Geeks logo

Why It Took Me 5 Months To Finish 1 Diamond Painting

What did I get myself into

By Ashleigh HolmesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Stress relieving and calming is what I thought Diamond Painting would be like, aka beautifully peaceful like floating on a cloud (ok maybe I was delirious from tiredness). It was true in the general sense, but I didn’t realise that the five dollar tiger would take me five months to complete.

Let’s start from the beginning. A few weeks before Christmas 2020, my daughter and I had been browsing the discount stores when I spotted a display of diamond painting kits reduced from ten dollars down to five. I couldn’t believe it. My older sister had been diamond painting for about six months or more and they looked beautiful all framed on her walls, I was intrigued so I was like why not. My next challenge was choosing a design, thankfully I had my two year old helper with me to decide. I held one up after the other, finally choosing the neon coloured tiger in the image above.

Taking it home, I was excited to start and looking forward to having some ‘me time’ which is a rarity when you work full time, your husband works full time and studies, and you have a two year old. Putting it bluntly, it sat in its box for about 4 weeks on top of the pile of stuff on my desk before I even had the time to look at it and see what the instructions were. They seemed easy enough as I had completed paint by number projects before, but the issue I had wasn’t with the difficulty, it was time. Finding the time I mean where I could sit and work on it was hard. It need a flat area, I tried so many places (ie. Top of chest of drawers before bed, sitting cross-legged on the floor at the coffee table and lastly my desk). The desk proved the best as I could leave it there, providing I covered the little diamonds away from little, sticky fingers.

The tiger in the works

I definitely underestimated this tedious, fiddly task and began to just want to get it finished, it seemed the diamonds were never ending. I would continuously look over where I had completed and whoops missed a square, so had to grab one teeny, tiny diamond out of its labelled container and push it on the lonely spot. It’s not that I was OCD about this, but I wanted it to look awesome, despite dreading the time it was taking. Between waking up at 5:30am to be out of the house by 6:30am and not returning to the house until approximately 6:00pm, it is no wonder it took as long as it did. Most nights I would get home, too tired and just wanting to lay down. In hindsight, I should’ve done at least some. But exhaustion did me in.

There were times when I attempted to make a start, maybe put ten diamonds in and my daughter would ‘try and help’ but to save all the diamonds ending up on the carpet instead, I would put it away for a few days. This ran on during January, February, March until April 5th 2021 when I can excitedly say Hallelujah I finished haha. The last fiddly diamond was mounted, and I breathed a sigh of relief. Using a ten dollar white frame and some gold washi tape, the process began of mounting my finished artwork. I am so proud and definitely deserve a break.

Until I start the beautiful butterfly I brought my daughter for her room. But that can wait a month or two, let me enjoy my little bit of freedom.

art

About the Creator

Ashleigh Holmes

Married mother of an adorable little girl who keeps me on my toes. I love art, craft, photography and food. I love to write about parenting and the trials I have struggled with, and also photography as an outlet for lifelong anxiety.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ashleigh HolmesWritten by Ashleigh Holmes

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.