Geeks logo

Video Games vs. Movies

Which One is Better, if That’s Possible?

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 months ago 4 min read
1
Video Games vs. Movies
Photo by TRIN WA on Unsplash

I don’t know if it’s an actual debate amongst my fellow nerdy people, but it was one that I have had internally for years, especially as I entered adulthood and made gamer and/or movie-loving friends.

But if anyone else has this dilemma, I hope I can help you decide.

Movie Watching

By Myke Simon on Unsplash

Movies are a great way to let yourself be swept up into a story without being involved, like a book, only with visuals and audio.

You can watch them at home or make it a social event by going with friends/family to the movie theaters. 

If they like movies anyway.

My Experience

I’ve loved movies for as long as I can remember, since I came home from foster care, and from what my mom told me, before I went.

My mom loves them, and I would watch movies just about every time I had a visitation with my father.

So, I guess you could say it’s in my genes.

We have at least ten binders filled with DVDs, Blu-rays, and even some 4K discs sorted by genre at our house.

My favorite movie genre is action comedy, mainly because you can blend those two to most other genres. I also love sci-fi, fantasy, and animated movies.

I’m not into tragedies or horror flicks.

How I Watch Movies

When I’m cleaning, diamond painting, or doing something else around my house, I often put on a movie I’ve seen dozens of times to play in the background, usually a Marvel film.

This is if I’m home alone.

I like the noise, as it helps me focus on the task at hand. And I can come back to it whenever I feel like it.

They’re also a comfort whenever I’m having a bad day and need to recharge my mental and emotional batteries.

Video Gaming

By Alexey Savchenko on Unsplash

Like with movies, most video games provide a compelling story, stunning graphics, lovely musical scores, and awesome audio effects; only you get to play a character within that story.

There are also many genres, from sci-fi and fantasy to shooters to even simulations of real-life things. 

Some games can be played on a PC, console, or both. It can be an individual activity, or you can play with friends and other players, depending on the game or the mission/quest you’re doing within it.

My Experience

Unlike movies, video gaming is something I have only recently gotten into. And a big reason is because of the new online friends I made during my Texas trip.

The main game I’ve been playing is Destiny 2, an interesting blend of sci-fi and fantasy that’s pretty cool once you learn the backstory. But I can play it on my own or with others.

Even if I don’t feel like gaming, on the weekends, I can hop on a group chat through my PlayStation and bullshit with my new friends and partner, at least until Mom comes home from work because I have almost no privacy.

It’s nice that I can get this social interaction, as only two of my friends live anywhere near me these days. And I don’t hang out with them often.

As for actual gameplay, I haven’t played as much as I should if I want to join my friends on quests or raids.

But it’s not a go-to for me like movies are, and I tend to get easily frustrated, even when they’re helping me patiently, I might add.

Is One Better than the Other?

By Shuken Nakamura on Unsplash

If you had asked me that before October 2023, even with having been around other gamers, I definitely would have said that movies are better than video games. 

And that most gamers are shut-ins with no social skills. Which, from my experience, is true about half of the time, but I digress.

My love of cinema isn’t going away. Ever. So, it will probably always be my preference. And that’s fine with me.

But now that I’ve had hands-on experience with both, I think each is great in its own way, and it would be unfair to say one is better.

However, we all have different opinions, and you should decide for yourself.

So go on and find out for yourself!

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Subscribe for more content!

moviegamingentertainment
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    Marvelous work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.