (Mrs. Heelshire) and places herself in a high tense situation.

Nothing is creepier than dolls or children in a horror movie but put the two together, and it seems a recipe for a massive "WTF." Nothing could have surprised me more than the ending. I dont know about you, but I for sure would never babysit a doll. Not for a million dollars!

The Babadook

Noah Wiseman as Samuel in The Babadook

Widowed Amelia (Essie Davis of Assasin's Creed 2016) is dealt a heavy hand in life. Little Samuel tends to be high-maintenance and a bit of a mess. Reading a book left on their doorstep creates a fright no good mother would dare induce unto her child. I felt for Amelia 100% throughout the movie. Her exhaustion as a single mom? I felt that! Her child misbehaving the way he does? I have never dealt with a child menace, but like I always say, "boys will be boys." The thing is, as a single mother of a boy, this story resonated with me on a deep level. When there is only one, picking up the pieces as a one-income household is tough!

The Babadook does not have the basic cheap Jump-scares. Many movies have the pleasure of exhausting. The Babadook begins a bit slow but makes up in tension is worth every spine tingle. I have seen some terrifying films, and I gladly place this in my "Favorite scary movies" list.

Hush

Intruder from Hush

I came across this movie once before. I couldn't get over the thumbnail and the description. Surprisingly enough, I enjoyed this movie very much, and I do recommend it for a movie night with friends. The silence in Hush is deafening. You may become wary of the silence in your home while watching Maddie hide from her intruder.

Deaf author Maddie proves how vulnerable she can be within the first 20 minutes of the film. Maddie must fight for her life in a cabin far from society. Living in a world of silence and trying to survive looks like a job for Maddie.

**These are three of many gems I have mined for us Thriller Junkies. I will be adding more articles aiming for this genre. Please let me know what you think of these movies. I hope you enjoy them, as I did.

All movies are subject to change on Netflix. Please check other means of viewing these movies if you have a chance.

movie review
1

About the Creator

Deej S.

My super power is Love and then some.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.