Geeks logo

Thinking Of Changing This Up

I don't think my current niche (from me) will be missed here

By D. L BesterPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Thinking Of Changing This Up
Photo by Daniel Mingook Kim on Unsplash

I'll start by saying I currently write tarot readings and they are more popular on Medium, check it out if you'd like. But I hardly post here, and I was thinking, I could do more with this.

I want to write about tech.

You might be asking, "do you know anything about tech?"

The answer is simply: no.

I feel like this is something I've been meant to do. If that makes any sense. In my defense when I was in high school, I took several web development classes, I remember it being so much fun. I thought I was pretty decent at it.

The problem: that was several years ago.

So I've decided to stop letting time get away from me, and now I have to learn how to manage my time better, write more (because I also want to publish a novel), read more, code more, everything more, more, more.

I feel this is something that could be very overwhelming, but honestly, I have always enjoyed this feeling of being overwhelmed by things. I feel I am going to enjoy starting from the beginning.

I may want to quit, but here I am, learning to be more consistent and not give up just because something is hard.

I do understand that this will be extremely difficult, especially because I have no experience. In my defense, I have been endlessly scrolling on YouTube trying to find someone who has been in my boat.

It seems as though there a few people who have started from scratch, (lol, get it?) It seems like most of them have been coding for a long time. I already feel overwhelmed and confused.

I have come across some very entertaining shorts about coding jobs and they are funny, I can't help but think these videos and shorts are a waste of time. I am one to procrastinate and that's exactly what I am doing. I am trying to fill my time with videos, on how to get started...without starting.

The first step:

Begin

I have a few coding apps on my phone to help get me going and familiar with HTML all over again. As I continue, I realize that I'm as out of touch as I thought I was. I'm not sure how far I got in high school, but I'm trying to train myself to stop thinking about it so much and to stop trying to remember how things were then. That was long ago and none of it matters now.

Now that I am refreshing my brain, I am getting impatient. I am trying to get over this fact as well. I have not actually practiced or learned anything new in a long time, especially something this challenging. Some of you (who already program) might say-

It's not that hard

Oh yes, yes it is. I am also trying to untrain my brain to believe that this is something that will be too hard for me to begin/ accomplish. Technically I have done this before. But that was before I was a mom of 3 and wife, and before I had all these other responsibilities that take up so much of my day.

I guess that will be the most difficult part.

So I am now going to change this (if I can) from Candlelit Tarot to (some clever coding lingo name that I can't think of right now).

If you are wanting to check out my readings that I offer on Candlelit Tarot, then check it out below. I also have an amazing group of podcasts that I produce, host, and edit myself:)

https://anchor.fm/candlelittarot

Candlelit Tarot on Medium

See you soon!

social media
1

About the Creator

D. L Bester

mother, wife, podcaster, writer, designer, coder in training:)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.