History logo

Stripper in 1800s

Downlow is the way to go, I'm just trying to keep Bills paid and stay out of masters way!

By HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)Published 10 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - June 2023
97
Stripper in 1800s
Photo by Larry Costales on Unsplash

In the early 1800s, I could have been a Stripper...

Trying to shake a Tail feather for the nice Downlow fellows...

Maybe I would have been the one who the guys came to see while being away from their wives while fighting a war...

I wouldn't have screwed any of them but maybe just showed some leg and shook a cheek well both perhaps...

Of course, I would definitely have been low-key, because this is the 1800s, and there was no way it was ok to be openly Gay and Black, but in order to get bills paid I'd have to become popular and somehow get the guys to visit my Juke joint...

The First Gay Stripper, I'd Be the Talk of the Townspeople... But how would I get out of being Mobbed by the Town?
Surely I'd like to speak to the Towns leaders and we could come to an agreement for me to make History 📜 and for the Downlow guys to be entertained...

Oh, maybe I'd Host a private Showdown in my Barn and Tell a selected few... It would be great to gather some ladies and Host a Barn Cabaret... well I'd only select women of color so that they wouldn't have to work those Stressful Fields... We could make our own money privately owned!

What If I called myself the milkman and discreetly handed out flyers while delivering milk...

Back when William Shakespeare wrote Romeo and Juliet and I could have existed as The poetic Stripper...

Bestow the Feminine Milkman of Poetry❗

There wasn't any real stripper music at the time, but I'm sure I could Twerk it up to Mary Had a little lamb and old Mac Donald would have to do...
Okay so maybe I and Thomas Edison could have been cool friends and, I Would have convinced him to help me record some music to play while he stood creating the phonograph in the late Summer of July 1877.

I could have been the first Gay chanting Artist I'd Make Vogue Music to play at my Barn Cabaret Strip joint... I'm sure there were plenty of Downlow gentlemen in town...

I'm sure Abraham Lincoln would have let me Borrow his Barn On The weekends for a Nice Millyrock on the Haystack...

I could have been Besties with Queen Victoria and we would have discovered Harriet Tubman inside the underground railroads and Invited them to the Juke joint❗

Harriet was Smart and Determined she would be the perfect person to help me Run The Barn Cabaret.

We could have hosted exclusive Parties in the underground 🚇 railroads... Where we would have recruited some of the people from the fields who wanted to make Extra Dimes...

What if Harriet Brings the people and I'll bring the entertainment and our Foundation would be Secretly Black owned?

I wonder if she could “twerk”, but it didn't exist in the 1800s so what would I call it? Okay, maybe ill stick with gyrating...

Maybe Harriet would let me use the underground railroad to have Dance practices and the people who are trying to make extra Dimes would stick around with me while the others run for freedom...

I wonder how would they pay me if I was a stripper in the 1800s? Would they hit me with change like tossing nickels? Or Maybe walk up and drop a dime? What is the definition of (Something Strange for some change) I wonder if this would Qualify.

****************

This is all for entertainment purposes❤️😉💯✨ I wrote this article as an entry Toward the (Past Life Challenge) I hope you guys enjoyed the read 📖 and my Traveling back into time with a Big Imagination❗

Don't be mad at me😊 I love and respect my Ancestors💯😉❗


CONTENT WARNINGNarratives
97

About the Creator

HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)

Welcome to “My Public Diary “🤪💖

Your Mind is

A Wonderland of

Your Imagination

Make it Beautiful!

🎉I am an Actor, Model, Writer, and Entrepreneur ❤️❤️🙏

Send Tip$🍀 ❤️😉Send Hearts and Add insights if you'd like 😍 ✨💯😉❗

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (73)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a month ago

    Excellent work

  • 👀👀👀👀👀👀👀👀👀👀👀👀

  • Scott Christenson10 months ago

    So many stripper stories making Top Story. I've got to join in!

  • Joe Luca10 months ago

    Bright, funny, and inventive. You made me laugh - and smile. Fun read all the way through. Well done.

  • Gary Ragnarsson10 months ago

    Good job! And hell, if you ended up mobbed and murdered, you’d have become a martyr… You’d probably have sped up the acceptance of homosexuality by 150 years! Haha

  • Hazel 10 months ago

    good job

  • This was so great! Love this idea and concept, stripping through the ages! They definitely could’ve used it. And I think you could’ve found your markets in the 1800s, I like your idea of operating in secrecy. It actually felt like it could’ve been real. Loved the sense of humor you added to this too! Such a fun piece.

  • Jordan Flynn10 months ago

    Love it, gotta walk a FINE line between being the baddest stripper, and not getting mobbed lbs

  • Chelas Montanye10 months ago

    What fun it would have been to be a stripper in the 1800’s in the Wild West, where the buffalo roamed, where the dear and the sexy did play. A very enjoyable story! And Thank you.

  • Excellent - great read

  • Sandra Tena Cole10 months ago

    This was brilliant!! I love how much history you brought in, and the humour you told it with x

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Honestly Lonzo, as beautiful as this is, they would have probably been chasing you with pitchforks and a noose. 😥😥😈. Yet somehow, I think that would have added to the allure and excitement. I was hesitant to read this, but it is beautiful and thoroughly enjoyable, Congrats on all the accolades.

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Congrats on the leaderboard recognition! I forget who I’ve congratulated officially, so if this is the second time I’ve done so, just roll with it! 😁

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    Such a fantastic piece, Lonzo! This was so FUN! Great work tying in all of the historical figures. Absolutely such an enjoyable read! I'm SO behind on my reading and late to say this, but CONGRATS on such a well deserved top story AND even more well deserved leaderboard spot!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Congrats on heading up the leaderboard with this one, Lonzo! Icing on the cake, my friend!

  • Erica Wagner10 months ago

    Imaginative and liberating. Bravo!

  • Iris Harris10 months ago

    That was brilliant. I was hesitant to read it (Stripper title, duh). But it was write safe enough for me to enjoy. Well crafted.

  • What a creative dive through history! This is great, Lonzo! Entertaining and original!

  • Veronica Coldiron10 months ago

    Let me start by congratulating you on the top story! I loved this fun look at history. I think your free spirit and beautiful talent is a blessing in any time period! Great work! 💖

  • Congratulations on you

  • Congratulations on your TS!

  • Elmer Rex Bantang10 months ago

    Its a nice story...

  • Dorota10 months ago

    Congrats

  • Mark Graham10 months ago

    In the past or currently you shared who you are and the feelings you have. Good work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.