Geeks logo

Want To Read More Classics?

How to get into classic literature and where to get started

By Lauren Writes AustenPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Top Story - December 2021
20
Want To Read More Classics?
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

As the new year gets closer and closer you've probably started thinking about your resolutions for 2022. Workout, be more patient, work harder (or less), or maybe even read more? When picking up reading as a habit for the first time or for the first time in a while, it's good to start with simpler, faster paced books. Usually this means avoiding classics as much as possible, but I don't think that has to be the case. Therefore I give you some of my tips and recommendations (as a classics lover) that'll hopefully make it easier to get into reading more classics.

How To Begin:

Recently with the movie Dune coming out, many people excitedly bought and tried to read the book before watching the movie. That's nothing new, lots of people try reading books before adaptations come out, and I fully understand that. However, I personally prefer reading the book after watching the movie. Why? Well this leads us to my first tip.

Tip 1: Watch an adaptation before reading the book.

Not all of my tips will work for everyone, but if you happen to be like me a picture a mini movie in your head while reading, having an actual movie and actual pre-seen visuals can help when reading something new and maybe a little different than what you're used to. I find when I am able to fall back on the movie storyline and my understanding of it, it helps me better understand what I'm reading. Obviously there are usually some changes from screen to novel, but if you are able to find a good adaptation it should generally help. I've done this for more than half of the Austen novels I've read, and I think it's my personally favourite method.

Tip 2: Start small

Staring at the stack of pages upon pages of Les Mis, Lord of the Rings, even Dune, and other THICK classics can be a turn off. Which is why starting with smaller books, novellas, or even short stories is an easier way to slip into the classics.

Tip 3: Listen to an audio book

Finding a well read audio book (because there are some poorly read ones out there) and just listening to it, or even reading a long one can help crush some of the large and daunting classic novels. This year I was able to almost double the amount of books that I read because of audiobooks. To find audiobooks there are obviously apps like Audible, but with books that are in the public domain you can usually find free Youtube videos versions of audiobooks. This year I listened to Dracula, Frankenstein, and Anne of Green Gables on audiobook, all of which I'd highly recommend listening to.

Tip 4: Read modern day classics and spin off books

Often while reading some of the classics I've read, I run into the issue of finding the wording or language difficult. It's not like untrained highschoolers trying to get through a scene of Shakespeare bad, but it's enough to make me want to put down the book and pick up something a bit easier. That is why I suggest getting into some more modern classics, or modern takes on classics. For example, there have been so many retellings and reimaginings of Pride and Prejudice that if you went to the romance section of any book store I don't doubt you would have a hard time finding a copy.

Where To Begin:

Now for some recommendations, here is just a random list of some novels, novellas, etc., that I think would be a great place to start:

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. A Canadian classic, very fun and bright. Although it may be seen as a children's book it is honestly very refreshing to read as a teen or adult. Anne has a long series of 8 books, and Montgomery wrote many other fun books, like Emily of the New Moon (also a series), and Jane of Lantern Hill, that I'd also highly recommend.

Leaf by Niggle is a short story by J.R.R Tolkien. As someone who's suffered through reading The Lord of the Rings (not because of quality but because of length), this short story, although also fairly long, is quite endearing. I think it has a good message and is light-hearted.

Also if you do want to read one of Tolkien's novels I would say start with The Hobbit, not only because it's the first but it is also much more light-hearted, and sometimes you can find beautifully illustrated editions.

Dracula by Bram Stokes. I think we are all familiar with the character Dracula, no? Well I think first time readers of Dracula will be surprised by this novel, told in letters and diary entries. Like I said I listened to it this year, in October (best time of the year of course), and was positively surprised by it. The dramatic irony in the beginning of knowing who Count Dracula is, or should I say what, and since I listened to a full cast audiobook it was a wonderful experience overall.

Lady Susan by Jane Austen. A epistiallry (told through letters) novella, extremely fun and comedic. I read this in one day at the start of this year. If none of Austen's novels interest you I would highly recommend looking into some of her short stories because most of what you'll find was written when she was younger, and they are very entertaining.

Want to start with a Jane Austen novel, I would suggest either Northanger Abbey, solely because it is shorter, or Emma because I think it is widely believed to be her best novel. It's funny, witty, and Emma is an interesting main character.

literature
20

About the Creator

Lauren Writes Austen

A dedcated creator to all things Jane Austen!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ringler Kuceraabout a year ago

    Articles to look forward to

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.