History logo

Voodoo2

Next side of Voodoo

By Ayimahin KpedoPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
1

What’s the dark side of Voodoo?

I mean the people who eat for evil what do the devil's rituals are not the same okay but you will never use somebody for a ritual to make money or to understand something but you chose to be evil you should be good you chose to be good to be helping people to be bringing people

alive or you choose the people to kill

people it's a choice according to how

Voodoo can be used to protect and it can also be used to harm what matters is the person wielding it.

As The event preceded with different displays and presentations.

on the lookout for the floating spirit I

had heard his name was called Zhang Beto and it's believed to be the spirit of dead relatives among Voodoo worshipers, the dead are taught to walk among the living.

I could see all the masquerades coming out there were different masquerades who represented different deities and they came out in different adornments the lineup of mass words on this side that's

how the masculines are going to perform today.

It was a celebration with drums and a lots of dancing and displays.

How can this be possible? How can a

masquerade be dancing all by itself

somebody's in there shaking one two

three and then tell it no one was today, you know this is the beauty of voodoo to me I mean I don't know people might say

it's a trick everything I was seeing

before me went against the laws of

physics. And really couldn't explain it

shows how Africans are powerful and we

have to use it in the right way you know

we just don't have to be scared of our

own culture and history.

those who practice Voodoo believe that there is a visible and an invisible

world and that those words are

intertwined that for them is a

transition to the invisible world so our

predecessors are still with us in spirit

if my oldest father or grandfather then

I can call his spirit in a big

masquerade and then he's going to pray, for us oh really so the spirit of your dead great grandfather can enter that

and pray for you yes and pray for me wow!

over the years American culture has

appropriated African stories which are

currently being used in box office

movies an example is in the movie Avatar

Ewa the all great mother in Avatar one

and two were gotten from erwa which are

spirits in the African religion of

Haitian Voodoo another place where I

noticed these two was in the movie Black.

Panther where you see them drinking

herbs and going into an afterlife trance.

this all beer closed similarities to the

voodoo culture that has been projected

as evil I guess if he makes money for

Hollywood then it makes sense.

if I go a medicine for you now I'll

say that in the name of Almighty because

I did not create they have some music

because that I'm using I should not

relate to them we are not always aware

of the origins of our beliefs and every

now and then we need to reassess what we

know and how we know it which is why I'm

making this video I'm not a voodoo

worshiper by any means but neither am I

a hater I just seek to understand it and

share what I experience with you guys

for me I'm as a content creator believe

me or not I'm very open-minded yeah

which anything that I see I learned from.

It that doesn't mean that that's what I

believe in right yeah but you travel you

learn you open your mind Mom if you are watching this video I'm still your

lovely Christian son and I love Jesus I

also noticed that many African

traditions and cultures are under threat from Modern media and if Voodoo

originated from West Africa doesn't it

make sense to try and understand it it's

only through education and getting to

know those with different beliefs that

we can overcome our fear of the unknown

so what did I learn from this Adventure

one of the things I learned about Bene

as a country and as a people is how

accommodating everybody is with each

other's beliefs as they never interfere

with other religious people's activities

if you look forward that's a church yeah

and the opposite is a food I mean when

they worship something like that before

it would be great if we can all be

tolerant like the people of Benin and

seek to learn more about ourselves

because only then can we really begin to understand each other better thank you.

Ancient
1

About the Creator

Ayimahin Kpedo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Fantastic work! So full of understanding and grace! Wonderful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.