Geeks logo

The Umbrella Acadamy: Season Two - TV Series Review

Weird, wonderful, and just phenomenal! Reviewing the second season of the hit Netflix show.

By Joe HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Umbrella Acadamy: Season Two - TV Series Review
Photo by Samuel Regan-Asante on Unsplash

Here we are once again with an absolutely wonderful series of the six super-powered siblings. As it’s a second season I’m always fairly dubious as to how good it could be after the spectacular that was the first season. However, after seeing the trailer I was intrigued after seeing the 60s vibe that the show was going for. So, here is what I thought of season 2...

The good!

So as I said in the intro, I was immediately drawn back into this show after seeing the super chic 60's style that the trailer really emphasised. It looked like it was going to give the show a great new look really ramping up the quirkiness that I came to love in the first season. Boy did it offer up something great, besides the trendy 60's aesthetic, there were a few points that really made this the season I enjoyed the most...

  • A great mix of funny and serious plots: much of why I enjoyed the first season was how it wove hilarious jokes and characters around rather serious subject matters. This season managed to really excel in repeating this without feeling like it was simply copying the same formulae as the first. Once again I found myself being moved by some of the more serious and heartbreaking stories, while simultaneously laughing at following jokes. It is definitely a show where I don't expect myself to be moved to tears, but I found myself really welling up during some of the more intense scenes.
  • Great character development: With any second season it is very easy for the show to just keep the characters that everyone has come to love very much the same, with some changes in who they are. However, this season still managed to keep the essence of the characters the same, while allowing us to see more in-depth details as to who these people can become. With them all being separated once again, we are able to explore each character on their own. By the end of the show, I found myself feeling more like I knew the characters, definitely so much more than in the first season. I hope a third is provided to really give these characters so much more to explore.
  • Klaus: Oh gosh, so Klaus is definitely my favourite character, most of which is through Robert Sheehan's absolutely brilliant actor. Sheehan is able to deliver the non-stop laughs from absolutely bonkers character, but then provide us with equally heartwrenching moments that really humanises this character. There was the odd moment where I wasn't really sure where they were going with Klaus' development, but then halfway through you're really given an insight into how the past season affected him and how the current events are starting to shape and change him.

What more could I ask for?

At the end of the day, no show is entirely perfect. For me, the show still dealt with a few moments where scenes were getting slightly lost in the chaos of everything going on around it. Now, this was nowhere near as bad as the first season, like I said this one held the balance of funny and serious rather well, yet I found it rather bizarre how certain characters reacted to these super-powered beings.

Overall...

Its fairly safe to say that I really enjoyed this show, it really would've taken a lot for me not to, the whole premise is the sort of show I would enjoy. There were plenty of twists and turns to keep the plot moving forward without spinning out of control, learning from its mistakes of the first season. Characters were fleshed out in realistic ways that had me laughing and crying for each of them. Then, there was the epic finale, that made me want a third season this instant, I'm hoping that Netflix will continue to invest as this fan wants to know what will happen next!

review
Like

About the Creator

Joe Harris

A lover of writing with a tonne of thoughts and opinions stuck in his head. Lets see what comes out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.