Geeks logo

Thoughts While Watching 'Mamma Mia'

Dancing Queen, Only Seventeen!

By Kayla SimasPublished 6 years ago 14 min read
Like

If you're anything like me, and Mamma Mia is your favorite movie, you can't help but sing along and know every single line. That's why I wrote this reaction list, of thoughts while watching... Enjoy!

  1. *Sees Universal Pictures logo* IT’S STARTING!!!
  2. Why is she randomly on a boat in the middle of the night alone!? Don’t you know only creeps are out at this time. I mean, no one’s around, but still!
  3. ….a song to singggggg, to help me cope…. If you see the wonders of a fairy taleeeeee…
  4. — EVEN IF YOU FAIL! HA. Said it before, Amanda Seyfield, sorry.
  5. Sam Carmichael. Bill Anderson. Harry Bright. Total 60s names.
  6. Ok that’s an odd place to have an eye tattoo; the knee? That had to hurt.
  7. IF THERES A MAN OUT THERE… oh wait, this is only the instrumental version.
  8. MAMMA MIA! I think I screamed too (along with Sophie and her friends).
  9. Sophie is such a beautiful name. I’m going to name my first daughter Sophie.
  10. You’re too young to get married!!!
  11. No she didn’t find her father, per say.
  12. “Summer romance…”
  13. Ooo. Sophie’s very sneaky looking through her mom’s stuff. I wouldn’t dare.
  14. This is why I’ll never keep a diary!
  15. And DOT DOT DOT
  16. HONEY, HONEY!!!!! A huh… HONEY HONEY!!!
  17. This song is so catchy.
  18. Why did Sophie and her friends freak out at “THING”?
  19. Stupid ass, going home to get married.
  20. August 4th…damn, Donna really got it on!
  21. … DOT DOT DOT
  22. …DOT DOT DOT
  23. MERYL STREEP!!!!!
  24. Oh we all know you used to have fun, Donna! ;)
  25. Ok what are the chances that the two men Sophie invited miss the SAME boat!? Like that doesn’t happen in real life!
  26. OH MY GOD. Is the same reaction I would have too (Sophie inviting all three men)?
  27. Ok wait. Where did Sophie’s friends go? How do two people go missing like that? (end of "Honey, Honey")
  28. Thank god for Bill!
  29. “EXCUSE ME I HAVE A SENIOR CITIZEN WITH ME!!!” “Mother, we’re the same age.” Donna’s friends crack me up!
  30. Tanya, WHY would you think that’s a baby in a BASKET!? It probably smells, too, it’s a fish!!!!
  31. Oh c’mon that fish wasn’t that scary!!!
  32. You sure about that Sophie, will you really know who your father is when you see him?
  33. SKY is very dreamy.
  34. Oh Donna will definitely kill you when she finds out!
  35. Will it really fall into place?
  36. LOOK at that beautiful ocean! Omg I WANT TO GO THERE.
  37. Donna’s old beat up car, love it.
  38. LOOK AT WHAT THE TIDE WASHED IN. FOR ONE NIGHT, AND ONE NIGHT ONLY. DONNA AND THE DYNAMITES!!!!!! I can only hope my friends and I are that crazy when we’re in our 50s.
  39. HAHAH I am definitely Rosie! “It’s time to find Mr. Right!” “Pleaaasseee, BORINGGGG!”
  40. LOL Donna calling her friends serial bride and hermit.
  41. That really is me, too, Rosie!!! *cue the wolf sounds*
  42. Ew. Who wants a big white wedding?
  43. Skyeeee <3
  44. How did Skye know who was who already? That would’ve been awkward if he mixed them up.
  45. Harry looks so uncomfortable on the boat. How are you spontaneous?
  46. Why would Donna invite you to a wedding you never met the bride!? THINK. Men don’t think.
  47. Rosie has the jokes.
  48. Sophie’s only 20!? And getting married?! I’m 21!? Well that sail shipped a long time ago!
  49. “He’s gonna put me on the line.” Sounds like something an adult would say…
  50. “Drink the water, and find the love of your life”….I’ll take a bucket of that.
  51. YES, create the island its own website. I want to visit!!!
