Geeks logo

Your Name

Makoto Shinkai Movies - Part 1

By animetipzPublished 11 months ago 5 min read
Like

This past year I have found a new appreciation for anime movies. I have always adored Studio Ghibli and would watch an anime movie if it was a continuation of a series, outside of that I didn't give anime movies much thought. Little did I know there is a whole world of anime movies that I have been missing out on.

One of the biggest discoveries was an incredibly talented creator Makoto Shinkai. His creative storytelling, combined with stunning artwork, will keep your eyes locked on the screen. I decided to watch through all of his movies and let you know what I think about them, what is worth watching, and their ratings.

I am currently binging through as many as I can find, If you have any anime movie recommendations please comment them below.

Your name was released in 2016 and gained huge popularity in the past few years. I have been seeing it everywhere, and the curiosity of the hype got me excited to check it out.

Storyline: Mitsuha and Taki are two total strangers living completely different lives. But when Mitsuha makes a wish to leave her mountain town and for the bustling city of Tokyo, they become connected bizarrely. She dreams she is a boy living in Tokyo while Taki dreams he is a girl from a rural town he’s never been to. What does their newfound connection mean? And how will it bring them together?

My first impression of this movie was that I didn't get the hype. The first 20 minutes were much slower than I expected. I began to think this was just another anime over-popularized by the Internet but didn't have any other redeeming qualities. Once the story picked up I discovered that I was dead wrong and my eyes were locked on the screen for the rest of the movie with endless chills and jaw-dropping moments.

The best way I can describe this movie is like a rollercoaster, The thrill of the rollercoaster doesn't start til after the drop, but that ramp that seems to go up forever is necessary, it builds you with anticipation, creates the speed needed for the rest of the ride. The build-up is critical for the enjoyment of the rest of the ride.

There was a great introduction to the characters and it is needed for the story, but it felt a little slow to me.

Once the story picked up I was hooked. The interactions between characters were creative and comedic. Makes you think about what happens when you get what you wished for and what you would do if you were in someone else's shoes. If a show was created just on the midsection of this movie I'd watch it on repeat.

What happened next I could have never predicted. There was a bone-chilling plot twist in the middle of the movie that left my jaw on the floor. I am normally really good at predicting plot twists and unfortunately rarely get surprised. This movie completely caught me off guard. Going back to the rollercoaster analogy, this would be part of the ride you go for a loop, which leaves you light-headed and your stomach in a knot.

The movie switches from a fun high school comedy to a heart-pounding drama. I have to give prompts to the writers for this seamless transition from genres. Because there was such a drastic plot twist in the middle of the movie, I had no idea how this movie was going to end. My heart was pounding, as I watched the story unfold.

I have heard many people say this movie made them cry. Personally, I didn't find it to be sad, but it was very emotional. This movie had me wrapped around its finger and was never going to let go.

I am not someone who believes in true romance, or finding your other half, but I can understand the feeling of looking for something, or someone but not being sure what you are looking for. It's as if we have a hole in our hearts and we aren't sure what is needed to fill it, and we try to go through life ignoring it, but there is still this uneasy empty feeling gnawing at us.

Without spoiling this movie I will say this, it captures the human heart on a deep level. It will make you smile, cause your heart to race and leave you content with the conclusion.

Info: 1hr 46min

Genre: Fantasy, drama, romance

Ratings:

IMDb: 8.4/10

Anime Planet: 4.5/5

My Review: I have mentioned before that I stay away from overly hyped anime because I end up being let down. Nothing can live up to the hype the internet gives it. With that in mind, I can proudly say Your Name lived up to its hype. The story was incredible and unique. The artwork is visually stunning. The ending made the movie unforgettable. Not only did I completely love this movie, I already recommended it to some friends and rewatched it. If you want a movie to take your mind off of life and suck you into a magical world this movie is for you.

Be on the lookout for the next movie in this series that I review called "Weathering with You" The main characters in Your Name make a surprise guest appearance, which personally made me smile.

What were your thoughts on Your Name? Does it live up to the hype?

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below

Any anime movie recommendations are welcomed!

Thank you for reading!!

Make sure to check out more from AnimeTipz

Bye for now

entertainmentreviewmovie
Like

About the Creator

animetipz

✨Anime Blogger✨

I watch too much anime and would love to turn it into a creative outlet!

Blogging about anime topics, giving honest reviews, and staying up to date with all things anime

https://linktr.ee/animetips

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.