Geeks logo

To binge or not to binge?

The Following is a DEFINITE binge-worthy option

By Lauren DeePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Following

I think we all go through phases of what we think is entertaining. From shows you watch when you're in a group of friends vs. what you watch when you're feeling gross and binge eating snacks all day in the dark. We all have our dirty little secrets, and it varies for the mood.

A show that I found that consumed me was The Following. First off, one of the main characters is Kevin Bacon (I mean come on, that's reason enough). Second, it is an Edgar Allen Poe based cult that is led by a murderous literature teacher. Now that I have your attention! It is a cop mystery at its finest. It has gore, drama, love, action, etc. This has everything in it that any mystery, Poe, cult, Kevin Bacon loving human would enjoy.

In high school we were assigned to read The Raven, since then I have fallen in love with Poe. He was a crazy man, that lived a crazy life and he deserves more recognition than he gets. It is more than just a poem that you trudge through to get good grades in English class, it’s a story that has an amazing meaning and it sticks with you. This is my favorite thing about Poe, his work resonates with you and causes feelings. For me, that is what the show focuses on and it makes it into this beautiful crazy thing.

Cults have always been intriguing to me and this show definitely nails it in that aspect. I know this is controversial, but growing up in a strict religious household and seeing things that went on with the church and then learning about cults as I got older, it really hit me. I felt like I could relate to these cult members, I could feel what they were feeling for that longing and the pull. You know what I mean? I wasn’t mad about the feelings this show gave me as I watched this show all the way through 4 separate times. It just made the experience of the show that much more impactful, and for me, that is high quality entertainment.

Then you have Kevin Bacon, Shawn Ashmore, and James Purefoy. These are all actors that we know, love and quite possibly drool over. If you don’t, then let the other aspects of this show be the reason you watch it. All of the actors in the show are really good! They play their parts of acolytes, mental patients, cops, etc. so perfectly. This show is a must see in my book!

Being a cult film there is violence, drama and some scenes that just might make you uncomfortable if you’re a normal person. I, personally, am very weird and desensitized by a life time of my own personal baggage and from reading horror and mystery books my entire life. If all this sounds inviting to you, you should definitely take the time to watch this show, you’ll be hooked on episode one! This is not a slow paced show. I know that most popular shows are slow building, if you’re like me, I love to see the action in every episode. I want that excruciating pain scene that leaves you disturbed. I need that horrible cliff hanger that absolutely destroys you until you are able to watch the next episode.

My suggestion for you, take the next week off and binge the hell out of The Following. I could go on and on about it, but it’s better left to view in your own perspective, feel the feelings that it brings to you. I think you’ll find it deserves more justice than me sharing my own feelings about it.

tv
Like

About the Creator

Lauren Dee

I have had very disturbing dreams my whole life. I write fictional short stories, rants and poems all based off of my experiences in life. They can be dark, but it's the only way I can get them out of my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.