  52. Skye and Sophie are adorable! Gotta find me a guy like that.
  53. Why wouldn’t you want tourists, Donna!? The island is beautiful!
  54. Hahahahaha, maybe I don’t want to visit anymore. Nothing works???
  55. That was a hotel???
  56. MERYL’S FIRST SONG OF THE MOVIE. YAS!!!! SING IT!!!!
  57. When the locals sing, I sing: AIN’T IT SAD.
  58. Donna’s facial reaction to wanting a “wealthy” man is hilarious.
  59. MONEY, MONEY, MONEY! MUST BE FUNNY IN A RICH MAN’S WORLD!!! Love this song!!!
  60. How many problems do these people actually have that they’re all going to Donna!? Can’t they do it?
  61. Why’d all those women get up like they did something wrong when Donna walked in??
  62. AIN’T IT SAD!
  63. THAT’S TOO BAD!
  64. Why is she singing to a fish!?
  65. The editing in this movie is pretty good.
  66. Now they’re on a boat!? (Donna and friends)
  67. THIS IS THE PART WHERE THE CRACK IN THE DOLPHIN MOSAIC HAPPENS! (After "Money, Money, Money")
  68. BOOM! Called it!
  69. Rosie using a thong as a slingshot hahahah.
  70. Sophie’s facial reaction when meeting her “fathers” — you are expecting them, aren’t you!?
  71. Sophie is a Greek name? Not feeling the Sophia name.
  72. Well, we all know who Sophie was named after! Bill’s aunt!
  73. “Big reunion.” Hahahahah you’re in for a treat, boys.
  74. I really hope my friends and I are Donna and her friends.
  75. The fact that Donna used a screw driver and said, “down boy, down boy!”
  76. Is it really over, Donna?
  77. HA. Don’t hold your breath, Harry, that is your room!
  78. “the good old days….” DOT DOT DOT
  79. Yeah the last time Donna saw you and said she didn’t want to see you again is because you were going back to get MARRIED, dumb ass!
  80. It’s surely an adventure!
  81. Definitely a special reason to be here, or you wouldn’t have come for a wedding!
  82. OH NO. DONNA IS COMING.
  83. Why’d you slam the window, Sophie!? So not suspicious at all!
  84. Donna, don’t look.
  85. Ok you can look, I would too!
  86. Whoa that’s what they looked like when she was with them!? Terrible taste, Donna!
  87. MAMMA MIA SONG, YASSSS!!!!!!!!
  88. THERES A FIRE WITHIN MY SOUL…JUST ONE LOOK AND I CAN HEAR A BELL RING… WHOAHAA… MAMMA MIAA HERE I GO AGAIN, MY MY, HOW COULD I RESIST YOU.. MAMMA MIAAAAAAAA.
  89. DONNA ON THE ROOFTOP SPYING ON OLD FLAMES IS ME.
  90. Why do the locals always sing along? Like are they always ready to sing?
  91. Hey dumbass, why would you open the latch in the ceiling!?
  92. Why are you praying, Donna!?
  93. YUP. That would be just my luck too!! Falling through.
  94. BUT HOW DOES ONE FALL BY SOMEONE BLOWING AIR AT THEM!?
  95. Quite the entrance, Donna!
  96. Don’t recognize you? I think one would remember someone they spent time together with, common sense Harry.
  97. Nice response, Sam! “here to drop by and say hi.”
  98. LOL that’s always the definition of “Stranger.”
  99. Your daughter is getting married, Donna, not just any “local girl.”
  100. Oh yeah, if it meant that much to you, Sam, why’d you leave!?
  101. LOL ANCHORS AWAY!
  102. OH MY GOD. This guy flirting with Tanya. She’s literally old enough to be your grandmother.
  103. HA CALLED IT BEFORE YOU, ROSIE.
  104. Oh, Donna, please don’t cry!
  105. Rosie and Tanya singing…
  106. OH MY GOD. Tanya standing on Rosie to see Donna, and the locals watching, I’d be laughing my ass off. Oh wait, I already am!!!!
  107. This is such a sad song.. :(
  108. Literally. Rosie. Is. Me!!! She fell into the sink LOL.
  109. Where’d all the tissues come from!?
  110. Lmao, why would Rosie be taking the meds, I think Donna needed it more.
