Geeks logo

'The Sims' - The Movie

The popular media franchise may still get a movie.

By Nathan MillerPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
Title of the popular life simulation series.

Years ago, back in about 2007 I think, it was announced that the popular video game franchise, The Sims would be getting its own movie. It is now years later, still no The Sims movie, not even a MySims animated series. Now, when it was announced that The Sims was getting a movie with 20th Century Fox, John Davis even mentioned how the movie would be like the popular 1985 film, Weird Science. He mentioned it in that, in the film, kids would get a thing called Sims Infinity Pack which they would play, but soon realize that everything they do in the game affects the real world. That reminds me more about the movie, Click where Adam Sandler controlled the world around him with a remote or maybe the film, Stranger than Fiction, where Emma Thompson's character was writing a novel about a man who she didn't know was Will Ferrell, controlling his life.

Growing up, I've always loved the Sims franchise. I've played it since I was little. So, as soon as I heard the news about the film, I got really excited about it. This series is part of my childhood, it means so much to me that I'm studying Game Design. EA, the company that makes The Sims franchise is one of the companies that I would love to work for once I am finished with school. I've always loved the idea of a life simulator, making your own world with your own people and watching it move. That is so fascinating. So, a movie version of that would be pretty interesting. Watching the main characters control their own world and watch that world wreck havoc all around them without realizing that they are controlling it, would be fun to watch. Especially in a comedic aspect since any Sims player knows, some things about the Sims aren't 100% realistic, like starting a fire from making a bowl of cereal. (Really EA, how is fire from cereal possible? Do Sims just have BURNING ALIVE oats or something like that?) So, seeing the players in the film freaking out about the weird stuff going on like burning cereal would be pretty humorous to see their reactions to stuff like that.

It would also be interesting to see how the film would handle things like Expansion Packs like The Sims games do. Then again, with a name for the game in the movie called Sims Infinity Pack, I would assume that it is one giant expansion pack. Maybe they could add more should there be sequels. Maybe even a Sims Cinematic Universe? Where different stories of different Sims and people happen in each movie and then in one big movie all the Sims from the previous movies come together? Who knows? Just an idea. Also, it would be interesting to see The Sims film take a Jumanji type aspect where at the end, the main people decide to get rid of the Sims Infinity Pack and someone else finds it, leading to a sequel where that person plays it or something. Also, I wonder if there would be a specific villain in the film, since movies tend to have bad guys. While the kids would have to battle against everything going around when the game goes wrong, maybe there will be someone who wants the game for themselves and the main people would have to fight to make sure the antagonist doesn't get the game.

Overall, I imagine The Sims film to be very interesting and I personally hope that it gets back on the right track and gets confirmed again, gets a director, a cast, everyone involved in it, and a release date. I would gladly pay to see a film based on one of my favorite video game series of all time. The Sims is part of my childhood. I absolutely love The Sims. I love the life simulation aspect, I love all the weird things that don't make sense that happen in it, I love all the cool things that do make sense in it, I love EA, they are one of the best video game companies ever and I love the idea of The Sims film. Also, I write scripts, so if 20th Century Fox or any other company that takes over the film needs a good script from someone who doesn't have a degree, but is a fan who knows how to write a script, hit me up. I'll gladly write it; to be a part of the film would be a dream. As long as I get a Sims film, everything will be wonderful. Whether I am a part of it as a crew or something and/or just watching it, I'll be happy. I hope you readers enjoyed my talking about this. I hope I have influenced you to play the game and if you are someone who will work on The Sims film, I hope this inspires you to make the film a reality. Thank you for reading and I hope The Sims movie gets made.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Nathan Miller

My name is Nathan Miller and I am a fan of writing in all forms from screenwriting to writing short stories to nonfiction pieces about the things that I love. I hope you enjoy reading my pieces as much as I enjoyed writing them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.