Geeks logo

Werewolf

Ch-4

By Katie HammerbeckPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Chapter 4

She heard Gertrude call out to her. “Klara what happened to you?” she asked innocently.

“Get away from her!” Gerone shouted.

“Gerone what in heaven’s name has gotten into you?”

“This is your doing! I know you’ve been abusing her!”

“I’ve disciplined her. That girl doesn’t know her place.”

“You mean she doesn’t bow down like the other idiots in this town.” Gerone snarled.

“Careful Gerone, you know what happens to those who cross me.”

“I don’t give a damn! Klara is a kind girl and you’ve nearly destroyed her. Witches like you deserve to be burned!” Klara sat up in shock as Gerone stormed in.

“Klara I can’t let her hurt you like this. Let me take you away.”

“Why? I’m not your burden to bear.” Klara whispered.

“Is that what Gertrude calls you?” Gereon demanded, his eyes flashing with rage. Klara sighed.

“She didn’t have to.”

Gerone clasped her hands tightly then said gently, “You’re not a burden my dear. I would treat you like a daughter, as you should be.” Klara shook her head.

“At what cost? She could hurt you, Gerone.”

Gertrude came stomping in, her eyes wild with fury at Gerone’s insolence. Two large, muscular men followed, flanking her and preventing any kind of escape as they filled the doorway.

“Take him away!” she snarled, pointing an aged, gnarled finger towards Gerone. “I want him imprisoned, now!” The men complied, marching wordlessly to Gerone and grabbing him roughly by the arms before dragging him away. He thrashed against them all the while but to no avail.

Klara launched to her feet and shouted, “No, leave him alone!” She grasped her aunt’s arm desperately and Gertrude looked at her with a raised eyebrow.

“Calm yourself girl. I will not have you swoon.”

“Please…I beg of you!” Klara cried. Gerone grunted as Gertrude turned to Klara. The girl clasped her hands together and as her aunt raised her hand for another slap across the face, Klara blurted out, “I-I will behave. I will do as you say.” Gertrude lowered her hand and smirked maliciously. She gave Klara a measured look before reaching out to pat Klara on the head. Gerone continued to protest behind Gertrude, shouting for Klara to recant her promise.

“As long as you behave, I’ll let him be.” She nodded to the two men and they released Gerone instantly. When they left, Gerone grabbed Klara’s wrists desperately, a pleading look on his face.

“Klara what is the matter with you?! You can’t possibly want to stay with that snake!”

“No,” Klara replied sadly. “But this is where I’m meant to be.”

It didn’t take long for Klara to regret not leaving with Gerone. Gertrude increased the lessons as well as the punishments, or corrections as she called them. If Klara messed up on an embroidery piece, her hands were smacked with a stick. If she missed a step during the dancing lessons, the stick would strike her body. Klara prayed and prayed to God for relief, knowing she was reaching her limit.

Finally, He answered her prayers. Gertrude received a message about some important business in Nuremberg and without hesitation ordered the servants to pack her things. Though she wasn’t flustered, she was in a hurry to get to her destination. Turning to Klara before she stepped into her carriage she said,

“Don’t think that my absence means you can do as you please, girl. I have eyes and ears everywhere, my dear.” The warning made Klara shiver as her aunt left Munster.

This is my chance to regain my strength and coincidence, Klara thought.

Author: Katie (Crios) Editor: Elizabeth (Eala)

Patreon: patreon.com/ealacrios

comics
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.