Geeks logo

Why Every Gamer Should Check Out YouTuber Beta64

I had a chance to interview the man behind one of the most unique gaming channels on YouTube.

By Jason SchwartzPublished 7 years ago 4 min read
Like

YouTube is a place that’s full of all types of videos for gamers. From Let’s Plays to Walkthroughs, every type of gaming video exists on YouTube, and frankly it can get a little repetitive. Meet Andrew, better known as Beta64. Beta64 is a truly unique channel in that it’s all about the development of video games. Basically, this channel tells you how games came to be, for example, how Banjo-Kazooie was originally a pirate RPG or how Diddy Kong Racing was at first a real-time strategy game. He researches what steps the game’s creators went through in order to make famous titles like Super Mario World. He also tries to figure out why these steps were taken throughout the game’s development. Beta64 is a must watch for anyone interested in the behind the scenes of video games. I had the privilege to speak with Beta64 about what goes into his channel and how it came to be.

Jason: How did you get into YouTube?

Beta64: I wanted to get into YouTube for a couple reasons: first, I love making videos. The research, recording and editing process is so much fun to me. I wouldn’t still be doing it if I didn’t love it. Second, being able to talk to my viewers about game development (my passion and current degree plan), I feel like I’m able to shine a light on an otherwise mysterious part of the video games creation process.

Your videos are incredibly thorough, how long does it take to make one?

Well, that all depends on how much info there is on the game. Information like interviews, pre-release articles, and early footage all play a role in how long the video will be. Usually, I’d say, on average, the typical Beta64 episode takes about a month to make. Of course, this can vary, though. My video on Yoshi’s Story took only two weeks to put together, while my video on Super Mario World took over a month and a half!

What attracted you to this specific idea of being Beta64?

Even though a lot game-related YouTube channels typically focus on Let’s Plays or something similar, I wanted to go a different direction. I wanted to make an educational show about the development of video games. You may ask yourself, why? I’ve always been interested in game development and had already been researching it years before I created Beta64, so why wouldn’t I start a channel doing something I already like to do. Plus it was different, and doing something different is exciting. It’s not everyday something like that happens, so you’ve got to go for it!

What was your favorite video to make?

Probably my episode on Professor Layton and the Curious Village. While it may not be my most popular video, I just love the story behind the development of the game. It’s a story about how one man’s childhood dream became a reality: to make a game with his favorite puzzle book writer. It’s a heartfelt story that saw a lot of challenges, but through his determination, the game was released and became a massive success.

What game do you hope to make a video about in the future?

I’d really like to make some videos on older titles than I typically do, like games for the NES or Atari 2600. On the other hand, I’d also like to cover more recent games too, like the soon-to-be-released Breath of the Wild. It all just depends if I can get some time to devote to researching them, because I can tell it will take more work than normal to uncover all the information about these game’s creation/

What's coming up on your channel?

Well, I recently started a new series called Beta64 minis, which are shorter Beta64 episodes covering smaller games. I’ve already released a mini episode on Donkey Kong Racing (the cancelled GameCube sequel to Diddy Kong Racing), and I’ve got plans for a lot more coming soon. Plus, I’ve got some great ideas for new, regular Beta64 episodes too. There are a lot of plans behind the scenes that you’ll just have to wait and find out about!

Check out Beta64 on Youtube, Twitch and Twitter

gaminginterviewsocial media
Like

About the Creator

Jason Schwartz

Big nerd with passion for television, the 90s and ridiculous trivia.

Did you know America never lost a war when donkeys were used?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.