Geeks logo

Top 5 Latin American Authors

The Best of Latin American Literature

By Jay CorderoPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3

As a bookworm, I love reading, it is one of my favorite things to do. However, it has been hard for me to share my love for Latin American literature while growing up in the U.S. The literature curriculums are not diverse enough for students here to learn about the vast richness of Latin American culture, especially now with the wide divestment of education (this is the case in NYC at least). That being said, today I’m going to share my favorite Latin American authors and some of their best work.

5. Junot Diaz

Born in the Dominican Republic, Diaz uses his experience as a young Dominican immigrant growing up in the U.S. While all three of his books are fiction, one can't help but notice that there might be some autobiographical aspects in his works. His voice as a writer is very unique; it feels like the combination of a Dominican who grew up in the barrio (“the hood”) and a Dominican who is college-educated. I personally love Diaz's voice as a writer, I find it to be as comforting as sancocho (Dominican curry-soup hybrid as of my sister's description).

I read two of Diaz’s books in their entirety, and I think the best one of his latest novel, This is How You Lose Her. It is dark, funny, and sad at times; Diaz’s dark and self-deprecating humor (or at least what I interpreted as self-deprecating) was highly relatable. Throughout the novel, we learn about the misfortunes of a young Dominican man and how he deals with love in his life.

4. Julia Alvarez

Also of Dominican descent, Alvarez writes beautifully about Dominican history and the immigrant experience. In one of her most popular books, In the Times of the Butterflies, she writes about one of the most significant events in Dominican history; Trujillo's rule as a dictator and the heroic movement that took him out of power. We learn about three women who were part of this movement through the lens of their only surviving sister.

3. Mario Benedetti

To be honest, I have only read one book from Benedetti. I thoroughly enjoyed his writing style. However, the story itself wasn't as compelling to me personally. Despite La Tregua not being the type of book I usually read, I have to admit that the characters won me over. Avellaneda’s sweet and strong personality makes the reader fall in love with her. The way she interacts with the main character’s daughter was very telling of her likable nature.

Benedetti is very well known in the Latin American literary world, and I’m looking forward to reading more of his works.

2. Gloria Anzaldua

Chicana, woman, and lesbian; In her book Borderlands/La Frontera, Anzaldua explores the history and culture of Mexico and the south of the U.S through the lens of the intersectionality of identities such as culture, gender, and sexuality. Anzaldua talks about the duality of a psyche that has a “border wound.” Her writing is beautiful, poetic, inspiring; her choice of words is detailed and focuses on imagery that depicts her relationship with her culture. She talks about native Mexican culture and history in both an informative and artistic way.

1. Gabriel Garcia Marquez

This Colombian author is well-known for writing the award-winning novel, One Hundred Years of Solitude. His use of magical realism makes his novel even more vivid. The attention to detail, from the aromas and sounds to the personalities of the characters, makes reading his work a unique experience. My favorite thing about this book was how descriptive it was, the imagery used makes reading like an immersive experience. This, of course, makes the book a little longer. However, it is a pleasure to read.

literature
3

About the Creator

Jay Cordero

Hello!

Ever since I was little I loved stories; they made me feel connected to something bigger than myself. This is why I am working towards becoming a writer. I want to be able to replicate the bliss I feel when reading for my readers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.