Geeks logo

Underwater - A Movie Review

'Underwater' sent shivers up my spine.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Stay together as you trek the dark pathways of the dark underwater.

Underwater is a 2020 sci-fi thriller that takes place on the ocean floor. After an undersea earthquake, a group of aquatic scientists works together to get to safety as they suit up and travel the floors of the ocean. Realizing that they are not alone, the team struggles to get to safety.

Sci-fi thrillers are my absolute favorite. The moment I saw posters and trailers marketing Underwater, I was excited to see this movie. As I sat in the dark theater witnessing the harrowing events unfold onscreen, Underwater sent shivers up my spine. However, while the film is great, it tends to steal away from other sci-fi genres ruining its originality.

Kristen Stewart masters her role as the courageous leader, Norah. It was so wrong of me to be skeptical about Stewart prior to my watch! Stewart carried the film never letting anyone give up. I liked her sense of humor. Nobody should ever doubt an actor’s abilities based on past films or their personal life. I could just feel the anguish as Norah struggled to stay calm as these mysterious creatures chased after her in the depths of the ocean.

I am impressed with how Underwater achieved a mix of characterization combining it with a fantastic blend of sci-fi thriller action. It has been a while since I have seen an ensemble of actors inhabit roles that have been repeated throughout horror movie history, without creating the usual stereotypes.

Jessica Henwick, T.J. Miller, Vincent Cassel, John Gallagher Jr., Mamoudou Athie, and Gunner Wright are a terrific group of actors. Paul (Miller) had a great sense of humor, Emily (Henwick) proved herself to be brave despite showing moments of hysteria, and Captain (Cassel) proved to be a hard-working guide looking out for his crew.

I love the pacing for Underwater. It’s quick to get into the story and there is little exposition. There are instances where characters bring up a brief backstory which immediately explains their personality.

Underwater rarely gives viewers time to breathe as we follow this claustrophobic mission to get to safety. Scenes that take place on the bottom of the ocean floor are spine-tingling. You never know when something is going to jump out and swim towards you.

I had a great time watching this movie, but I feel that it didn’t need to make itself a monster film. I felt like I was watching a remake to Alien at times only it took place underwater. I actually said to my friend who I was seeing this movie with, who agreed.

Like Alien, we only see this aquatic monster in quick, albeit frightening shots, chasing after them or disappearing with one of the crew members in an instant. And at the very end, one of the monsters looked as if it could have been a takeoff from another popular monster film.

William Eubank spawned an incredibly tense story to bring a team of talented actors to create a dark atmosphere that makes you feel relieved you’re sitting in a movie theater rather than traveling the collapsed flooding hallways at the bottom of the ocean. His direction was outstanding and I could tell that he paid close attention to character interactions. My only criticism is that he should have made it more original, than copying from another famous sci-fi thriller.

I could go see Underwater a second time just to experience the action, characters bickering, and walking along the dark ocean floor all over again! I recommend that you catch a showing of this movie on the big screen.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.