Geeks logo

'Toy Story 4' Trailer - My Thoughts

Sounds like 'Toy Story 4' is going to be one deep Pixar film.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like

Tuesday morning started off as a regular old morning where I’d wake up after a good night sleep. Picking up my phone to just glance around at notifications my heart immediately burst! Yes, the Toy Story 4 trailer is finally here!!

I watched the trailer about four times that day! I am a big Toy Story fan. Toy Story has a very special place in my heart. The characters, story, and growth are all inspiring. I am so glad that Toy Story has not ended yet.

It has been almost nine years since the third film hit the theaters. On the day Pixar had announced that they were making a fourth Toy Story movie back in 2014 I was ecstatic. But also skeptical. Toy Story 3 ended on such a perfect note. However, upon hearing that Bo was returning, it peaked my interest.

Let’s start off with the very beginning of the trailer. Woody announces to the whole gang that Bonnie has made a new friend in school. Before Woody states that it is really a toy, the other toys believe that their owner has made real friends.

In Bonnie’s first appearance in Toy Story 3, she has a very creative imagination, but she is very shy. For a brief snippet, as she is creating Forky, Bonnie is implied to be alone at a table. Which makes me wonder how long this story takes place after Toy Story 3.

Bonnie creates Forky, implied to be by herself at a table.

Toy Story of Terror is said to take place six months after Toy Story 3, which makes the story set in February. And then there is Toy Story That Time Forgot. Is this the first or the second Christmas the toys have spent with Bonnie? And Bonnie is very social with her friend, Mason.

I would like to say that Bonnie must have been four years old in Toy Story 3, and she’s six starting kindergarten or first grade in Toy Story 4.

Onto Forky, it has never been explained how toys come to life. Except, Forky is not a toy. He’s a handcraft spoon. One subplot appears to be that Forky has an existential crisis and runs off while Bonnie and her family are driving along the road. Speaking of which, they all appear to be on a road trip! Yay, road trips! I love road trip stories!

The gang is introduced to Forky.

Unlike in the first Toy Story, where Woody is so jealous of Buzz being the new favorite toy that he actually schemed to get rid of him. Now he's saying that they cannot let anything happen to Forky. Has he grown, or what?

After Forky takes off, Woody goes after him. Then they’re walking alongside the road having a deep conversation about the life of a toy. We also hear a meaningful echo of a famous line: “I am not a toy!”

Woody and Forky have a deep conversation along the road.

It turns out that Forky’s existential crisis is not the main plot of the movie.

Upon seeing a very familiar lamp, Woody goes inside what looks to be an old antique shop. While inside, he meets some creepy dolls. One is Gabby Gabby, and the others resemble the ventriloquist dummy that was an antagonist in Goosebumps. I am intrigued to find out where that scene will lead because it’s where Bo appears!

Does that lamp look familiar?

Gabby Gabby and the Puppet from Goosebumps

In Toy Story 3, it was heavily implied that Bo was sold off along with other toys. Woody’s response to Bo’s leaving is very important. And we may even get a flashback on how she disappeared. The scene already looks emotional!

Woody and Bo's Possible Emotional Goodbye Before the Third Film

I am a big Buzz and Jessie shipper, but I think it’s time for Woody and Bo’s relationship to evolve. Honestly, whenever I have told my friends that Woody and Bo were a couple, they were surprised.

Woody and Bo have not had enough screen time for their relationship. Buzz and Jessie had a whole subplot in Toy Story 3, and Toy Story of Terror was dedicated to showing how their relationship evolved. As much as I would love to see more Buzz and Jessie, it’s time for Bo to have a chance on the screen.

I will talk about the other toys for a moment. Toy Story 4 is implied to be more of Woody and Bo’s film. Buzz is on the rescue for Woody once more. The trailer is only two minutes of the 89-minute film coming to theaters in June. I just hope that the other toys, including Jessie, will have bigger parts.

The toys gather together about the whereabouts of Woody.

I also wonder what they have done with Mr. Potato Head, seeing how his actor Don Rickles has passed on. When Slicky’s voice was replaced, it’s hardly noticeable and he still had a good part.

Knowing Pixar, they always do such a good job with character screen time. I believe that all the toys will earn their deserved screen time. Other than Forky, there are three new characters. Two of them audiences have already been introduced to: Ducky and Bunny. There is also a character voiced by Keanu Reeves.

Now, back to Bo. She has a completely different wardrobe, rather than her long pink dress. I love her new design. Bo leads Woody into her world of lost (or free) toys.

Let’s be honest. Bo was never exactly a toy. She was a lamp accessory. Andy only used her in his playtime as the damsel in distress. And that’s how audiences have seen her. She’s never gone along for the adventures and Bo was only around for moral advice. It could be due to the fact that she is fragile, being made out of porcelain, or the other toys never really needed her so much.

Bo leads Woody to take a look at her life as a lost toy.

Bo’s character needs to be expanded. She has her own life now, living as a free toy. She’s happy this way. Woody keeps telling her that they have a kid to get back to, along with the importance of being a toy. Woody has always had an owner. He appears to know more about the life of a toy than anyone.

Theories have come about wondering if Bo is the villain. I have also read articles where Tom Hanks and Tim Allen couldn’t even read their lines without crying at the end of the film. Clearly, Woody has a big decision to make whether he stays with Bo, gives up his life as a toy, or returns to Bonnie, letting Bo go. That will be an epic decision.

There is also this tagline: "On the road of life, there are old friends, new friends, and stories that change you." Sounds like Toy Story 4 is going to be one deep Pixar film.

This is going to be one deep film. I better have my tissues packed when I see the movie in June. I have been waiting five years to see this film. And since college freshman me found out, I have now graduated college and I am an adult in the world. Who says that we ever grow up?

movie
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.