  111. Donna’s part is coming!!!
  112. SOPHIE’S DAD, TANYA. WHO ELSE?
  113. Donna really got it on! So, wait, who’s her father!?
  114. THE OLE GOAT HOUSE!!!
  115. Why are Sophie and her friends hiding in the hay!?!?! Hahahahah
  116. Harry “HEADBANGER” LOL
  117. What was so funny, locals?! VERY GREEK!
  118. Donna! Why wouldn’t you tell them you had a daughter!
  119. Oh, Sophie already knows!
  120. LOL Donna literally just called herself a “stupid reckless, little slut.”
  121. HERE COMES DANCING QUEEN !!!!
  122. YOU CAN DANCEE!! YOU CAN JIVEE!! HAVING THE TIMEE OF YOUR LIFEE!!
  123. What the hell is Rosie holding!?
  124. Oh my gosh, Tanya is hilarious.
  125. AND WHEN YOU GET THE CHANCE, YOU ARE THE DANCING QUEEN!!! YOUNG AND SWEET, ONLY 17!!! FEEL THE BEAT OF THE TAMBORINE !!
  126. I LOVE THIS SONG SO MUCH OMG
  127. Rosie is seriously me sliding down the stairs! HAH
  128. AND DANCING!! HAHA
  129. Love the fact that all the women join in this dance!!!
  130. You can’t see it, but I’m literally dancing and singing along right now. THIS IS MY SONG
  131. YOU CAN DANCE. YOU CAN JIVE. HAVING THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE. SEE THAT GIRL!!!
  132. Damn there’s a lot of women on this island!
  133. Where’d the guy w the piano come from!?
  134. Girl power on that one! But why didn’t everyone jump in the water!?
  135. Where’s Sophie and her friends?
  136. There she is!
  137. Where are they going!?
  138. LOL borrowing means she knows you took it, you obviously stole it, Harry.
  139. HERE COMES ANOTHER SONG!!! OUR LAST SUMMER!!!
  140. Hopped on a train, and followed her to Greece? What happened!
  141. Donna was quite the traveler!
  142. I wanna try cliff jumping! Very spontaneous.
  143. You still carry photos of your ex!? That’s just insane wtf?
  144. I think Sam’s Sophie’s father! Has to be!
  145. How big is this island that Donna don’t see y’all!?
  146. SKYE!!!!
  147. ANOTHER SONG! YAS!!
  148. Oh you definitely saved yourself on that one, Skye!
  149. Skye is so hot. Ughh.
  150. And he can sing!!
  151. Can I find myself a Skye? Like do I have to travel to Greece for one of him?
  152. Sophie and Skye were definitely close to having sex on the beach…
  153. Where the hell did all those guys with snorkels come from!?
  154. They look like such idiots dancing like that with flippers, please no.
  155. Sophie’s bachelorette party! Wait, she has this many friends???? HOLD ON. How did she meet the other girls that were her friends if she lived on the island and they came to the island on a boat!?
  156. FOR ONE NIGHT AND ONE NIGHT ONLY !!!! YAS ANOTHER SONG IS COMING.
  157. want Donna and the Dynamites at my bachelorette party!
  158. C’mon cue the music.
  159. The outfits are kinda weird. Total 70s.
  160. Meryl can sing! Anyone says otherwise, they can sleep in the dog house!
  161. The editing in this movie is actually really good!
  162. Why are all three of Donna’s ex’s exploring the island together? Like ain’t that weird?
  163. Hey, you’re not supposed to be at a bachelorette party!
  164. Donna’s reaction when she sees her exes! Couldn’t come at a better lyric, “somewhere in the crowd is you.”
  165. But on the real note, I really think Sam is still in love with Donna. Like he’s always fixated on her. He’s the only one watching her! SOPHIE I FOUND YOUR DAD.
  166. HA. The way Donna tried telling Rosie and Tanya about the guys being there is something my friends and I would do, too!
  167. But no, Sam. You can’t dance. No.
  168. Okay, why was Sophie overly excited like that? Super Trouper is a good song, but believe me, there’s much better songs to be excited for.
