Geeks logo

Unlikely Conversation

Short Story

By Matthew VacantiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Logan opened his eyes, examining his surroundings. He was on a fairly crowded airplane bound for Japan. Logan closed his eyes again as he was getting a headache listening to all the chatter. Some time had passed when Logan felt someone sit down in the seat next to him and heard the high-pitched shrill of a female in her twenties shout Konnichiwa.

Logan opened an eye and glanced at her, and there she was. Some blonde girl in her twenties wearing a t-shirt that said Osaka across the front in Japanese lettering and shorts way short for her own good. She said it again, Konnichiwa, before displaying a worried look on her face like someone squashed her dreams or something,

"Hey, you ok? You keep staring at me with one eye and not saying anything."

In a low voice, Logan replied, "You come over and sit next to me, talking to me in that cutesy-cutesy talk expecting what exactly? I'm not normally a mean person but have you thought that maybe the reason I'm sitting over here by myself is because I'm nursing a headache? or don't have the skills to converse properly?"

The girl looked shocked like she'd just been told a family member had died, "I didn't know..."

Closing his eye and leaning back in the chair in her direction, Logan replied, "No, of course not. That'd be a miracle."

Sighing, Logan opened both eyes in her direction, "Look, I'd just spent the last 24 in a hospital and apologize for being short. Why are you on this flight?"

The girl sat in silence but didn't move either, so either she was trying to agitate him or she was trying to teach him something, either way Logan yawned and closed his eyes.

"I have what you have and thought we would have common ground." the girl said before getting comfortable in the chair, "I was diagnosed with Lung Cancer this morning and always wanted to visit Japan, so here I am."

Logan looked back at her, "I don't have cancer but I might as well. I was a park ranger in a remote section of Bryce Canyon when I was attacked by a rabid Fennec. This Fennec was special because it was infected with something called a were gene and those that get attacked will more than likely get this gene as well, as it spreads from one host to another."

"What makes that worse than cancer?" the girl asked, more direct this time, "What makes having more hair worse then dieing from the inside out?"

The girl's demenor changed completly going from bubbly to almost menacing before Logan spoke, "I'm not ready to become cousin Itt and infecting those around me by possible scraching or waiting for my brain to rot itself so I no longer have the control of who I infect."

The girl looked at the back of the seat awhile and chuckled, "Who'd've thought two people on the same flight to the same destination would share the same views on what they feel their cancer will do them," she looked at Logan awhile before replying, "I'll leave you to your thoughts if you'd like me to. I'm no sure what I was expecting but I'm sure that wasn't it."

"No, you can stay. You don't seem like the type to have someone to go back and talk to, either that or you find me interesting for some reason or you wouldn't've singled me out. When you have cancer you don't automatically wear a sign that says 'I have Cancer', ya know?"

The girl repositioned herself in the chair so she faced Logan better, "I really do have lung cancer, in case you thought I was making it up for the sake of saving conversation."

To be Continued...

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Vacanti

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.