Geeks logo

Doctor Who (Series 1): RANKED

From Worst to Best the first series of Doctor Who (2005)

By Cronan ParryPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
2

I hope you enjoy my ranking of Season One check my profile over the coming weeks for much more Doctor who content!

13th: 'The Long Game' (S1 E7)

IMDb Rating: 7.1/100 (6,555 votes)

My Rating: 6.7/10

The character of Bruno Mitchell is so boring please go away why are you here. 'Simon Pegg' and 'Tamsin Greig' are amazing obviously. I do like the idea of Satellite 5 but the episode just feels a bit flat and that might entirely be the fault of Bruno. I really haven't got a lot to say, it's still decent tv and if it wasn't for Satellite 5 being important to the series plot I would probably skip this on a rewatch.

12th: 'Aliens of London' (S1 E4)

IMDb Rating: 7/10 (6,840 votes)

My Rating: 6.8/10

I'm not a big fan of fart humour but they just about get away with it, it's never to grating. 'Penelope Wilton' as Harriet Jones is great. The Slitheen have a fun design and watching some of the beats through a tv news report is enjoyable. I think this one teeters on the edge of a skip on rewatch but thanks to it being one of a two parter and 'Annette Badland' returning for a third Slitheen episode, it can stay.

11th: 'World War Three' (S1 E5)

IMDb Rating: 7/10 (6,638 votes)

My Rating: 6.9/10

Slitheen part two. This one is basically the same as the previous one but I liked it a lil better.

10th: 'The Unquiet Dead' (S1 E3)

IMDb Rating: 7.5/10 (7,125votes)

My Rating: 7/10

I'm not the biggest fan of the historical figures episodes. They're not exactly bad they just don't quite vibe with me. Gwyneth and Mr. Sneed were both fun characters for the episode and I enjoyed Gwyneth's interactions with Rose. Neither The Doctor nor Rose were correct in their approach and that's something I enjoy seeing. This was essentially a perfect serviceable episode and a good example of a 'good' episode.

9th: 'Rose' (S1 E1)

IMDb Rating: 7.5/10 (8,700 votes)

My Rating: 7.25/10

The first episode of New Who is a strong opener with plenty of good things to build from. It hasn't quite reached being great TV yet but it certainly opened with more of a bang than many shows manage. The characters of The Doctor, Rose, Mickey and Jackie all feel like actual people off the bat. Which is quite impressive, they do leave at lot of room for development and some of them sort of get it. At one point a bin attacks Mickey and turns him into a plastic man. So it's pretty campy and that's always fun.

8th: 'Boom Town' (S1 E11)

IMDb Rating: 7.1/10 (6,272 votes)

My Rating: 7.325/10

'Annette Badland' as Margaret is a lot of fun and she gets quite a range out of a big jokey Slitheen character form a few episodes earlier. Discussions about how Rose treats Mickey and how The Doctor is an executioner are pretty interesting in this one. Though they do basically pick up and drop Mickey's opinions on Rose whenever they feel like it. So is it Rose who mistreats Mickey or the writers? Both. It's both.

7th: 'The End of The World' (S1 E2)

IMDb Rating: 7.5/10 (7,618 votes)

My Rating: 7.4/10

The Face of Boe, Cassandra, a tree, contemplating the finite limitations of a human life of even all of our personal planet's nature. It's good shit.

6th: 'The Parting of The Ways' (S1 E13)

IMDb Rating: 9.0/10 (7,642 votes)

My Rating: 7.85/10

I cannot express to you exactly why this episode doesn't quite crack an 8/10 for me but I will try. It's definitely really good, possibly even great, but there's just something about it. Possibly the vague running around shooting or the doctor basically ready to kill everyone. Something just feels a little off. Even the death scene, just doesn't really hit for me. But the bad wolf full reveal is amazing there's no doubt about it.

5th: 'Dalek' (S1 E6)

IMDb Rating: 8.6/10 (7,570 votes)

My Rating: 7.875/10

The progression of the Dalek's story in the Davies era is honestly so much fun. Even if some of those episodes fall a bit flat. This is not one of those times. 'Eccleston' yelling at a Dalek. Rose reigniting the Dalek's life. The intruder window joke, so good they use it twice. The contemplation of what it means to be the final one. What it means to feel and to hate. What it is to kill. It's real good shit.

4th: 'Father's Day' (S1 E8)

IMDb Rating: 8.3/10 (7,234 votes)

My Rating: 7.925/10

I'm a sucker for a dead dad.

3rd: 'Bad Wolf' (S1 E12)

IMDb Rating: 8.6/10 (7,110 votes)

My Rating: 8.7/10

The premise of a game show station where people are killed off based on game shows from thousands of years ago is dumb. I fucking love it! This one is just so much fun.The Dalek reveal could've been better but does it really matter when the whole thing is such a blast? The ever present Bad Wolf really adds an ominous presence to the whole mystery. It's a really great episode and definitely a well told penultimate chapter in the season's story.

2nd: 'The Empty Child' (S1 E9)

IMDb Rating: 9.0/10 (8,747 votes)

My Rating: 8.75/10

Incredible television! Legitimately scary, especially as a child. One of the most iconic quotes in the entire show.

"Are you my mummy?"

The introduction of Captain Jack!

It's just all round fantastic and a great example of Moffat's brilliant one off scary story telling abilities.

1st: 'The Doctor Dances' (S1 E10)

IMDB Rating: 9.1/10 (8,052 votes)

My Rating: 9.5/10

And it provides a second part wrap up that is simply one of the best episodes of Doctor Who there has ever been.

"Just this once, everybody lives!"

Great reveals. Great characters. Great mysteries. An uplifting finale! This is etched inside the minds of any and every child of the mid 00's (assuming you saw the show) No one has ever forgotten and this is the sign of amazing TV. Essential Doctor Who viewing.

Thank You For Reading!

I really appreciate every single read of these articles and I'm glad you made it to the end!

Check my profile for more Doctor Who content! I fully intend to rank every Season and have even more Doctor Who content planned as we barrel towards 2 more Specials!

entertainment
2

About the Creator

Cronan Parry

I like making lists and rating things. Doesn't mean I know what I'm talking about.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sean Patrick2 years ago

    I get chills just think of the Doctor saying "Just this once, everybody lives!"

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.