  169. “Women only!!!”
  170. Why are they tying Bill and Harry to a pole!?
  171. Sophie! you’re definitely talking to your father right now!! SAM!
  172. Donna’s mother is definitely dead in this movie!
  173. Get them plastered then go fishing, very smart idea, Rosie.
  174. LOL Harry has two dogs he calls his kids…aka me one day.
  175. Great Aunt Sophia left money to family…wait is Bill Sophie’s father!? No, can’t be.
  176. YOU THINK!?
  177. Twin sister!? She’s getting married tomorrow, what do you think?
  178. “PEOPLE EVERYWHERE” *cue the music again*
  179. WHO ARE THESE PEOPLE!? LIKE DOES SOPHIE KNOW ALL OF THESE LOCALS!?
  180. The dancing is choreographed so well in this movie.
  181. WHY WOULD YOU LIE ABOUT NO ONE GIVING YOU AWAY, SOPHIE!?
  182. Oh my god do none of these men realize they’re invited to a girl that might be their daughter, but not question maybe it ain’t theres and could be the other guys!?
  183. I would faint too!!!
  184. Tanya’s plastered lmaoo.
  185. Donkey testicles, really Rosie!?
  186. LOL LITERALLY ME WHEN ROSIE FALLS INTO THE OCEAN.
  187. Ok the way Harry just looked at Bill… LOL WAIT HOLD UP — Bill knew it all the time hahahahahah.
  188. MARRY HER, WHAT !? He was talking bout Sophie — having a daughter, Harry!!
  189. LOL BILL’S APRON
  190. Donna, that’s not what Sophie was talking bout!
  191. OH SHIT. SOPHIE JUST DID IT. YELLED AT DONNA FOR NOT KNOWING HER FATHER.
  192. I’m pretty sure bagpipes don’t ware off unwanted visitors.
  193. About time you fix that dolphin crack!
  194. Do you really love being alone, Donna?
  195. Free and single, my motto.
  196. Another song!!! S.O.S
  197. Sam is definitely still in love with Donna. I think he’s Sophie’s father. Has to be.
  198. What happened to your love, it used to be so good???? HE LEFT YOU TO GO GET MARRIED!
  199. Kinda like the dress Donna’s wearing.
  200. What the hell is Harry doing!?
  201. And whoa! Tanya has another man!
  202. “Little boys who play with fire get their fingers burned” LOL Tanya!
  203. I’m pretty sure she’s more embarrassing him than anything else.
  204. YUP. She totally is.
  205. Ouch, I can’t even pull my leg back that far, and Tanya again!? TF am I doing wrong?
  206. If this was literal, there’s no way to push a guy down by blowing air at them.
  207. But how much did Harry give Donna!?!
  208. Oh no. Sophie’s gonna tell Skye.
  209. Her DAD’s, Skye. Her father!
  210. He’s right, knowing who you are doesn’t come from getting married!
  211. Omg. I want a guy like Skye. He traveled around and when he found her, he put everything on hold for her. OMG. #RelationshipGoals
  212. Sam is the worst person to seek advice from.
  213. Donna’s face when Sophie asks her to help!
  214. This is an ADORABLE song, “Slipping Through my Finger.”
  215. Chills down my spine for this song, all the time.
  216. Donna and Sophie’s mother-daughter moment always brings tears to my eyes!
  217. Tears rolling down my eyes too, Donna giving Sophie away!
  218. Ok what kind of dress is that!? And why tf are you riding on a mule!?
  219. WHY IS THE CHURCH UP THAT HILL!? Was it always that far!?
  220. Sophie doesn’t want her father giving her away anymore, Sam!
  221. OMG OMG OMG. MY FAVORITE SONG IS COMING UP NEXT!!!!!!!!
  222. THE WINNER TAKES IT ALL, THE LOSER STANDING SMALL!! BESIDE THE VICTORY THATS HER DESTINY!!!
  223. YES, I’M SINGING WORD FOR WORD OF THIS SONG! NO JUDGING.
  224. MERYL STREEP DID A PHENOMENAL PERFORMANCE WITH "WINNER TAKES IT ALL."
