Geeks logo

Trainwreck - A Movie Review

I was actually decently surprised by 'Trainwreck.'

By Marielle SabbagPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Always give love a chance. Everyone deserves to love.

Trainwreck is 2015 film about a woman who loves to sleep around with men. Believing that love isn’t real, Amy reluctantly pursues a relationship with Aaron, a doctor. In this eye-opening time, she mends other relationships around her.

The main reason why I wanted to check out Trainwreck is that I have become a big fan of Bill Hader. I have looked up many clips of the movie on Youtube and I had mixed feelings. It’s a raunchy film and not all the jokes appealed to my nature. Thinking that I was not going to enjoy this film, I was actually decently surprised.

Viewers have had mixed feelings about Amy’s (Schumer) actions over the course of the film. She doesn’t take love seriously, gets high, and loves to drink. Some of her crass bits of comedy felt forced and were tongue in cheek. That aside she is only trying to make it in the world specifically with how she is treated in her toxic journalist work environment.

I liked the moments that conveyed Amy’s true nature and why she is distasteful about love. My favorite moment of all was when she presented an emotional speech, which changed my opinion on the film. She actually does learn a valuable lesson about her actions to which she delivered a meaningful (and hilarious) dance performance.

Bill Hader loses himself to any role that he is in. Thanks to Hader, he saves the film! As Dr. Aaron Conners, Hader pulled off a believable doctor. Aaron is shy and awkward, but he looks out for all his patients. He knows that there is something more to Amy that she, and arguably even audiences, don’t see. His comedic reactions, delivery, and study of his character is the best part of the film.

Schumer and Hader’s interactions were great. I could tell that they had a blast. I really thought that their relationship was ineffective, but I was wrong. The journey of their relationship is believable showing awkward moments, a fight, and heartwarming interactions.

Trainwreck has a notable cast. Brie Larson was a standout. Other credits to include are Colin Quinn, Vanessa Bayer, Mike Birbiglia, Ezra Miller, Tilda Swinton, Lebron James, and a load of surprises.

Hader and Lebron were hilarious trying to compete in a basketball tournament. John Cena was the best at trying to talk dirty but failing. And the 100-year-old Norman Lloyd was great in his performance, improvising for the first time in his career!

The film takes time to get into the plot littering us with scenes of Amy’s one-night stands. The script was weak in some parts, obviously being carried out with filler improv. It ran on the usual romantic rom-com cliches. The vulgar language and subject matter is not suitable for all audiences.

Judd Apatow managed to direct some form of a lesson into the film. I get where he was trying to take the film. His best focus was on Amy and Aaron’s relationship. Their relationship and the story are the two strongest parts of the film. He could have focused less on the comedy.

You never know who you may fall in love with. Give it a chance. Don’t base love off on others’ opinions or how your relationships have failed in the past. I really feel like Trainwreck had a genuine message about love which saved it from the lackluster plot.

Trainwreck is not a film for everybody. I would recommend it if you are in search for a new comedy. It surprised me when I didn’t think that I was going to like it.

review
1

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.