Geeks logo

Why I HATE Fanfiction

A ranting

By Luke FosterPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
12
Why I HATE Fanfiction
Photo by Hannah Olinger on Unsplash

For a lot of us, the Vocal+ fiction awards represented one of the biggest competitions we have taken part in. Myself, I didn't even make it to the second stage. That may be part of the reason why I've stepped away from fiction for a little break.

Now you might wonder what it is that I have against Fan-fiction? It's certainly not about the writing. Like most writing, some is good, some is bad, and some have been excellently written.

I also appreciate the fun that people get from this, and have no desire to rain on anyone's parade. If you are reading this, you'll get my little opinion on the matter then we'll both move on and get on with our respective lives.

I've tried to look into the various reasons that people write fan-fiction, and I think the key part of that word is fan. People don't write fan-fiction for shows/films/other media that they don't enjoy.

They say that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. I know for my part, I was inspired to write by my favourite author, someone I discovered in my teenage years that wrote the stories that speak most to me. When David Gemmell passed in 2006 it left a hole in my literary world, along with a fair few others, I'd imagine.

He wasn't the most well known of authors, and from 1984 to 2006 he released 33 titles, he is one of only two authors that I own every single work of, and the only autographed book I've ever owned, sadly not signed in person.

For those that know, the characters of Druss, Connavar and Jon Shannow are heroes unmatched in literature. My personal favourite only appears in two stories, Olek Skilgannon, or The Damned. Two stories isn't anywhere near enough to tell the tale of a character that deep and complex. There are huge parts of his life and his story untold, and that's a crying shame.

Somebody should do something about that, no? So why not me? Despite the impostor syndrome I'm currently suffering from, I'm not without some talent. With the encouragement of a supportive and loving partner, I've put out some work that has been well received by friends and family, along with some encouraging and kindly souls on this very website, even if not by Vocal themselves.

Skilgannon is a character that lives in my very soul, and I know his story almost as well as my own. Vague details were left for stories that could be filled in, so you wouldn't even need to reach for new material. But it isn't my story to tell.

I think the other reason for fan-fiction is a need for inclusivity. Until very recently, there was what I will delicately call a "lack of diversity" in mainstream media. I'll state quite clearly now that whilst I sympathize, I cannot empathize, so please feel free to take that into account with my words.

I'm going to draw on several fandoms here so try to stay with me.

I'd like to talk about James Bond, Star Trek, Spider-man and Doctor Who. Daniel Craig has served his time as James Bond now, and the names begin to fly in for who should be next to carry the iconic 007 moniker.

So why shouldn't the next James Bond be black, or a woman? Or anything else? Simply, because he isn't. Before you decry me, I beg you, please hear me out.

Peter Parker is one of the most beloved superheroes in comic and film. Spider man is a fixture that kids learn when they are old enough to watch cartoons. But he was a product of the time he was created. But the creators of Spider man have shown us the way.

The Spider-verse has opened up the possibility of infinite Spider men, to provide much needed representation to all, whilst at the same time not taking away the Peter Parker that generations of kids fell in love with.

Star Trek has been quietly championing representation for the best part of 60 years. Have they done enough? I don't know enough to make that call. But what I do know is that, as a child of the 90's and a Star Trek fan, that I saw most iterations of the show. They never tried to replicate the initial recipe of the show, they didn't re-cast Kirk or Spock, they moved on to the next set of characters.

If Star Trek had tried to re-invent the wheel, we would have had no Ben Sisko, or Kathryn Janeway. No Dax or Tuvok.

Doctor Who has taken a different approach again. The appearance of The Doctor is incidental, allowing for the character to represent whomsoever the writers feel that day. The only limits are the talents of the writers and the actor chosen to play the role. This, however, is the exception, rather than the rule.

So what do I want from the next James Bond? Honestly, I don't much care. But I'd rather see the character retired, and something new and awesome come through, than changing to fit someone else's image.

And I suppose that this is the entire point of this rambling. My entire problem with fan-fiction can be summed up as such:

The writers that we emulate, or straight up copy, are talented individuals. They have created individuals and worlds that speak to our very souls, that occupy our daydreams. But as much as we may love their creation like our own, it isn't ours. And we don't have the right to mess with it.

So you, you reading this, chances are you are a writer, or possibly someone I know. You are also a talented individual. It certainly isn't wrong to want something that represents you or a community that you love. But make something original. If it's good, then people will read it or watch it. And it will be yours.

As I said at the start, imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. If I were ever to create something that touched the hearts and minds of people I would be beyond ecstatic. But if someone decided to take that and change it, like they know my work better than I do myself? Like they know best about what my creation should do? Just think about that, before you take what belongs to someone else.

Be original. Create, don't take.

fan fiction
12

About the Creator

Luke Foster

Father. New husband. Wannabe writer.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Splendid!!! Left some love💖💕

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I liked the way that this article flowed :) Great work! I don't really read fanfic, not for any particular reason, I just have never gone looking for it, I guess. I'm not sure how I'd feel if someone were to do that to my own creations. I don't think I'd like it. I've heard some authors enjoy seeing what others come up with and find it flattering. I think it should be based on the creator's permissions/wishes :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Good article. I'm not much of a fan of fan-fiction either. I agree, it's not mine to mess with. Well done.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Interesting read. I enjoy your style in writing your story .👌👍

  • I have never minded fanfiction. But I don't read them anymore because my brain is so dumb that it would fail to realize the actual events of the original story, lol. So I guess I agree with you on this one. This was well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.