Geeks logo

Why Seyi Shay is So Harsh on Nigerian Idol - Waje

Waje opens up about reality show judging.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Right now, two of Nigeria's biggest music competitions are concurrently going on - The Voice Nigeria and Nigerian Idol both of which are very entertaining and very different in approach.

While both have been making a lot of noise and are equally popular, one particular show especially earlier on in the season was making a lot more noise on social media and in people's conversation. That show was Nigerian Idol and it was in huge part because of judge, Nigerian singer and songwriter, Seyi Shay.

Seyi Shay

During her time on the show, especially during the auditions phase of the show, Seyi Shay was quite brutal with contestants. One of the highlights of this in people's mind was when she told a young aspiring singer after his audition that he would never make money being a singer.

Seyi herself has discussed WHY exactly she came off so harsh during the auditions saying:

We're definitely prompted. We all have our little iPad in front of us and so we have the leading sentences, and they are all tailor-made for each person. So you have Sose's name and then you have all his leading sentences. You have Seyi Shay and you have all her leading sentences. Sorry Idol if I'm giving it all out. I don't know if I'm giving away too much.

I think if you're talking about about my personality on the show. I think based on the fact that I'm the only female and females in Nigeria are expected to be a little bit more reserved, laid back and not so honest. So, Nigerian Idol thought it would be really good to make it a controversial series and make the female the most vocal one, which is why I probably really had the most controversial leading sentences, but aside from that also, I'm quite a very honest person. I don't beat around the bush. I think my fans from day one know that I'm very bold and very honest.

That is what Seyi Shay said about why she comes across as harsh on the show. Now, The Voice Nigeria judge Waje is speaking about why she thinks this is so and what she thinks about Seyi's style of judging. This is what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Waje

When she appeared for an interview with City 105.1 FM, the interviewer asked Waje "I watch you on TV, you're a judge as well. I've seen how you support talent and I want to put you on the spot - a lot of people will say Waje is very nice and some other people are downright harsh, they just tell people you don't have this or you can't do that. Do you in any way subscribe to other people telling anyone just how it is or do you believe in another approach?"

Waje said in response:

What I'll tell you is every show has its rules and what makes the show a show. It's entertainment, it's TV. Now half the time they make it about the contestants, but really, it's really about the show. They don't care about you the judge or you the contestant, it's the show. So I'll say that for The Voice, you know that first stage of auditions, we've already done that. So we see that everybody on The Voice is vocally talented. Not everyone has a grip on their vocals but first things first, you definitely must know how to sing and that's different from every other show. So I think people should put that into context before they bash "anyone" - I know you get my drift. I understand it, Nigerians we are too passionate. Even me sef, they curse me. They say 'Oh Waje did not turn for this person and the person can sing better than her', like it's not that deep. We just obey and follow the rules of the job.

It's disappointing as it might be to many people to hear, these singing competition shows while you hope it's really all about the contestants is actually about the show itself. Is it entertaining? Are people talking about it online? That's what brands and people who sponsor the show worry more about than the actual talent on the competition and so with these things, as Seyi Shay and Waje have said, if this is how the producers say you should do the show, then that's how you do it. It truly as Waje said is not that deep at times.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

tv
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.