Geeks logo

Doctor Who (Series 3): RANKED

The third series of Doctor Who (2005) from Worst to Best

By Cronan ParryPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
1

I hope you enjoy my ranking for each of the episodes in Series 3!

14th: 'The Lazarus Experiment' (S3 E6)

IMDb Rating: 6.6/10 (6,155 votes)

My Rating: 4.55/10

I would be surprised if a single person reading this was surprised to see this at the bottom. It definitely gets unfairly judged because of the horrendous CGI but even beyond that it's just a bland attempt at the classic horrors of old. The only purpose this serves us to show us Martha's mum is a bit much and also Harold Saxon. Let's move on.

13th: 'Daleks in Manhattan' (S3 E4)

IMDb Rating: 7.0/10 (6,141 votes)

My Rating: 4.675/10

This feels like someone walked into the writing room and said 'Daleks in Manhattan' and they were all so happy with that concept that they forgot to actually write stuff. I do enjoy several things but honestly I'd just skip the whole thing, the stuff I do enjoy is mostly in the second part anyway.

12th: 'Evolution of the Daleks' (S3 E5)

IMDb Rating: 6.9/10 (6,147 votes)

My Rating: 5.8/10

Daleks with feelings and the ability to see themselves for the monsters they truly are? The Doctor willing to sacrifice plenty of humans, again? Andrew Garfield? How is this episode so bland? Honestly, I've no idea. This is another episode that suffers from the 'How smart is Martha?' problem. One minute she can barely read a blueprint and the next she's fashioning a lift to scaffolding lightning pipeline?

Other than that... Tallulah with three ls is amazing.

11th: '42' (S3 E7)

IMDb Rating: 7.3/10 (5,987 votes)

My Rating: 6.7/10

Chris? Chris Chibnall?

This is alright. It's a bit, underbaked. That pun was accidental but it's great I don't wanna say anything else.

10th: 'The Shakespeare Code' (S3 E2)

IMDb Rating: 7.6/10 (6,541 votes)

My Rating: 7.5/10

We're really just calling Shakespeare an actual full blown genius AND debunking witches? This episode is good fun and goes a little way to making Martha's endless whining about not been loved more understandable but I mean girl really he couldn't seem less interested. I really like that Martha starts the 'Author' chant and that she picks up using words as magic so quickly. She's bold and smart.

9th: 'The Runaway Bride' (S3 E0)

IMDb Rating: 7.6/10 (6,689 votes)

My Rating: 7.675/10

DONNA! 10/10 and you know some other stuff happens but DONNA!

8th: 'Smith and Jones' (S3 E1)

IMDb Rating: 8.0/10 (6,519 votes)

My Rating: 7.85/10

This is honestly such a good introduction to Martha. I wish she'd have accepted the kiss as nothing and it didn't become almost her entire identity because once you take her love for The Doctor away she's a great character.

I suppose I could do proper breakdowns of every episode but instead I'll just mention the similarities in the show's treatment of Martha and Mickey. They differ in several ways but they both love a time traveller who doesn't really feel the same until they get over that and dress all in black, grab a gun and reach their full potential as soldier people (S4? spoilers) who then marry one another?

7th: 'Human Nature' (S3 E8)

IMDb Rating: 8.9/10 (7,709 votes)

My Rating: 7.9/10

'Jessica Hynes' and 'Thomas Brodie-Sangster' are amazing. As is 'Harry Lloyd' as Baines. Just his facial expression alone is gold. We're gunna breeze by this and talk more on the second part.

6th: 'The Sound of Drums' (S3 E12)

IMDb Rating: 8.7/10 (6,941 votes)

My Rating: 8.15/10

Those pesky little drums show up in lots of episodes and finally resolve in a wonderful episode. This is very early in the drums storyline. Watching The Doctor, Martha and Captain Jack as fugitives to the whole of the U.K. is great fun. Davies has a great capability to drop important words throughout the season that always make the final reveals a joy to watch. 'John Simm' is giving the biggest campiest performance and I love every second of it.

