Geeks logo

The Skeleton Key - A Movie Review

'The Skeleton Key' is an entertaining psychological film.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

You told me that the skeleton key works on any door, so why can’t I open the door in the attic?

The Skeleton Key is a 2005 psychological film about a hospice nurse applying for a job at a mysterious house. Caring to a mute patient, Caroline suspects that something is up. Finding out clues about the dark history of the house, it is only a matter of time.

The Skeleton Key is a very underrated movie. It is a different take on horror that makes you pay close attention to a second viewing. Filled with well-acted moments and a great story that makes you sit forward, The Skeleton Key is an entertaining film that harbors a message to always look out for yourself.

Kate Hudson masters the impressive performance of a young woman searching for a new calling. Caroline is studious, empathetic, and a risk-taker. She is easily the highlight, donning an important message to young audiences about persevering new opportunities.

I have only seen a few movies with Hudson, but she was given an opportunity to showcase a different side of her. This goes to show that all actors should break away from the stereotype genre of film that they are usually fitted for to explore new territories.

Acting conquers a whole new level in The Skeleton Key. Gena Rowlands studied her character and brought depth to Violet Devereaux. Upon watching on a second time, there are many hidden clues that are right in front of you, but they go over your head. Rowlands was terrific, exploring a woman holding deep secrets behind closed doors.

The late John Hurt took his part because he was intrigued by the challenge of playing a man who couldn’t speak. Hurt was incredible using his face to communicate. Again, this movie is very different on a second watch.

Other credits include Peter Sarsgaard, Joy Bryant, Maxine Barnet, Fahnlohnee R. Harris, Ronald McCall, and Jeryl Prescott. It just goes to say that no matter how small your part is can make a big impact. After watching Sarsgaard in the film, Orphan, my opinion changed about his acting abilities. He surprised me. Every actor does a great job.

One of my favorite characters was Jill (Bryant). Friendship is very important. I enjoyed moments where Caroline and Jill spent time together, talking about life, and trying to figure out clues to the mystery. Their friendship is very realistic, reminding me of the Friday nights that I’d go out on adventures with my friends after a long work week. Friends will always be there no matter what.

I could tell that everyone had fun working on this movie, including the writers. The story is original. They paid very close attention to smaller moments, which is one of my favorite aspects of films. Nowadays, films tend to focus more on the bigger moments, rather than grappling with subtly. I enjoyed the angle in which it took instead of taking a cliched route.

Iain Softly hit the mark in his direction. There is never a dull moment in the story. He worked closely with actors, focusing on the hidden secrets. The editing, location, and lighting effects were great. Softly did a great job with realism and even drawing in audiences to this mythical element that one would never think about researching.

The Skeleton Key is an entertaining Gothic film from beginning to end. If you have not seen this movie, I recommend that you do so immediately. I wish I could go back in time to see my reaction to the climax. Hudson is terrific in her performance.

review
2

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.