History logo

When Friends Become Traitors

a game mate who betrayed me for money

By ramadhan cahaya pratamaPublished 21 days ago 3 min read
Like

Each of you must have a best friend. Whether it's a boy or a girl, whether it's how many, one or two, or how far apart in age they are from you.

Friend, one word that means a lot to you. Friends are true friends, usually we share our confidences, secrets, stories, etc. with them, and ask them to keep the secret well so that no one else knows.

BUT,

Best friends can also betray.

There are also friends who we can trust at first, but in hindsight it turns out that they tell everything about us.

Don't believe it? Read this story:

Hi, my name is Amy. I'm 13 years old, and I go to Junior High School 5 Cilacap. Right now, I'm in the middle of a long end-of-semester holiday. On Monday, I will be moving up to Grade 8. So, this long holiday has been very boring for me.

I have a girl friend, whose name is Milly. She is a friendly girl. At first, I enjoyed being friends with her. Because she was trustworthy, not a mouth bucket either. But over time, I hated her. Especially because of what happened last Sunday night.

That day, I was texting Milly and Catherine. I told Milly a lot, how I liked someone whose name I mentioned. And how that person responded to my feelings by confessing his feelings to me on 22 June. Milly was so enthusiastic, she asked me about it. The only thing I remember is this :

‘Amy, you're thinking about Willy, right?’

Yes, the name of my crush was Willy. In Year 7, he was in the same class as me and Milly. Well... I don't know what drove me to like him.

‘That's right. Can you tell?’ I asked.

Milly just chuckled. ‘Of course.’

I paused. Then texted back, ‘But you have to promise not to tell anyone.’

‘Okay,’ Milly said rather reluctantly. After that, we ended our conversation. I moved on to sending a message to Catherine.

‘Hi, Cath.’ I greeted her first.

‘Hi, Amy. How are you?’ asked Catherine.

‘Fine. Emm... how about masboy?’ I asked Catherine, mentioning her favourite nickname.

‘Masbro? Emm... last night, I sat next to him.’ replied Catherine happily.

‘Well, I'm happy too.’ I said with a smile.

‘Yeah, how's your relationship with... hemm... Ricky?’ Catherine asked back. I was stunned.

‘The usual, you know.’ I replied with a laugh.

‘Haha... you could be,’ Catherine retorted.

‘Ehh, never mind, I'm running low on credit,’ I said.

‘Okay, goodnight Amy.’ said Catherine.

‘Goodnight Cath.’ I replied.

I decided to sleep because it was too late.

The next morning, I opened the internet. I intended to open Facebook. I logged in, then browsed through the statuses on the homepage. And! There was a status that was so sarcastic to me...

~ Milly Warren

How come I got a little ENVY when I heard that Amy was t**b*ked by Wi**y? Is it because I once liked Wi**y? Ah, I don't know O:)

‘What the hell!’ I slammed my phone down instantly. I forgot that I was fasting. Because I was so upset, I put a comment on Milly's status.

‘Too obvious, Mill.’ I said a little annoyed.

I really couldn't believe it. Milly Warren, the person I thought was the best, the one I trusted the most, turned out to be a traitor. She said she wouldn't divulge it to anyone. But this is... INSULT!

I tried to send a message to Catherine. It read:

‘You have lied, Milly.’

‘Why?’ asked Catherine.

‘You saw Milly's status, she insulted me!’ I exclaimed in annoyance.

‘That's normal, Am. If you have a secret, never tell it to Milly. She's an EMBER,’ explained Catherine who also seemed upset.

I was sorry, really sorry for telling Milly that secret. From now on, I promise not to get to know Milly again.

Biographiesarcade
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.