Geeks logo

V’s Top Ten 80’s Movies

Nostalgia at its finest

By V. B. BPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
V’s Top Ten 80’s Movies
Photo by Girl with red hat on Unsplash

1. The Goonies - 1985 (dir. Richard Donner)

This one is super nostalgic for me, I watched it a lot as a kid and had that Cyndi Lauper song, the one that Josh Brolin exercised to, memorized. Mouth is honestly like my favourite character and an inspiration for my own sass. If you’re looking for a quintessential 80’s classic family movie, one with adventure and found family, this one’s your best bet. This is the stuff that Stranger Things and It tries to be.

2. The Princess Bride - 1987 (dir. Rob Reiner)

Again, very nostalgic for me. This is one of my mom’s favourites so we watched it quite a bit when I was a kid. It’s hilarious and witty, kind of parody-like in its absolute cheesiness, but it definitely deserves a watch. So many great lines to quote from in your day to day life, I know it's "inconceivable."

3. Beetlejuice - 1988 (dir. Tim Burton)

Of course, I gotta include Tim Burton. One of my all time favourite movies, although I was truly terrified of it as a child. It’s a trip alright but so good. You’ll go to the netherworld of snakes, sand, a tiny model of a neighbourhood, and a waiting-room for the dead.

4. The Terminator - 1984 (dir. James Cameron)

I quote this movie on a daily basis and I don’t regret it. Prepare for a whole lot of cheese but a side of awesomeness. Personally, I like the sequel Terminator 2: Judgement Day, it's a bit better but the original was pretty bomb as well. Talk about the consequences of sex am I right?!

5. The Lost Boys - 1987 (dir. Joel Schumacher)

So, this one is probably not as known as the others but I was obsessed with this movie in my teen years. It’s dark, witty, full of vampires and everyone is hot. What’s not to like?

6. Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom - 1984 (dir. Steven Spielberg)

I think I must’ve seen this movie a gazillion times. Every time I went to my step-grandparents’ house I would watch this Indiana Jones movie. The magic-like plot and the fun characters really spoke to me as a kid. And I will never forget the scene where they eat snakes, beetles, and monkey brain.

7. The Breakfast Club - 1985 (dir. John Hughes)

Now, I usually don’t like these types of movies from the 80’s (teen drama and whatnot) but for some reason I’ve always really liked this one. Maybe I just have a crush on Judd Nelson idk. But if you haven’t seen this movie I suggest you go watch it right now, it’s a classic and the music is iconic.

8. Blade Runner - 1982 (dir. Ridley Scott)

A futuristic world where robots hide in plain sight, sign me up. I feel like whenever I watch this movie I get a little more confused and understand a little less, but that just makes me want to watch it again and again. Also, shout out to Harrison Ford who is in like half of these recommendations.

9. Labyrinth - 1986 (dir. Jim Henson)

Praise the Goblin King (aka David Bowie). The Jim Henson puppetry and crazy plotline paint this as a perfect 80’s classic tale of whimsy and wonder.

10. Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back - 1980 (dir. Irvin Kershner)

Ah, yes of course Star Wars is on here. An absolute must have in my household. I remember losing my tooth on popcorn to this movie, sitting on my grandparents’ couch. Super nostalgic and super entertaining. I think the most recognizable scenes are in this one.

movielistentertainment
Like

About the Creator

V. B. B

I'm a pessimistic amateur poet and writer that has had a few violent and dark things published. Also, I love to make lists of my favourite movies, t.v. shows, books, and music.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.