Geeks logo

Twisted Games Book Review

Ana Huang

By Devon ReneePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Rating: 5/5

Twisted Games is the second installment of the Twisted series by Ana Huang, which follows Bridget and her royal bodyguard, Rhys. Rhys is still haunted by his past, but somehow finds the light when he's around Bridget... even though he shouldn't, or he can't. Bridget wants nothing to do with the crown, but gains confidence that Rhys instills in her.

I will start off by saying, and acknowledging the author, Ana Huang... whatever you did with Twisted Games, I hope it is in the other books. I'm not sure what made Twisted Love so bland to me and maybe I need to reread it and see if I still get the same feelings... but Twisted Games is by far my favorite of this series, until I read the rest of course.

Rhy is definitely my favorite character. He loves with all his heart and fiercely loyal to Bridget, even when he knows he shouldn't be. His character arc was written magnificently, and by the end of the book Rhys is a completely different person, but in a good way. I have to say that his arc was one of the best ones I've read in a while, and that's saying something for someone who reads at least one book a day.

Bridget would be my next favorite because she simply fights for what she wants and doesn't back down. She also doesn't take the crap all the men give her when it comes to her and the crown, she wants to prove that women can rule just as well as men can. She also wants the best for her country, something other rulers never established and cared about. Her love and loyalty to her friends and family made me love her character.

The secrecy in Twisted Games kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time, along with parts of Rhys life being a mystery and wanting to figure everything out. Although I did guess the mystery right throughout the book, it was a lucky guess because nothing was obvious about it to me.

My favorite part of the book has to be the scene with Erhall, Bridget and Rhys. I will not spoil the scene for anyone who hasn't read the book, because it is in the last few chapters, but it had me high fiving Bridget and Rhys in my head. Along with this, Rhys romantic gestures have to be my favorite scenes that Ana Huang wrote throughout Twisted Games. There's romantic, and then there's Rhys romantic and I swooned at everything he managed to do for Bridget.

I definitely cied throughout this book, especially when Rhys was talking about his past.

Even though I loved and devoured this book, there were a couple things I would've liked to read more of. For exmaple, Andreas character. He was involved in a major development toward the end, and I felt like his character deserved more time once he appeared. I also would've loved to read more interactions between Bridget and her friends from the U.S., considering the strong bond they had before she left. I know it mentions that she spoke to them, but I loved their banter in Twisted Love and would've liked to see it continue in this novel as well. The last thing I disliked about the novel was the mention of a certain papparazi at the end being involved in Rhys drama because of the grudge he held against him, which was odd to me because I feel like it could've been left out and could've been filled with banter between the friends or extra scenes with Andreas.

This book is for a mature audience, and people who love a good spicy, but forbidden, romance. I highly recommend reading this, and then coming to my page to see reviews on the rest of the series.

I'm open to book recommendations and ways to make my reviews better for my readers, so don't hesitate to give me advice. If you find this review helpful to you please like, share, or even leave me a tip! Happy reading everyone.

review
Like

About the Creator

Devon Renee

First things first, I am an avid romance reader, but enjoy writing about anything. One thing you will probably see the most of is book reviews. I have recently obtained my BFA in Creative Writing and hope that you enjoy reading my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.