5th: 'Gridlock' (S3 E3)

IMDb rating: 8.0/10 (6,712 votes)

My Rating: 8.2/10

This is one of the better episodes for Martha as an individual. she gets to be the smart, outgoing, gem that she really is with barely a whiff of pining for the Doctor's unmentionables. The ending moments of freeing the people from the underground and seeing the sun for the first time in decades is really quite emotional. Plus, The Face of Boe is here and that's always a good thing! The death and final words of Mr Boe have been mentioned in the previous season and they reveal HUGE information relevant to The Master reveal at the end of the season.

You are not alone.

It's really great writing as we can usually expect for the series arc with Davies at the helm.

4th: 'The Family of Blood' (S3 E9)

IMDb Rating: 9.2/10 (8,476 votes)

My Rating: 8.3/10

John Smith coming to grips with the loss of his own humanity and existence. Joan Redfern helping him through it. Martha taking no shit from anyone. Honestly I think 'David Tennant' could make me cry with a single look, the man is truly fantastic in every way. When the Doctor walks into the room to see Joan at the end. He's just leaning against a wall and it couldn't be clearer that, that isn't John Smith. From a simple bit of posture and a facial expression 'Tennant' is a whole other person from himself and John Smith.

3rd: 'The Last of The Time Lords' (S3 E13)

IMDb Rating: 8.3/10 (7,198 votes)

My Rating: 8.45/10

This one has lows that are saved by the highs. It just about tows a line of over the top silly campiness and actually this is bad. I love that the 4 part weapon is a misdirect and I was surprisingly on board with everyone going all Peter Pan and chanting "I do believe in fairies, I do, I do.' to save the day. It really is doing a tightrope walk. One slight misstep and we're all falling into the pits of despair about how Doctor Who has gone downhill. But miraculously it manages it. Also the Captain Jack as The Face of Boe reveal and Martha's choice to leave are wonderful moments.

2nd: 'Utopia' (S3 E11)

IMDb Rating: 8.7/120 (6,880 votes)

My Rating: 8.9/10

Y.A.N.A

The moment The Master is reveal is absolutely a 10/10 sequence. It's the highlight of a mostly pretty good episode. It's possibly one of the best single moments in the show.

1st: 'Blink' (S3 E10)

IMDb Rating: 9.8/10 (20,41 votes)

My Rating: 9.4/10

I mean... Did you think it would be anything else. Even with its age starting to show 15 years later it is still an incredible episode. The Angels scared me to my very core as a child. Relegating The Doctor to a background character is a brave choice and the last time they tried it...Well it wasn't a huge success.

I think in the coming years this will start to fall down in the rankings. Moffat's tendencies to jibe and possibly even bully the geeky/nerdy people who get really into what they love is on show here. Plus, it's just a bit off. Like, I feel a little off. It's like at any moment any of the characters could become extremely misogynistic.I don't think they quite do but it just feels like it's there in the background y'know. As equal threat to the hovering Angels Moffat might have a character remark 'nice tits wench' at any time and it's hard to sit calm throughout the entire thing.

Actually, come to the think of it there is a heavy lean on sexual energy in all of Moffat's Doctor Who work. Which there's nothing wrong with. But something about the way Davies writes sexuality feels more natural and an acknowledgment of the reality of life. where as Moffat feels horny and waiting...

Don't blink. Don't even blink. Blink and you're dead.

Thank You For Reading!

I hope you've enjoyed yourself! I appreciate you reading this far! Check back over the coming days for the rest of my Doctor Who rankings and if you'd like to read the Series 1 and 2 rankings you'll find them below!

Doctor Who (Series 1): RANKED

Doctor Who (Series 2): RANKED

review
1

About the Creator

Cronan Parry

I like making lists and rating things. Doesn't mean I know what I'm talking about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.