Geeks logo

World of Rob Corps Rings

Keep On Running

By Adrian FullerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

There is always that moment when you’re surprised between shock and recognition, when that cold lightning that runs up your back is a starter’s pistol. This is the race of your life, that might also be the rest of your life. Run. Running your life’s new goal if you want to keep it. Survival is now running. Running is your new obsession. A hulking abomination out of the nightmare realm is no longer following you. It’s gaining on you, cutting a swath between you and it. There is a mult-verse separating you from safety and security. Then, there’s another surprising moment. A moment when you fall thankfully away and the beast or whatever, is the real Mccoy. Falling away but down an endless chasm. When you hit bottom there is no conclusive crunch. Nor is there a nanosecond of life ending pain. All there would be to this a two foot fall from the couch to the floor, ending the dream sequence.

I imagine that’s how it would start. In so far as I know that’s how eureka moments happen. I don’t know because I’m only a fledgling writer. However, there is a group of people over the world, calling themselves, “The Rob Corps”. They are led by a guy named Robert Jefferson. And let me tell you something, he’s the host of ComicsExplained and it’s amazing. Rob Jefferson is not a civil rights leader or a scientist curing cancer, but he is a great host of a great show. Comics have stories that are often broken down and spread in to different titles like a expensive puzzle. Rob and his team at comics explained on Youtube turn those puzzles into a cohesive story.

I’ve heard of turning your hobby into a career, but I thought that only applied to skills like painters not people who read comic books. I feel it is super inspirational to find a black man being successful in a field that’s not sports related, not music related and without a lot of training. Don’t get me wrong, I think he’s smart and works hard, but I don’t think he has a master’s degree in Youtubing. And that what makes him an inspiration because that says to me that the only thing that’s holding me back, is not my sociodemographic, it’s just attitude. And that makes since. While doing the research for this paper, I found important people, but that didn’t “speak” to me. I can’t relate to famous rappers or the great minds of our time. As Rob would say, I went with me gut. As I’m writing I can here him speak through me. I think that’s why I’m writing about Robert Jefferson because I can relate. When we were kids and the teacher would ask what you wanted to be when you grew up the important jobs come to mind. I wished when I was a kid that I would have said, “when I grow up, I want to be happy.” Seeing Comic Explained shows I can use my interest and turn it into a career. Even if I don’t turn my hobby into a career at least I can dive into it with more enthusiasm. Maybe step my game up. The main idea here is that he looks genuinely happy to do it. He’s letting his freak flag fly with wild abandon. If he can do that maybe I can be a little more comfortable just being me, as well.

Robert Jefferson is impressive as far as intelligence but what I think makes him successful is his work ethic. He gets things done. With a net worth of 600 thousand and over a million fans he is one the best in his field. There are other youtubers who explain comics such as Variant and Comicstorian but ComicExplained is the best. Here’s why. There is always new content and he seems like a lonely comic readers funny friend. In fact, I think he should do stand up. I can see him doing a comedy special with Brian Prosehn. Not only, does he have a youtube channel but he also has a patreon, he host pop culture explained also, he has merchandise as the rings he designed. Finally he’s smart because he talks about philosophy sometimes and he’s inspired me to lose weight with his weight lost videos. So, just keeping running Rob and I will too.

comics
1

About the Creator

Adrian Fuller

Restarting my life's story

Draft: 19

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.