Geeks logo

Why I Can No Longer Support Blaire White

An Experience and Reaction

By Annie KapurPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

I am not transgender, I am not non-binary and I am not a member of the LGBTQ+ group. But there is one thing I am sure about. I love them. I'm friends with them. I know them and I have grown up with them. They are brilliant people. They are scientists and artists, they are actors, singers and chemists, they are librarians, parents, friends and family members. They are all over the world. They exist in so many different forms that I feel like there are always new people to meet and learn about. When they create things - it really cleanses my soul. Why? You know that I have always been a huge supporter of how we need as many different types of invention, art and expression as possible in order to get the full experience of difference as humans. My point is, they are human beings and I support the way they express themselves because they way I have seen it - self-expression is a beautiful thing. Self-expression of the LGBTQ+ community has often been oppressed and the fact that it is becoming more normalised and there are happier members of that community makes me have faith in the world again. Don't get me wrong, there is still a long way to go to normalise their identities entirely but, it is much better than it used to be.

I used to support Blaire White because I thought she was trying to rationalise this. But there are things that I cannot support her for and these include: misinformation, cyber-bullying, the refusal to take accountability etc. But, because of these cons, the small amount of pros there were get weighed out entirely and this is why I can no longer support Blaire White.

Misinformation

Blaire White has recently been called out for the fact that she got the story of a trans-athlete so very wrong. But it was after this that many people went back into her history and began making videos about Blaire's history of lying and her inability to reference in her descriptions. I never really noticed before that Blaire conveniently crops photographs and news articles in order to show that they support her own conclusions. This is called 'confirmation bias'. But when we read the whole article, it does not support Blaire's claims at all. If you have almost one million subscribers and you are not referencing your sources so that people cannot look it up, that is a problem because as a viewer, you have to question why this is on such a large platform. I watch channels such as: Hunter Avallone and Xanderhal as well who both may not be perfect YouTubers and obviously have gotten into some hot water in the past, but they provide links in their descriptions to the sources they have used to get the information.

Bullying

Blaire White is a bully. I had not seen these particular videos because reaction videos are not my thing. I tend to watch videos about issues and things like that: current affairs etc. But, when I heard about these videos, I watched them and realised that there was something well and truly very, very wrong. Blaire White bullies her subjects by:

  • Making fun of their appearance
  • Photoshopping their appearance
  • Making fun of their self-expression
  • Misgendering them

Making fun of aspects of their personality that they put on the internet in good faith that people will identify with it

When I found this out, as a teacher, I cannot support any form of bullying and I was very upset on the part of the people who had been made fun of. It was shocking and honestly, I felt a bit sick. I thought that Blaire made herself look like one of these upper-class girls who felt validation from making fun of others.

As I watched more and more videos by others exposing her bullying of others, there is a number of things that support the claims that Blaire White has not only bullied people who are transgender, but also people who are very young as well - they were teenagers being made fun of by a grown woman. And when you think about it like that, it sounds even worse that it normally does. As someone who is very close in age to Blaire White, I would never do what she did. I could not live with myself saying some of the things she said to others on YouTube. First, she would put up their videos or photos and then she would rip them apart with insults and that, that is awful to do.

I cannot support that.

Discrimination

Blaire White has recently been picked up on her past in the realms of discrimination against others. This includes aspects of:

  1. Racism - she has tweeted racially aggravating things about African-American people using something called 'blackface'
  2. Ableism - she has used the 'r' slur in her outspokenness
  3. Transphobia - she has often excluded non-binary folk from the trans-community even though non-binary people are actually trans folk too
  4. Appearance - Based discrimination - bullying based on the sight and appearance of others
  5. Classism - Blaire White has claimed in the past that her hair extensions cost more than someone's rent
  6. Gate-Keeping - Blaire White has been known to invalidate others based on their appearance or self-expression

All these things, as you know, are absolutely vile and we hope that Blaire White learns from the fact that she has done so many things that are considered inhumane on the scale of bullying and discrimination. These things that Blaire White does makes me so very upset and now that I re-watch the videos in which she talks about current affairs, I can see how blind I was to all of this. She does this in more than just her reaction videos as well.

The Refusal to Take Accountability

Blaire White recently released this video called "Let's Talk" as an apology to the trans-athlete that she got so very wrong and, in my opinion, there is really no accountability taken. She talks as if she is annoyed to be making the video and she does not actually say that she is sorry for other things she has gotten wrong. She blames herself yet, but she says 'you can hear it in my voice that I'm not confident about it...' and she states that it was not intentional deception on her part, but gets the reading of an Instagram Post that the video was based on, entirely wrong.

The problem I have with this video is that she is still trying to validate her opinion on trans-athletes whilst apologising to the athlete in question. She states that she is sorry because her view was wrong but then again states that the woman she criticised is not involved in the bigger picture that she was criticising. I'm sorry, but that is just not correct because most of the time, the bigger picture she is talking about, does not actually take place the way she thinks it does.

She took about two or so weeks to make this video after the initial video came out making a vague apology on Twitter without actually addressing the issues on her YouTube Channel - which was where the video was initially released. She did not take down the video until weeks later, she did not publish this video until much later so the fact that she says that there is no malice on her part, I just cannot believe that.

I cannot support that.

Other YouTubers

The thumbnail from Sam Collins' video on Blaire White's misinformation.

There are other YouTubers I watched in order to learn about Blaire's lies and misinformation and here are the links to their videos that I got my own information from. Consider this some 'further reading' to do:

Hunter Avallone - Exposing Blaire White

Pastel Belle - Blaire White: A Toxic History

Sam Collins - Blaire White

Xanderhal - Blaire White is a Bigot and a Transphobe

TehMimi - Do Not Trust Blaire White

CreepShow Art - Blaire White Has a Lying Problem

Samantha Lux - Blaire White Lied About J.K Rowling's "Troubled Blood"

iNabber - Blaire White's Apology Was Awful

CopsHateMoe - Reacting to Kalvin Garrah and Blaire White Bullying Milo Stewart

Dear Blaire White: Please Go Away

So you can watch those if you want to learn about what has actually happened and for all of these reasons, I cannot support Blaire White.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffani Washington4 months ago

    If you're a teacher than you need to get your grammar in gear because there was a lot of mistakes. She speaks the truth on a lot of these "LGBTQ+ influencers" who is tarnishing and bullying and damaging the community as someone who is queer I as a person agree with Blaire a 100%. A teacher, there was a slew of mistakes that makes me think otherwise. Also, who's being a bully as well?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.