Geeks logo

The Umbrella Academy (Season 1): RANKED

Every episode from the first season of 'The Umbrella Academy' from Worst to Best

By Cronan ParryPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

Season 3 of The Umbrella Academy just released so let's rank the previous seasons! If you aren't up to date on the show there will be spoilers

10th: 'Run Boy Run' (S1 E2)

IMDb Rating: 7.7/10 (5,028 votes)

My Rating: 7.625/10

Something they do repeatedly in this show is act surprised that when the apocalypse happens they all die. Like, babes it's an apocalyptic end of the earth? Also, the Earth ends when the moon hits it and burns everything up, but Five lives on Earth near his childhood home and things are still there? At this point in the show I'm watching for Klaus. It's all basically fine unless Klaus is there and then it's great. Hazel and Chas Cha are good. Diego and that cop lady are bad.

9th: 'We Only See Each Other at Weddings and Funerals' (S1 E1)

IMDb Rating: 7.7/10 (5,924 votes)

My Rating: 7.65/10

Klaus is a 10/10. Love the dance scene and the eulogy scene. The show has opened well but it's not amazing or anything, just ahh yes this is good I'm enjoying myself, let's see where it goes.

8th: 'Extra Ordinary' (S1 E3)

IMDb Rating: 7.8/10 (4,650 votes)

My Rating: 7.9/10

At this point the characters are growing on me a little more. Five ups from good to great. Vanya (I know he is now Viktor, I think it's probably okay to use the name relevant to the show at the time we're talking about. But Elliot Page is a real person and I don't wish to disrespect his life or the shows Season Three work with Viktor. So I'm going to say Viktor for the rest of this.) is a sad puppy but he is entrancing to watch. The mystery of their father's death didn't interest me the first watch through and is even less relevant on a rewatch. Why would I care about how a man no one likes died when Five is out here trying to stop an apocalypse and being chased by assassins with fun masks?

Agnes can have the whole world I love her.

Hazel and Cha Cha's attack on the house is so much fun and they kidnap Klaus which is the best way to get me to care.

7th: 'The White Violin' (S1 E10)

IMDb Rating: 8.7/10 (5,045 votes)

My Rating: 7.925/10

I know this is probably a controversial place to put the finale. It has some great moments. But overall, it just feels a little lacking. We spend all this time building up Viktor's emotions and then remove them entirely and make him a white void musical instrument of nothing? The theatre attack just doesn't work for me. I think the issue is a lack of choreography and direction plus a possible budget limit. There's lots to like and I enjoy it but it does leave me feeling a bit meh at points.

6th: 'Man on the Moon' (S1 E4)

IMDb Rating: 7.9/10 (4,407 votes)

My Rating: 8.1/10

I'm getting more invested in Luther and Alison as characters and I like seeing Luther's loneliness and transformation.

You can definitely see that Harold/Leonard is a bad guy on your rewatch. You can pick up weird vibes the first time through but he just keeps dropping little sentences against Viktor's family and it's interesting to see the subtle manipulation build into fully taking control of Viktor's life as we go on.

Klaus is getting tortured and loving it. I'm loving him. Forced to be sober his powers come into play and then he ends up time travelling. Yes this is all great, thank you.

I do not give a fuck about Diego, his love interest, his mommy issues or his hero complex.

Hazel and Cha Cha dancing their way int building burning is what i want more please.

5th: 'The Day That Was' (S1 E7)

IMDb Rating: 8.1/10 (4,134 votes)

My Rating: 8.15/10

Seeing Hazel's side of the Hazel and Cha Cha issue is fun. He's certainly the more interesting of the two characters.

Diego, Five and Alison go off on a lil mission and it's great. At this point I do enjoy every character a fair bit. Some of them still have things that I could live without. But the interactions between the siblings especially in small groups is really a huge part of what I enjoy in this show.

4th: 'Number Five' (S1 E5)

IMDb Rating: 8.2/10 (4,379 votes)

My Rating: 8.4/10

How I wish that this had been 5th place. It is not revelation that you all die in the apocalypse. It's the apocalypse.

Learning more about Five and meeting The Handler is really interesting and takes the plot to a new level of intrigue and depth. If episode 4 is where the show really starts this is where the show begins to reveal itself.

Seeing Klaus dealing with the aftermath of war and the death of a loved one is heartbreaking and wonderful. Especially as we get some queer representation that is just accepted, something this show does well every time.

I really appreciate Alison's attempts to repair her relationship with Viktor. Something no one else is bothered about.

But the truly glorious moment in this episode is the disastrous roadside meeting of Hazel, Cha Cha, Luther and Five. Crashed by an ice-cream van and two (three) idiotic brothers in slow motion as 'Ride of the Valkyries' plays moving into a frozen moment in time where The Handler arrives to make a deal with Five. Honestly incredible sequence.

2nd: 'The Day That Wasn't' (S1 E6) / 'Changes' (S1 E9)

IMDb Rating: 8.3/10 (4,388 votes) / IMDb Rating: 8.4/10 (4,197 votes)

My Rating: 8.725/10

There's honestly so much great stuff going on here. There's so many reveals and character moments I'm not sure where to start. So all I will say is you should just go and watch this one again. It's deleted from time by the end and doesn't get to affect the rest of the show and yet it's some of the best stuff in the following episode, 'The Day That Was'. The only negatives are that I still don't care about Diego and his mama based difficulties and the dance sequence, though fun, is really poorly executed.

1st: 'I Heard a Rumor' (S1 E8)

IMDb Rating: 8.5/10 (4,383 votes)

My Rating: 8.875/10

BITCH. The end of this episode has me unable to breathe and tearing up. It's the highlight of the entire season and is built up to so unbelievably well. Watching Alison go on an investigating journey to find Viktor was so much fun. I know other things happen and I'm sure they're great but I cannot move past Viktor and Alison's confrontation. It's just incredible.

Thank You For Reading!

Thank you for getting this far! I should be doing the same thing for seasons two and three so keep an eye out for those!

I also have the same series on the go for Doctor Who, so if that's a show you enjoy feel free to check those out! The most recent is below:

Doctor Who (Series 3):RANKED

tv
Like

About the Creator

Cronan Parry

I like making lists and rating things. Doesn't mean I know what I'm talking about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.