  225. “DOES IT FEEL THE SAME WHEN SHE CALLS YOUR NAME?” THEY AREN’T MARRIED ANYMORE, DONNA, SO NOPE!
  226. “THE JUDGES WILL DECIDEEEEEEEE” I CAN’T CONTAIN MYSELF WITH THIS SONG. I DON’T CARE IF I SAID THAT ALREADY.
  227. “I DONT WANNA TALK. CAUSE IT MAKES ME FEEL SAD. AND I UNDERSTAND, YUVE COME TO SHAKE MY HAND. I APOLOGIE IF IT MAKES U FEEL BAD. SEEING ME SO TENSEEEE SO SELF CONFIDENCE, BUT U SEE THE WINNER TAKES IT ALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL THE WINNER TAKESSSS IT ALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL” GOD DAMN MERYL YOU DID GOOD JOB AT THIS!
  228. How are you not out of breathe singing and running up the hill!?!?!?!!?!?!?!?!!?!!?
  229. Why didn’t you chase after her, Sam!?!
  230. I really don’t like Sophie’s dress. It looks like rags put together, I’m sorry.
  231. HERE COMES THE BRIDEEEEEE…. isn’t the music supposed to sound like that as the bride comes down the aisle???
  232. Why are Sophie’s friends sitting on the grooms side!? AND Sam!?!
  233. Donna represents family… Donna’s gonna tell Sophie who her father is!!!!
  234. “You couldn’t have invited him, I don’t know which one he is.” THAT'S DEFINITELY SOMETHING YOU WANT TO SAY IN FRONT OF A PRIEST!
  235. LOL “I don’t care if you slept with 100s of men.” The priest's face!!! LOL
  236. Why is all of this happening AT A WEDDING. I hope my day doesn’t see this!
  237. YOU CAME BACK!?! WHAT!!
  238. YOU STILL MARRIED LORRAINE!?
  239. LOL Harry has a third of a child! That’s a good way to put it.
  240. WHOAAA!!!! So many secrets are coming out in this church!!!
  241. Harry is gay! Totally knew it from the beginning! Donna was the first and last girl he loved, deff called it!
  242. Bill? You’re next.
  243. WHAT!!!! YOU DONT WANT TO GET MARRIED!?
  244. TRAVEL. UGH. I WANT SKYE.
  245. Why waste a good wedding, well who’s getting married!?
  246. YES YES YES YES!!!! SAM STILL LOVES DONNA
  247. YES YES YES!!! SAY I DO, I DO, I DO !!!
  248. This is a cute engagement!
  249. I DOOOO! C’MON!
  250. I KNEW ITTT!! DONNA ALWAYS LOVED SAM CARMICHAEL!
  251. This wedding was rather….VERY GREEK! I love it!
  252. Donna deserved to be happy! IDC if she’s a fictional character!
  253. A second chance at love <3
  254. So now wait. Since Donna and Sam are married, this makes Sam Sophie’s father, technically…doesn’t it?
  255. I wonder what his two sons are gonna say when they find out their father got married and they weren’t invited! And do they have a third of a sister, too, now?
  256. Rosie and Bill? I can see it!
  257. BILLS A WRITER, TOO!? OH MY GOD. “LONE WOLF.”
  258. I’m definitely Rosie hahahahaha!
  259. SPEECH!!
  260. Ok, I wouldn’t get on the table like Rosie, but she’s hilarious.
  261. Bill don’t act like you're not interested in Rosie!!!
  262. YAS!!! finally!
  263. All these people jumping on the mosaic dolphin is gonna crack it more
  264. I CALLED ITT!!!
  265. Mamma Mia! Is deff something I’d say if water came from the middle of the ground, too!
  266. Ok, some guys should just not take off their shirts in this. Skye is the exception <3
  267. They’re ending it the way they started it… ‘I have a dreaaaaam.’
  268. Thank you for the musiccccc! (yes I watch till the credits!)
  269. I love Mamma Mia!!!!! Watch it again!!?!?!?!?!
  270. I think so. Watching it again!
You're probably searching Mamma Mia online free, or putting the DVD into your DVD player right now, aren't you?

movie
Like

About the Creator

Kayla Simas

Kayla Simas is a teacher and journalist from Staten Island, New York. She enjoys writing, traveling and country music turned up loud.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.