Geeks logo

Why Do I Love 'American Ninja Warrior' So Much?

It's part sports, it's part drama, and I love it. Reality TV that I can really get into.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I don't know when I started watching American Ninja Warriors, but I've been keeping up with this program for quite some time. In fact, it's been so long that some of the contestants that I watch on the show have become somewhat celebrities to me. I know them by names now and they all feel like some sort of TV family now.

I remember watching it back in the day when they had it on the now defunct G4 channel. It was a weird, quirky show that didn't have nearly the same production value that it does today.

Obviously today, they've gained such a huge following that they can have huge production for the show. They even have celebrity guests and big sponsors.

This show sometimes gets brought up in random conversations with people, and I'm always surprised when I notice how many people are really into it. I keep forgetting how big the show has gotten.

As I reflect on the show's popularity, I sometimes wonder how I fell in love with this show. I think really it's about ordinary Joe's off the street trying to accomplish something that they never thought was capable of. When they do, I feel I can relate a little to them.

They make me, as an audience member, feel more attached to the contestants because they provide us the backstories of each of the contestants. We get to know the contestants and have more empathy for them because we start to understand the hurdles that they had to endure to get where they are.

I love the fact that the contestants are so diverse. You'll see young fresh faces, but you'll also see senior citizens giving it a shot. All races, religions, and sexual orientations are represented on this program. Although everyone has their differences, everyone has a positive attitude and cheer each other on. Their differences don't matter, what matters is getting up that darn warp wall.

There's a sense of wholesome fun that you don't get on a lot of programs where politics always sneak their way into the scene. It's hard to say things are unfair when everyone has the same opportunity and same obstacles to battle through to get to the next stage. Either you get through the fastest or you don't, there's no grey area where people can argue with one another.

I love the fact that it's clear and concise. It's simple but effective. Each of the contestants stories are so varied from one another. It truly gives me a feeling that just about anyone can join this competition and make it.

All these factors, also make the show encouraging and inspiring. This year, they placed even more money for the contestants to win. The stakes are raised and the obstacles continuously get more difficult year after year.

I love how they keep up-ing the ante with the obstacles. Some of them look impossible, so when one of the contestants actually figures it out, it's such a beautiful sight.

I'm so glad to see that American Ninja Warrior continues to become more and more popular. There's so many of us that become inspired because of the contestants. We marvel at their athleticism and we idolize the obstacles that they had to go through in order to get to the level that they are right now.

Today, I'm starting to see American Ninja Warrior-inspired gyms popping up. Obstacle courses so that more ordinary Joe's can start practicing to become the next contestant.

There are also a few copycat programs out there. They say that imitation is the sincerest compliment. I think that this program will live long as long as they treat their contestants right and they continue to innovate with their program as they've been doing over the past few years.

tv
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.